We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet getaway - Perfect launching pad for day trips in the area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Selva Mariposa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Selva Mariposa to your Saves list
La Selva Mariposa
km 20 Tulum-Coba Carretera | Macario Gomez, Tulum 77780, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Christmas Holiday's
Ranked #1 of 67 Tulum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wisconsin
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice quiet getaway - Perfect launching pad for day trips in the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

My wife and I stayed at La Selva Mariposa for a couple days during a trip to Tulum, Mexico. First let me say, the area was perfectly safe. We had some reservations given the travel warnings recently issued, but we experienced no problems at all relating to safety. The most frightened I was the entire trip was when I dog unexpectedly barked!

My wife and I stayed at La Selva Mariposa after staying a couple days on the beach. It was a nice change of scenary. While at La Selva Mariposa, we would go on day trips to the surrounding area. Getting a taxi outside the B&B was not difficult, but I did have to give taxi drivers specific directions on how to find it on my way back. The scenary is quiet and peaceful, and the owners are extremely friendly and willing to offer any help and advice. In fact, one of them drove me and my wife to the airport!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    26
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
77
288
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2009

So, you may find the fact that you are sending checks to Denver, or that they will not take credit cards to be strange, I know we did, JUST DO WHAT THEY TELL YOU!!!!! We arrived at La Selva Mariposa after about a 2 hour journey from Cancun airport, to be greeted by Lou and Moe and their three dogs. As city folk from Chicago, we had a slight adjustment being as secluded as they are, but their warm greeting helped the transition quickly. The property is a beautiful oasis, in the middle of the jungle, that truly allows you to get away from your busy routine in mind body and spirit.

My wife and I stayed in room 4 which has essentially 2 rooms, a very comfortable bed, a private cenote pool, and a wonderful open air shower. Perhaps the biggest gem of that room however was a wonderful roof-top deck that is a great place to relax and let the stress from your every day life melt away.

La selva was about a 15 minute drive from the beaches of Tulum, where we ended most every day we were there. It is the perfect balance of removing yourself from society and being a stone's throw from resort paradise.

The breakfasts were all substantial, and made from fresh veggies from the garden as well as eggs, bread, and a generous fruit plate. They alternate the menu so that you get savory one day and sweet the next.

Perhaps the biggest highlight of our trip was one of the best massages we have had in our lives. Splurge for a great experience outdoors, and put yourselves in the hands of the therapists who really do a fantastic job turning you into mush for the rest of the day.

All in all, this was a near perfect experience, and one that you should not miss.

Enjoy!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobble Hill, BC, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2009

Lou and Moe have built a real gem for those of us that want to see a real country and avoid the typical tourist experience. The B&B is 20km from Tulum along a good road in a small Mexican village (make sure you check out the local chicken lunch just at the end of their driveway, yum). We used it as a jumping off point to get to Coba, Tulum, and Akamal and didn't find the location at all inconvenient.

Lou is a builder and has designed wonderful suites that stay true to the local designs (oval palapa homes) using local materials (fossil encrusted limestone is used extensively, there was a fossilized brain coral in the wall of our bathroom), and making the most of the fantastic local artists whose products are way better than you'll find in the tourist stops. Our room was lovely with a porch and hammock that we made the most of. It's lovely to sit out on the porch and listen to the water cascade around you.

The gardens are a pleasure to meander, you can see a pineapple developing, watch for wild orchids hidden in the trees and amazing vines twining around the trees.

Both Lou and Moe were very helpful; their advice made our day at Coba wonderful as it allowed us to miss all the crowds and their recommendation for snorkeling at Akumal was right on. They also saved the day when we let the car get a little too low on gas.... Mexico could definitely use a few more gas stations :(

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2009

My husband and I stayed five nights at La Selva Mariposa. We've stayed in many B&Bs, and this one deserves its accolades. We took a leap of faith to stay off the beach, and we're glad we did. Our trip was made special not so much by the inn -- although it is indeed lovely -- but by our hosts, Lou and Moe (Mari) -- who guided us each day and provided fantastic recommendations on how to spend our time. We were never disappointed by their recommendations and each memory made was due to their expert knowledge about the area. They clearly care for their guests and take pride in their home and guest rooms, and it shows. Breakfasts were lovely, delicious and filling. Our room was cleaned to perfection each day, and the shower that opened to the sky was fantastic. Small touches in the room (candles to use, a CD player with a basket of CDs, a small jar of mayan clay to use as a facial cleanser) were thoughtful and showed how much they care for their guests. The pathways around the property are fun to explore, and although we didn't see as much wildlife as we had hoped, we loved just exploring the flora and listening to the birds. A rental car is a must here, and the inn serves as an excellent base camp from which to explore the area.

