We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Teetotum Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tulum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Teetotum Hotel
Save
You added Teetotum Hotel to your Saves list
Avenida Coba Sur Lote #2 | (Road to the Beach Before Chedraui Store), Tulum 77780, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #9 of 79 Hotels in Tulum
NYC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Lovely, cozy, charming and fun. The rooms are huge and clean (and have a/c and electricity and a great shower--all not so usual for Tulum). Great cooking too and fabulous drinks (2 for 1 in happy hour). Breakfast is fresh fruit and some really great bread and jams. Great little menu for lunch and dinner, including the best quesidillas, and fresh fish. There is a deep and delightful splash pool and a quiet patio and really interesting sun deck. The owner/manager Richard is a rock start.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scoutroberts, General Manager at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
hola joan!
thank you for your considerate and kind review. we really enjoyed having you visit teetotum and tulum- it was our pleasure to get to share some time and experiences with you. we especially appreciated your use of the plunge pool in the afternoon following your return from the beach- it's exactly as we hoped our guests would enjoy it!
thank you again and we hope to see you and the rest of your family here many times in the future!.
thank you!
best,
richard, dail and the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    37
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
31
154
29
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Ca
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Teetotum is my home away from home now. Great location. Fantastic, rooms, food, people, a loving dog.. All the reviews talk about how great the owner Richard is.....all true. In all my traveling I have never felt so welcome and laughed so much with the owner of the hotel. Richard is the head of the Teetotum family and the people that he has put together as the staff.....my new extended family. Every one of the staff was happy to be there and showed it with their warmth, conversation and service. I stayed there with my sister. My sister and I are very different when it comes to traveling and Teetotum was perfect for both of us. I am not sure how that happens but it does in Tulum and at Teetotum. I noticed that even though there is not a ton of foot traffic, people that where traveling would come in to have a meal or a drink, just to spent time and hang out and chat. Then I would see them again. The front of the hotel, is very pretty in a small and unassuming way and it draws people in. I want to spend months at a time in Tulum and only hope that Richard will have a room for me (and may be my perro, Luna). Thank you again and again...all of you. I miss you. Beth Greenbaum

Room Tip: There are 4 rooms and you can not go wrong. This hotel is not on the beach but on the road to the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scoutroberts, General Manager at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
hola beth,
it was a pleasure meeting you and getting to know you and your sister. we, too, miss the time we spent at teetotum, laughing, chatting, eating and trying to enjoy dali, the dog. please do use teetotum as a home base. we look forward to seeing your smiling presence in safe and sunny tulum.
see you soon!
sincerely,
richard, dali and our staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I came here with my 11 year old son, and we had a wonderful time. It's a perfect location allowing easy access to the beaches, and the town - In Tulum, the town is a bit more real-life Mexico than the beach and has the better restaurants. Richard, the owner and host rocks! as does his dog, Dali. He (Richard) really is an exceptional host. He will go out of his way to make sure your stay is personalized, comfortable, without problems of any kind. He makes great recommendations for whatever you happen to care about in Tulum. The place has the feeling of a lovely small beach hotel on a Greek island. The vibe is fantastic. The food and bar are exceptional! People need to try the food - it's really good - as varied as lobster ceviche (made fresh to order) to fried rice (made specially for my picky son, who said it was the best he's ever had). Also, I think I had the best mojito anywhere in Mexico. I would definitely stay there again. It's really a fun place with a very positive, uplifting feel to it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scoutroberts, General Manager at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
hola amigos!,
hope all is well in san fran! we really enjoyed getting to know you both and hope to meet your other son, too. william wa super cool and we really enjoyed connecting with someone so smart, curious and youthfully confident.
so please, come again and again with or without your offspring, as its our pleasure to host people as lovely as you all.
see you soon!
best,
richard, dali and our staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were on our way from New York City when the big storm hit and we could not reach Tulum on the day planned. However, that was no problem with Richard. A call that we will be one day late and everything was set. Best of all he didn't even charge us that lost night, which most other places usually do. The hotel itself is great and very relaxed. We also loved the complimentary breakfast. The town center is a short walk away and the beaches are easily reachable either by bike or by car. Richard and his staff were great hosts and their inside tips helped a lot (they really know where to get good tacos). Tulum itself is a must-go place.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scoutroberts, General Manager at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
hola guys,
we are so glad you got to finally get out of the storm in the northeastern usa and get a few days of sun and peace in tulum at teetotum.. we really enjoyed chatting with you- we never met such accomplished academics before! so visit us again when you have more time and get another chance to not only discover tulum by bike and by sea, but get another chance to escape work and weather in the u.s.a.
thank you again for your visit and we're pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to share this glorious town with you again!
best,
richard, dali and the teetotum staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulum, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

