We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, good setting, cool air conditioning!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Residencia La Mariposa

Save Saved
You added Hotel Residencia La Mariposa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Residencia La Mariposa
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Mercurio Poniente, 21 | MZA. 6, LOTE 21, Tulum 77780, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 74 hotels in Tulum
sarasota FL
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Nice staff, good setting, cool air conditioning!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I have the prettiest beach in the world where I live, so I was not looking to stay on the beach. One block off the main road seemed perfect. Obet was very kind to look up my plane reservation and help with taxis to the ruins and Gran Ceynote, which he suggested. He was also kind to serve me breakfast after my early trip to the ruins. It was toast with his delicious jam and oj, and it hit the spot. The bed was firm and the room was clean. I styed in room 8 upstairs, which had a lovely porch off four rooms. It was too hot to enjoy, but I would have been nice in cooler weather. The a/c worked well which was much needed in July!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    34
    4
    7
    1
See reviews for
9
43
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Accra, Ghana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We had a wonderful two-night stay at this hotel during a week-long family vacation; we had booked two regular rooms, but they upgraded us to two available suites at no extra charge, and the rooms were breathtaking; beautiful tile and local artesanias, as well as good AC, a fridge, and a table and chairs. The outdoor patio offers beautiful seating at handmade wooden tables for a basic complementary breakfast of toast with home-made papaya jam and excellent fresh-ground coffee from Chiapas. The manager, Obed, was able to give us helpful tips for visiting local ruins and cenotes (definitely check out the Coba ruins and Gran Cenote), and arranged for a taxi driver he knew and trusted to take the four of us to the Gran Cenote, Tulum Ruins, and back to the hotel for reasonable rate (MXN 200 total). We would definitely stay there again, and recommend the place highly to anyone visiting Tulum. Would have stayed longer if we had known what a wonderful experience this town and hotel would be!

Room Tip: The suites are amazing! Splurge if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramah
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Very pleasant small hotel set back from the main road so there was not traffic noise, just the usual chickens and dogs. Although we had booked a room with a kitchenette that was not available, but we did have a refrigerator, which worked out fine for us. The room was spacious with a communal and comfortable sitting area on the balcony. Parking was on the road but we were assured it was safe. The only complaint was that our room experienced some noise from what sounded like a pump on the roof, also the breakfast was very minimal, toast, coffee and cue (freshly squeezed orange, which was very good). The owner and staff were friendly and helpful. This hotel is great value for money with great access to restaurants, as we had a car there was no problem getting to the beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Spacious clean room, very friendly service and convenient location, close to main road but away from crowds, Breakfast is simple but okay.
High season can be a little expensive .. but a safe clean option

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Small hotel (only 11 rooms) close to the main road of Tulum, but still in a quiet area. It is a 15 minutes drive to the beach by car, 30 minutes by bike. The rooms are spacious, colourful, have a quiet A/C and a good working shower. The only disadvantage is the breakfast, which is the same every day and consists of 2 slices of toast with jam/butter/honey, juice and coffee. The internet is from time to time a little bit slow.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku, Azerbaijan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Slept great. A/C is strong and quiet. Lots of homey accents. Great Price, no crawling feelings when i woke up. I especially loved the 3rd floor common area. Lots of fun potted plants and views of the pueblo. Be honest. You want to stay in a place with A/C. The beach cabanas are nice, but theres mosquitos and no A/C. This is a unique mexican experience. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: Try the third floor with 2 doubles. Lots of out door sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Clinton, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My room at the Hotel Residencia La Mariposa was surprisingly spacious especially when considering its very low rate. With a sitting room, kitchenette, sleeping area, balcony, and of course bath room, it felt more like an apartment. The bathroom was relatively small in proportion to the rest of the room, however. More important than its size and cost was its comfort. The air conditioner was a savior from the heat, humidity and thunderstorms of a June afternoon in the Yucatan. Even though I initially had some difficulty locating the hotel,(being disoriented in the residential area Tulum), it is only a block off the main road through Tulum. Once found, I had no more trouble getting back again. From the balcony it was delightful to see Mexican culture unfold on the road below as locals conducted their regular routines. The hotel attendant was friendly, helpful and knew enough English. In the mornings he had continental breakfasts ready to go. I was happy with this hotel but there was one small blot I will mention is and that is I saw some tiny ants scurrying about in one corner of the room but it wasn’t too big of a deal. I would have no problem being a guest at Hotel Residencia La Mariposa in the future.

Room Tip: The hotel can be confusing to find but remember it is only one block of the main road in Tulum towar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Residencia La Mariposa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residencia La Mariposa

Address: Calle Mercurio Poniente, 21 | MZA. 6, LOTE 21, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 74 hotels in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Residencia La Mariposa 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Residence La Mariposa is a delightful, intimate small Hotel located downtown Tulum, Mexico, minutes away from the world known Tulum Mayan Ruins and the most beautiful beaches. The Hotel Residence La Mariposa has earned praise for excellence in service and comfort from travellers around the globe. Friendly owners who make you feel like in home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Residencia La Mariposa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Residencia La Mariposa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.