We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ruins of Tulum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tulum Bazaar

Tulum Bazaar
Avenida Tulum, Tulum, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Shopping in Tulum
Type: Flea/ Street Markets, Shopping
Attraction details
Peekskill, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Ruins of Tulum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Although it was a hot sunny day it was fantastic. Our tour guide of the ruins was of mayan descent and provided us with a wealth of information about the ruins and the Mayans. We also discussed the "End of the Mayan Calendar" and found out it wasn't going to be the end of the world but a "rebirth". Members of our groups also went swimming on the pristine beach. The rest of us went back to the bazaar area. We were entertained by male dancers on top of the flag pole which were amazing. The were people dressed as Mayans and you could take pictures with them as well as people with exotic animals to take pictures with as well, for a small fee of course. I purchased a necklace with my name printed in Mayan in silver. It was a great experience.They also had adequate restrooms and shower facilities available which was great.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    19
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I'm interested in history so I enjoyed seeing the ruins and it was interesting to see how they basically made the site a certain way to be a calender for them. As said it is very hot, which I don't mind and even if it gets to hot, you could always break away from the group, walk down the steps and go swimming in the ocean

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing place to see... history, stunnig views and beautiful beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We visited the ruins while on the Carnival Magic. It was so worth the money we spent. Learning the history of the Mayan Ruins and seeing the beautiful beach it over looks, was just amazing! My husband is a huge history lover, it is one of many ruins he'd love to see. Hope to return to the area soon to see more. If you are a history buff, you must go! I mainly went for the photography opportunity, but in the end I learned a ton and really enjoyed it.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hot Hot Hot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This is worth going . Tulum is built with surrounding walls on cliffs. Not a lot of breeze comes in. So, I would highly recommend to wear loose clothing(sun dress-loose tee's). No need for gym shoes because people are NOT permitted to climb on any of the ruins (wear comfortable shoes-lots of walking). Everything is roped off. No need to snorkel, there is nothing to see. If you want to go swimming by the beach- wear your suit/cover up there. They have water-but it will cost you. We were happy that we brought our own. The beach/view is breathing taking!!!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Most Scenic Ruin - a must see.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We avoided all of the tours sold, and only spend about $20 to see the entire site. Costs were: parking 60 pesos/6$USD, entry: 70 pesos per adult ($7 usd pp). Children were free. The ruin is about 3/4 mile from the parking lot, so the $2 usd per adult trolley is worth it, especially on a hot day. We walked around for about 1 hour. We didn't purchase any of the tours because we wanted to go at our own pace because we had little ones with us. However, there are MANY tour options available, official and not.

Bring water, a hat and sunscreen, and pesos. The peso rate is better than the dollar rate here.

The beach is accessible but it's somewhat small. We drove down the road a bit to a beautiful secluded beach with free parking. See my review of Papaya Beach Project.

One more thing. Restrooms near the parking cost $10 pesos. The ones near the ruins are free.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tulum Bazaar also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Tulum Bazaar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tulum Bazaar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.