We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tulum vacation 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Selva Mariposa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Selva Mariposa to your Saves list
La Selva Mariposa
km 20 Tulum-Coba Carretera | Macario Gomez, Tulum 77780, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 65 Tulum B&B and Inns
East Moline, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Tulum vacation 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

we enjoyed our week of relaxation @ LSM, the breakfasts were always very tasty and nicely presented.The rooms were nice and kept impeccably clean. Although the hi-speed wifi internet wasn't functioning, the wi-fi 3g worked just fine-besides, we were on vacation, who cares about internet,, LOL. We rented the owner's car to use during our stay, which worked out excellent (recommend doing this). The owners are very friendly and helpful; if you are looking for things to do during your stay there, read the books in the room or kitchen or better yet ask the owners:) this resort B&B is an oasis in the jungle. We highly recommend staying here, is perfect for couples.

Room Tip: recommend keeping the waterfalls on if possible; ask owners for more details about this:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thanks so much for the wonderful review. We are so glad you were happy with your vacation at LSM and thanks for mentioning the "Backdoor Tour Guide Book" that we supply for each room. We feel this makes our job and your vacation the best it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    25
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
68
269
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We spent 7 days @ LSM and couldn’t have been happier! From the breakfasts (all scrumptious and beautifully presented) to the lively conversation and exchange of information around the table each morning, we started each day happy and well-fed! Moe and Lou are a wealth of information, answering any and all questions. Our suite (#4) was beautifully decorated, very comfortable, and always spotless. The amenities (beach towels, water bottles, etc.) were much appreciated. The waterfall outside our door was a delight to fall asleep to and the cenote is a work of art and so nice to float around in! The crew overseeing the grounds and rooms did a phenomenal job. We felt so safe in our jungle retreat that our doors remained unlocked 24/7. All in all, Moe and Lou have created a paradise and we were lucky to have found it. Thanks for helping make our vacation such a wonderful one!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Wow. You mentioned so many wonderful things about your stay with us at LSM. The security you felt is so important to share with other travelers/tourists coming to our area. Thanks for letting others know some of the things you enjoyed while you were here at LSM. You will be able to stay in touch with us through our facebook page and watch all the new areas, including the cenote waterfall, progress over the next few months. Since there is always something new at LSM, you will have to come back again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I have been describing our 5 night vacation in the Yucatan as staying in the Garden of Eden. It was a great place to celebrate our 25 years of marriage. The lansdscaping was breathtaking and the overall layout of fountains, pools and different "nooks" designed by Lou were brilliant. One of my favorite activities there was lying in one of the many hammocks around the property, in the place called the "Butterfly garden" and stare at the stars. The open shower in the room was fantastic. And it was wonderful being greeted every morning by friendly faces (Moe. Lou and at times up to 6 other guests from around the world), outdoors under a palapa and served a full breakfast of yogurt, fresh fuit and cereal paired with an incredible egg, fritata or pancake concoction with home-made bread and/or muffins on the side. Moe and Lou also provide well-thought out and experienced suggestions and a binder of information to guide you through your daily adventures, whether it be beach, ruins, villages or visiting the local cenotes. What wonderful memories!