A few notes on what to expect: This is not an anonymous inn or a hotel. You never lose sight of the fact that you are guests in Moe & Lou's home, as their personal effects are everywhere. Privacy is an issue. We were walked in on twice while Lou was giving a tour to other guests, once into our main room without knocking (while we were there, and in a compromised position), the other into our bathroom (which had an exterior door) after a quick knock and an opening of the door (luckily we weren't in there). Our room was adjacent to the main house, and we could clearly hear the innkeepers (and thus we assume they could hear us). For us these were small issues, overshadowed by the friendliness of the innkeepers and the fact that they were helpful, caring, and responsive to our questions about the area. If you're interested in only a sandy beach, this isn't the place, but for those who want to explore the area and take in cenotes, ruins, the beach, snorkeling, and all of the other sites that the Tulum area has to offer, La Selva Mariposa is a great place to stay. Make sure to come with a detailed map of the area and get directions to Maracio Gomez ahead of your trip (we had trouble finding it when we arrived). But leave yourselves in Moe & Lou's capable hands and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2009

We stayed at La Selva Mariposa for three days last Spring. We found this wonderful B&B through Trip Advisor and couldn't have been more pleased. From the beautiful surroundings, to the romantic dinner in the tree tops, to the delicious breakfasts, our stay couldn't have been better. Mari and Lou were ideal hosts, and provided great information to enhance every aspect of our trip.

We will be back!

David and Nena Dockery

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2009

My husband and I went off on a very last minute 6 night trip to the Mexican Carribean coast. After a bit of confusion on our part due to leaving so suddenly and an unexpected 4 hour layover, we arrived in Tulum near midnight. We didn't bring a phone number with us to alert Lou and Mari that we were arriving so late. We felt terrible. Lou was waiting for us with a light outside just when we arrived. We stayed 3 nights and wished we stayed longer.
Lou and Mari were so gracious with us and shared so many great tips and advice to us newbies to Mexico. Like how we should we vigilant at the gas station to not get ripped off by the attendants and the best way to see both the ruins at Ek Balam and Coba in the same day. We would definately go back but this time we would take a day to just enjoy the beautiful surroundings and take a dip in the pool and relax. If you are going to Tulum to see ruins I truly recommend staying here especially if you have a car. The ruins of Ek Balam, Tulum, and Coba are with driving distance and a short drive to the fantastic beaches fo Tulum. We took Mari's adice and went to enjoy Cesiak in the Biosphere Reserve, which had great food with stunning view of the beach on one side and the jungle on the other. It felt like a second honeymoon. The breakfast was awesome with fresh fruit and yogurt before the main meal. Definately worth the drive from Cancun. We stayed in Tulum for 3 nights and moved north to La Playa del Carmen and then downtown Cancun but La Selva Mariposa was in our thoughts the whole time.

  • Liked — Beautiful setting
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2009

We stayed at La Selva Mariposa for a few days of our honeymoon in Dec. 2008. Mo and Lou, the expat hosts, are very friendly and have created a wonderful property. The breakfasts are very good and substantial, and the furnishings are beautiful. (We stayed in suite 1, and my husband especially loved our outdoor shower.) The hotel is 10-15 minutes down the road from the Coba ruins and 20 kilometers from the beaches of Tulum. Not for those who want to be right on the beach, but definitely pretty and convenient to Tulum.

  • Liked — Friendliness of hosts, beauty of property
  • Disliked — Not much privacy--most suites are close to main house or breakfast area
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Selva Mariposa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Selva Mariposa

Address: km 20 Tulum-Coba Carretera | Macario Gomez, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Selva Mariposa is an intimate B&B situated only 15 min. By car from the shores of Tulum's gleaming waters of the Caribbean and less than 30 minutes from many Mayan ruins and cenotes. Our three beautifully decorated air-conditioned rooms and one luxury suite with decks, cascading waterfalls, cenote style plunge pools, heated roof top jacuzzi, illuminated jungle paths and gourmet breakfast will leave you feeling that you have arrived in paradise. Each golden day of your vacation will simply blend into the next. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your La Selva Mariposa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Selva Mariposa Hotel Tulum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Selva Mariposa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.