We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabanas Tulum

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Cabanas Tulum to your Saves list
Cabanas Tulum
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila | Zona Hotelera, Tulum 77780, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 79 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Cabanas Tulum is a great choice for anyone staying in the hotel district of Tulum. We stayed in room 4001 which was in the newer part and it was worth it. The beach view is amazing and the room was comfortable and simple. The food at Ziggy's is great (especially the breakfast)! The only bit of feedback that I have was that the shower tub was clean but stained a bit. This did not bother me at all but I can see how other guests might be put off if they are picky.

I was incredibly impressed with the guest service of the staff. They are incredibly friendly and accommodating to your needs.

Cabanas is more or less centrally located in the hotel area which makes is a very convenient place to stay if you want to explore other restaurants in the area. I definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at Cabanas Tulum, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your review about your recent stay at our sister Hotel The Beach Tulum - also listed here on Trip Advisor. We are happy to know you has such a lovely time at our sister property and that you could enjoy the delicious food at Ziggy's Restaurant as well. We will make sure that your feedback will be addressed to all of their staff members.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon in one of our Beach Hotels.

Muchas Gracias,

Your Cabañas Tulum Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    172
    28
    10
    10
See reviews for
101
394
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Cabañas Tulum hosted a welcome party for us the night before our wedding at Ziggy's Beach Club. They did a great job doing a firepit BBQ, open bar, and an amazing buffet meal for 50 guests, based on nothing more than a few emails back and forth. They even set up smores for us after dinner, which was a huge hit!

Our guests also loved the swings at the bar. Big thanks to José and Pati for being great hospitality professionals. If you are planning an event in Tulum, I'd highly recommend Cabañas Tulum!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at Cabanas Tulum, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your feedback! It was our pleasure arranging for your welcome party and sharing this joyful moment with you. A big Gracias also from our Ziggy's Crew who is happy you liked the set up, food and service!
We hope to see you again next year for your first anniversary here in Tulum :)

Muchas Gracias

Your Cabañas Tulum Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Hi; Stay at Cabanas Tulum from June 1st through the 4th. Great resort. Ziggy's Bar and Grill is great. The food is world class and the drinks are awesome. Met some really great folks while we were there.

The reception desk person was awesome. Her name is Edwina and she did a great job at taking care of us while we were there and also saw to it that we had snack boxes to take with us to the airport, because the restaraunt didn't open until after we left early in the morning.

I would suggest that if you book rooms there that you spend the extra money and stay in the new portion where the beds are a little more comfortable. Ours were in the old section and they didn't have box springs, just a concrete base and then the top matteras. For us old guys it made for a hard sleep surface; unless you had been at Ziggy's then you didnt' care where you layed your head.

Big item to think about is that they don't have air conditioning during the day. They don't have commercial power therefore they run generators on diesel fuel, which ain't cheap. The A/C comes on at 7 PM and goes off exactly at 7 AM. If you like a nap in the afternoon you will have to take one on the beach or in one of the hammocks under the palm trees, unless you like to sweat in bed, while trying to sleep. Wasn't a big issue for us but its worth mentioning. We stayed on the beach or at Ziggy's during the day.

While we ate at Ziggy's most night, on our last night, we went to Juanita's pizza place down the road, a little ways towards Tulum, serves up the best pizza I have ever had. There were six of us at the table and we each got a different type pizza and then shared each others. The four cheese pizza, with goat cheese, was the best. This area is basically carved out of a jungle and they practice eco friendly methods. They do not spray for bugs so before you venture off the beach make sure that you spray yourselves liberally with a good bug spray; especially around your feet and legs. I am still fighting the sand fleas bites that I picked up as we went to the restaraunts.

The town of Tulum is quiet and there aren't any really rockin places to go. Its not for the party folks its for the relaxing folks. The people are friendly and the shop folks will adjust their prices based on your bargaining skills.

Overall a great time, and the resort was very good

Room Tip: Take and use plenty of bug spray. Stay in the newer part of the resort. Cost a little more but wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at Cabanas Tulum, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor. The whole team and especially Edwina are happy you had such a good time at our Beach Hotel.
We take every opportunity to find out about our guests preferences and are eager to know where we can improve or where we have done a good job.
Thanks again for everything and we hope to see you again here in Tulum.

Muchas Gracias

Your Cabañas Tulum Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Recently I was invited to a wedding in Tulum. Most of the guests ended up staying at Cabanas Tulum and we couldn't have been happier with our choice.
The newer rooms on the beach are beautifully designed - light, airy, comfortable, with a well appointed bathroom. The smaller, cheaper rooms on the other side of the hotel are also very comfortable and well worth the reduction in price.
But the real winner at Cabanas Tulum is the beachfront restaurant - Ziggy's. Breakfast is included in the price of the room, and the choices are delicious. But by far the favourite dish in our crowd were the tuna nachos, prepared to perfection by chef Jorge Hidalgo. They are simply one of the most delicious things I have ever tasted, which might explain why we ordered them almost every day!
Cabanas Tulum lies within the boundaries of the Sian Ka'an Reserve (a nature reserve). And because of that, it's subject to environmental laws that prevent the building of large, obnoxious resorts. The net result - small hotels, with plenty of empty beach front real estate and a bohemian vibe. The perfect place to rest and recharge your batteries.
I would have no hesitation in returning to Cabanas Tulum!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at Cabanas Tulum, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your review and your lovely feedback about our Hotel and, of course the Beach Club Ziggy's. We are definitely share your kind words with everyone. It was our pleasure having you as our guests and spoiling you with our Mexican Specialties like the Tuna Nachos for example ;)
We hope you to see you again on your next Beach Vacation here in Tulum.
All the best and muchas gracias.