in a sea of thatched roof, mosquito friendly, sand-and-sea-mist-in-all-my-clothes hotels to choose from, it's a pleasure to find a spot in tulum that celebrates modern aesthetics, great bedding, and the option of A/C.
"teeto", as i affectionately call it, was part of our routine each day: wake up, have a nice leisurely breakfast, chat with richard, the owner, about what we should see, eat, do, not to mention great people watching as well. this is a hot spot for the expat community of tulum so there is a wealth of friendly folks with insider tips galore.
all rooms are well appointed and spacious, the free bike rental is a huge plus, the plunge pool provides a nice post beach dip, and just in case you do need to connect with the outside world, the lounge in the garden is a perfect spot to connect to wifi.
i should also mention that as a new mom (our daughter was 4 months when we brought her to tulum) i felt that teetotum was safe, SUPER CLEAN at all times and kid friendly.
we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: you can't go wrong, all 4 are identical
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scoutroberts, General Manager at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
hey guys!
you are the type of people we hoped we would encounter when we decided to open our hotel/restaurant. we really enjoyed your visit and your beautiful daughter was the high point of each day. never once during your stay did i hear her cry!
please come back again and again and i promise we will do our best to make you happy you chose teetotum!
thank you again for your lovely review and we super hope to see you again soon in safe and sunny tulum!
richard, dali + the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed at Teetotum for 4 nights and must stay that it was a fantastic experience. The place is super clean, safe and it has a grand tranquill feel! The hotel is situated in the town and about a 15 min bike ride to the beach. The hotel offers free bike rentals which was amazing as we biked everywhere including the ruins(about 10 min from hotel). Lots of bike paths so no problems getting around. There is also a car rental right next to the place if you want to rent a car for the day. Lastly, if you get hungry and thirsty, there are ton of amazing restaurants and bars about a 5 min walk in the town or if you want to eat by the beach, 5$ cab ride will get you there!
Word out to Richard and Dali who were super friendly and accomodating!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scoutroberts, General Manager at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
hola amiga!
hope all is well in cold toronto!
thank you for visiting tulum. we loved meeting you and getting to share some time in our little paradise of tulum. please visit us again with even more friends. we really enjoy getting to know all these varied people form all over our glorious globe.
thank you again for your kindness and we hope to see you soon in safe and sunny tulum.
richard, dali and the teetotum staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My wife and I and stayed for 7 wonderful nites at Teetotum, and I'm here to tell you it was wonderful! Richard the owner, who is always there, was great with tips and info to make our stay better. The room was clean clean clean with tons of hot water and A/C. Free use of the bikes was great for getting around town, you could take them to the beach, but we went with cabs. Location Location Location, beach all day, great food and shopping all nite. Don't wait book it NOW!!!

Room Tip: Go with 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scoutroberts, General Manager at Teetotum Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
hey you midwesterners!
sorry to have missed you on your last morning but 6:30 i can't do! hope the return flight was pleasant and the weather you found at home is ok. we know you had been loyal guests of another hotel in town but we hope you return to us next time you visit. it was our pleasure to have you guys here- we love to see people come in pale and grey and leave energetically and brown! you guys definitely get every moments "juice" out of your day.
thank you again and we truly hope to see the two of you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Teetotum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teetotum Hotel

Address: Avenida Coba Sur Lote #2 | (Road to the Beach Before Chedraui Store), Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Tulum
#14 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#17 Family Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Teetotum is a small laid back boutique hotel situated in Tulum, in Mexico's Caribbean Riviera Maya. Because of the design, amenities, and ambiance, Teetotum exists as a unique hotel experience. The modern, sleek space and attention to detail, from the handcrafted bench on your private patio to the fresh squeezed tropical juice at breakfast, create a hip atmosphere of comfort and relaxation. On the road to the beach, Teetotum lies just off Tulum Pueblo's lively main street, and a stones throw from Tulum's magnificent white sand Caribbean beaches. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Teetotum Hotel Tulum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teetotum Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.