Room Tip: All rooms are great! Each a little different from the other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
It is so cool when guests see LSM as we see it...a garden of Eden, an oasis in a barren land, a botanical garden where guests from all over the world come to rest, rejuvenate and share their stories. Yes, we welcome your return to our little paradise that we thank Mother Nature for each and every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The fantastic reviews on Tripadvisor made me really keen to stay here with my husband and 3 year old daughter. However the owners' total inflexibility over price (non-negotiable, even in the low season), high additional charges for a toddler (free everywhere else), plus inflexibility over payment method (insisted on Paypal only), meant that I was completely put off staying there! Emails from the owner were not particularly helpful from the start and quickly descended into curt and unfriendly.
They only allow children in a couple of their units.
A real shame, as a wildlife biologist and experienced traveller I really thought this would be a fantastic place to stay! However there are many other accommodation providers in the Yucatan who are incredibly friendly, flexible, helpful and family-friendly, so I am sure that our trip in spring will be brilliant.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
I find it hard to believe that I am having to write a response to a complaint such as this. Our rates, which include the $25.00 extra person charge for any age is on our website along with information regarding a deposit has to be paid via Paypal as we do not take credit cards. In this case the client was aware of all of this and after 15 emails made the reservation for a 2 night stay and requested a Paypal Invoice to be sent. .All was going smoothly until the client refused to pay the deposit as we requested and demanded that we accept her Credit Card number to hold the suite. I explained we can not take CC because we are not set up for it and that having a CC on file does us no good in collecting the fee in case of a no show. We found that out on Jan 6 when the guest arriving that day for a 2 night stay called at 6pm to say they would not be arriving and instead would be staying in Cancun and had no intention in honoring there reservation. We have spent $700,000 and 8 years building a special place for guest to enjoy and have set certain policies in place that meet our needs and that of most visitors to us. We set our price structure from $125 to $225. a night to meet all persons income level and provide a great deal of value for the price we ask. If someone thinks we charge to much there are other places to stay so why pursue a reservation at a place that you feel is charging to much? We have a children policy in place that only allows suites #1 $125. and suite #4 $225. a night to be used for any family with a child under 5 years old. Very simple reason suites 2 and 3 share the same deck and garden area and we feel it would be unfair to ask the the child to be quiet because they are just being children and it would be unfair to ask the other guest to put up with any crying or yelling coming from the neighboring suite. Suites 1 and 4 are situated where the only persons that would be disturbed would be us the owners living in the house. I owned and taught at a pre-school in Vail Colorado for 25 years and love children, I wrote a story book for children that tells all about our Jungle Property and our dogs so any children coming here to visit can have a chance to read and see our environment so they will not be afraid when they arrive. As far as all other hotels offering a discount in what is deemed the Off Season we have 4 suites we do not have an off season we remain busy year around and if it does get slow it gives us a chance to smell the roses. It is disheartening to have someone who has no knowledge of what it took to build this place and what it takes to operate it to dictate what our policies should be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We spent ten days at LSM for our honeymoon and loved every minute of it. We were greeted at the Cancun Airport by Lou. He was friendly and we enjoyed talking with him and learning all about him, Moe and La Selva Mariposa during our drive back to Tulum. The accommodations were fantastic. We stayed in suite #4, which is the honeymoon suite with a private pool and roof top patio. It was very relaxing to spend time on the roof top patio during the day reading a book, or at night, star gazing. Our room was immaculately cleaned daily, and the breakfasts that Moe and Lou prepared each day were different and fantastic. The experience of staying at a B&B gives so much more to a traveler than staying at an All-Inclusive resort. It was fantastic getting to know the owners and meeting other guests during our stay. Moe and Lou were very helpful when it came to making restaurant recommendations or where to go during the day. We had the 5 course dinner that they offer with a bottle of wine for $100 American, and it was great experience and Moe's keylime pie is wonderful. We cannot say enough great things about this B&B. We recommend renting a vehicle from Moe and Lou rather going through one of the rental places in Tulum, as it will cost you less, and you are less likely to be pulled over driving a local vehicle rather than a rental. I would suggest renting a vehicle rather than taking cabs as LSM is about 20mins to Tulum and the beach

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thanks for the glowing review reflecting your honeymoon experience for your 10 day stay at LSM. We totally agree, and let all perspective guests know that you will see so much more and save money in the end if you rent a car rather than take taxis. I am not sure it makes a difference if you rent a vehicle from us or a rental company, as all have Mexican tags.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

La Selva Mariposa is a great place to stay 20 minutes from Tulum. It's nice, peacefull and welcoming.
Mari and Lou are very kind and helpfull. Each morning Mari cooks delicious breakfast (banana pancakes, mediterranean omelette, mexican dish, pain perdu...) with fresh fruit, fresh fruit juice, and nice chat with them and the other guests under the breakfast cabanas.
The rooms are well decorated, very clean with a typical touch. Mari and Lou will tell you what are the places to see to make your stay the most enjoyable.
Just don't hesitate, it's wonderfull.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
I see that you are home safely in France and we thank you so much for taking the time to tell future travelers your opinion of LSM. We hope that you will stay with us again in the event you travel to this part of Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of our trip to Mexico and all I can is that we were spoiled for all other places! To echo what many other reviewers have said, we loved our time in the jungle at La Selva. Clearly much love and care has gone into the building of this special oasis and it shows in so many ways; warm cookies upon arrival, friendly greetings from the dogs after a long day exploring the area, the waterfalls, amazing breakfasts, thoughtful tours of the grounds to the painstaking care and craftsmanship of the entire property.

We stayed in room 1 that was a sweet room with a private courtyard on the rid floor and a live tree in the bathroom. The shower was partially exposed to the outside - best shower I've ever taken!

We had initially booked a cabana on the beach for our stay in Tulum, but after extending our trip for a couple of days, decided to also book at La Selva to experience something different. If we could go back we would have happily forgone the beach cabana and stayed our entire time here. It's enough out of the way to feel private but close enough to easily get to the main strip or the beach or the ruins. Perfect. We loved meeting everyone else who was staying there and got great advice from Mari and Lou and the other guests- made it all a very special experience.

We feel lucky to have stumbled into this place and are already planning a return visit! We could not recommend it more.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selvamariposa, Owner at La Selva Mariposa, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
What a great comment about willing to forgo the beach if you could have stayed here longer. It is easy to access the beach of Tulum when you are not staying there by going to one of the many beach clubs that offer varied amenities. It is actually fun to experience a variety of beaches up and down the coast rather than just the one you have made a reservation at. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Selva Mariposa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Selva Mariposa

Address: km 20 Tulum-Coba Carretera | Macario Gomez, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Selva Mariposa is an intimate B&B situated only 15 min. by car from the shores of Tulum's gleaming waters of the Caribbean and less than 30 minutes from many Mayan ruins and cenotes. Our three beautifully decorated air-conditioned rooms and one luxury suite with decks, cascading waterfalls, cenote style plunge pools, illuminated jungle paths and gourmet breakfast will leave you feeling that you have arrived in paradise. Each golden day of your vacation will simply blend into the next. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your La Selva Mariposa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Selva Mariposa Hotel Tulum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Selva Mariposa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.