Your Cabañas Tulum Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Thank you cabanas tulum for the fanatastic lodging. The hotel is beautiful and clean. This was my wife and our third time with cabanas tulum. We loved it so much we came with 6 others this time. They loved it! We will do it again!

Big thank you's to Rafa, Dan, FIdel, Neri, and the rest of the crew from cabanas and ziggy beach bar.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at Cabanas Tulum, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Guests,

The whole Team thanks you so much for your loyalty. What an honor to know you have stayed with us six times and are already planning your return trip to Cabañas Tulum :)
So we will be waiting for you here in Tulum Paradise!
Many thanks again and a big hug from the crew!

Muchas Gracias

Your Cabañas Tulum Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

At Cabanas Tulum you choose whether to stay in high-end suites or more simple bungalows. You get what you pay for. We stayed in a simple bungalow, which was small and with a very simple bathroom. There was a tiny porch with two deck-chairs and a hammock. The beach was right in front of the bungalow. Before the last night they decided to move us to a luxury room, which was a lot bigger than the first and a lot more modern. The second room even had a roof-top terrace in addition to the large balcony. I have never seen such a large bath-tub, as in that room. It was fun to try a better room, but the move meant that we had tp leave the beach several times during then day, as we had to clear out our first room at short notice and later move our luggage to the other room. We feel that the hotel staff could have moved our luggage, so that we could have done other things that day. But, it´s a minor issue. The breakfast was a´la carte and there were a lot of options. The restaurant is good for evening meals as well. Lovely wines and great food. They offer internet, but it only works in the reception and in the restaurant. This is the perfect pace for people who need to get away and experience total relaxation. There are no TV´s there,t no activities after 8pm and nothing else to do, but lie on the beach, go for a walk or a attend a yoga class during the day. We stayed three nights and that was an ok length for us, as it was the end of our holidays.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the more expensive type rooms, or accept the simplicity of the small bungalows and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at Cabanas Tulum, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guests,
We appreciate your feedback and thank you very much for having chosen Cabañas Tulum for your Tulum vacation. We would like to take this opportunity to explain that the room change you are referring to was to our adjoining sister Hotel The Beach Tulum, also listed here on TripAdvisor. Our family friendly beach Hotel has two types of rooms: Beach Front and Partial Sea View room, so the Deluxe section is part of a different property.
We also would like to apologize if there has been some miscommunication when changing room, since our bell boy was of course available to move your bags for you, however it was necessary to have your bags packed first.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again, here in paradise.

Muchas Gracias

Your Cabañas Tulum Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The event....In May 2013 we had a family wedding reception and dinner at Cabanas Tulum, hosting 75 guests, with about 60 people staying at the Cabanas Hotel. The Wedding Ceremony was on the white sandy Hotel beach.

Transportation was arranged through USA Transfers from the Cancun Airport to Tulum, about a 2 hour trip each way. It was an efficient on-time service having newer/comfortable vans with very good drivers.

Our check-in at the Cabanas Tulum was an easy, simple and efficient process with a bell-hop eager to take luggage to our room.... which was a beachfront, clean, king bed eco-friendly accommodation. Mattress was very good but pillows were "lumpy". The room was no "frills" ...no T.V., phones, mini-fridge. Rooms were thoroughly cleaned each day with bedding changed daily. Rooms, reception and dining/bar areas all equipped with Wifi, which worked very well from our room(#205).... however, some complaints from others in our group.

Front desk reception, cleaning, bar/restaurant staff were all great, always happy and eager to help guests. We had all breakfasts and luncheons at Ziggy's Restaurant. Breakfasts (hot or cold) are complementary and are very good, accompanied by fresh coffee or decaff latte and a variety of freshly squeezed juices. The fruit plate and the "loaded" egg omelette were both excellent. Lunch items which we enjoyed included chicken screwers, fish tacos, coconut shrimp, vegetarian pasta and tuna nachos. Salmon was a favourite choice for dinner although we had dinner away from Cabanas Tulum several evenings.

For the Wedding Reception and Dinner, Cabanas Tulum and Ziggy's Bar/Restaurant did a first class job attending to the 75 guests. Both Reception/Bar and Dinner service were excellent with the selected appetizer/salad, entrees and dessert being very good.

Cabanas/Ziggy's staff should be noted for their great service which include Jose May, Leonardo, Rosita, Jorge to name a few. Mucha Gracias to the entire staff!

Helpful Hints for your next Cabanas Tulum: Bring flashlight (dark in area at night), bug spray/after-bite. Visit the wood-fired pizza place less than a five minute walk away... great thin crusted delicious pizza (with a margarita) served by Fernando or staff.

We would recommend Cabanas Tulum on your next vacation. We really enjoyed all aspects.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at Cabanas Tulum, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guests,

Many thank for your review and for staying with us. We are very pleased to read that you had such a good time here at our Hotel, Tulum and, of course with the whole wedding party.
Thank you for recommending us and for your nice words about Ziggy's staff as well, whom we will address your review to.
We hope to see you next year here at Cabañas Tulum.

Muchas Gracias
Your Cabañas Tulum Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cabanas Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas Tulum

Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila | Zona Hotelera, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Tulum
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cabanas Tulum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabanas Tulum Hotel is located on a large stretch of beautiful beach, surrounded by coconut trees, and the turquoise sea. It's the perfect place to relax and reunite with nature. All of our front row rooms have breathtaking sea views from the small terrace, while our garden view rooms are only a few steps away from the beach. Connecting rooms available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Cabanas Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas Tulum Hotel Tulum
Cabanas Hotel Tulum
Tulum Cabanas Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabanas Tulum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.