We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Teetotum Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tulum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Teetotum Hotel
Save
You added Teetotum Hotel to your Saves list
Avenida Coba Sur Lote #2 | (Road to the Beach Before Chedraui Store), Tulum 77780, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 77 Hotels in Tulum
new york
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

We spent 5 days of our honeymoon at the Teetotum Hotel, and we loved it! After the hectic final wedding planning and the event itself we were both exhausted, and we needed to relax. Tulum and the Teetotum were just the ticket. Such a great place, such a great hotel! From the large, cool rooms, to the great restaurant, to the adopted cats and dogs, to the friendly and knowledgeable proprietor.. all great. Highly recommended, we definitely want to come back!

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    35
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
30
149
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
atlanta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

We spent four days here in May and had a great time. The thing I like the most about this hotel is that it is unique and has a lot of personaIity. I like the friendly staff and all the cute pets (dogs and cats) that sometimes hang out at the hotel. It is small and simple but offers all the comforts: Wifi, A/C, large room, clean bed, and good shower. Breakfast is great.
Tulum beaches are gorgeous and we spent a lot of times there to enjoy during the day, but love to come back at Teetotulum to have a good sleep at night. For this reason, we think this hotel has a perfect location- between town and beach. If you going to spend more than one day in Tulum, I suggest you rent a car. Driving from Cancun to Tulum is so easy. With a car, you can explores all nearby attractions on your own term. In summary, do stay at Teetotulum!! Drive and explore the ruins at Coba!! Eat ceviche and drink beer with the locals at El Camello! Eat dinner at the beach at Mezzanine and soak in the view! Enjoy the lovely beach!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

We stayed here at the end of a two week driving trip. We had driven over 1400 miles and were very glad to find ourselves at this comfortable hotel. There was such good lighting in the rooms such that we could actually read in bed! The staff is super friendly and the owner is more than helpful. There is a restaurant in the hotel and we ate there for the majority of our meals for two reasons...first because it was very charming and had good food, and secondly because the restaurants in the town of Tulum didn't excite us. We may be spoiled having traveled extensively in Mexico, but these didn't match any of our expectations. We spent many of our days on the beach at Ana and Jose's restaurant and beach. However our best beach adventure was up the road at Akumal. We would recommend checking this area out as it seems to have a lots to do and interesting places to eat.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

This place is beautiful, well decorated and the service is very friendly.
unfortunatly the location is not the best . . . . . .

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

Situated on the beach road at the edge of Tulum pueblo this is an ideal location for those who want to have there cake and eat it (and who don't mind the odd short hop on the thoughtfully provided bikes). From the top down the staff at the Teetotum exude an ultra-friendly relaxed vibe which one can't help but absorb yet behind the demeanour there lurks as knowledgeable, helpful and efficient a crew as any boutique hotel in the Yucatan (and far better than most) AND wicked house margaritas too!

Room Tip: The staff are a font of local knowledge
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

My partner and I had an extremely restful time at Teetotum Tulum. The staff were fantastic and the Hotel owner, Richard is friendly, easy going and a pleasure to be around. If you are looking for a hotel where you can relax, chill out, walk to local restaurants and have a non resort experience then I highly suggest you stay here. If you do however want that all inclusive resort experience we purchased a day pass at Dreams Tulum which is only a short cab ride down the road, so you can get the best of both worlds.
Thanks Richard and Staff for a wonderful start to our round the world adventure

Regards

Kate and Nick

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

I stayed here with my parents and aunt and we had a great experience. The staff was the best part, they are all super nice and friendly and provide great service without being fake or overdoing it. Richard is the manager from NY and makes sure he takes good care of you, so if you're looking to stay at a place where you get great recos for places to eat, beaches and other activities trust his judgment, he has good taste! Breakfasts were healthy and yummy, delicious selection of tropical jams, really good whole wheat bread that you can't even find at home, and other fancier egg dishes. Be sure to have the mango rum drink and hang out at the bar and buy beautiful hand-made jewelry from the jewelry designer at the bar. Decor is minimalist and modern which we loved. Location is good but best to have a car if you want to travel around the area and visit the many beautiful tulum beaches. My parents and aunt loved it, so if you're taking people that don't want to rough it in the cabanas and want more comfort but still intimate setting this is the place for you!

Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Teetotum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teetotum Hotel

Address: Avenida Coba Sur Lote #2 | (Road to the Beach Before Chedraui Store), Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#18 Family Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Teetotum is a small laid back boutique hotel situated in Tulum, in Mexico's Caribbean Riviera Maya. Because of the design, amenities, and ambiance, Teetotum exists as a unique hotel experience. The modern, sleek space and attention to detail, from the handcrafted bench on your private patio to the fresh squeezed tropical juice at breakfast, create a hip atmosphere of comfort and relaxation. On the road to the beach, Teetotum lies just off Tulum Pueblo's lively main street, and a stones throw from Tulum's magnificent white sand Caribbean beaches. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Teetotum Hotel Tulum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teetotum Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.