We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabanas Tulum & Ziggy Beach - HEAVEN !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabanas Tulum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Cabanas Tulum to your Saves list
Cabanas Tulum
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila | Zona Hotelera, Tulum 77780, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Special Discount 2015!
Ranked #14 of 77 Hotels in Tulum
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Cabanas Tulum & Ziggy Beach - HEAVEN !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Just returned from our second trip to Cabanas Tulum, and want to share with fellow travelers the ideal experience. We had an opportunity to stay both at Cabanas Tulum, and their partner property Ziggy Beach. The location of these properties could not be improved upon as they are not only beautiful, but have a soft/warm ocean breeze at all times. The properties themselves are extremely well maintained, and staffed by the most helpful, dedicated, and charming group of people. We were extremely fortuante to have gotten to know and enjoy Winnie, Manuel, Gabrielo, Adrian, and Dan. Each who went out of their way to make our vacation one that we will not soon forget. The hotel properties are extremely well maintained with tropical flowers, ferns, mangove all that seem to attract the most beautiful and colorful song birds. The rooms at Cabanas Tulum & Ziggy Beach are both right ON the beach. The beach itself has the finest white sand that I have ever encountered, and is lined with Palm trees. The room at Ziggy Beach was beyond our dreams. Our second floor room had a huge covered patio, and a private upstairs lanai that in one view was the tops of the palm trees and gorgeous ocean and the other direction the view was that of the vast jungle. The stars at night were remarkable, and the sunsets from the lanai were incredible. The room itself was elegantly designed and had a full wall of sliding glass doors that we left open to let in the warm breeze. YOU WILL BE EXTREMELY GLAD you picked this location for your next visit. At no time did we feel our security was an issue. With the complimentary breakfast, highly efficient staff, AMAZING beach, and gorgeous pool you will not be sorry to book either Cabanas Tulum or Ziggy Beach as your next Tulum destination. Travel well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at Cabanas Tulum, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guests,

A big big thank you for your wonderful review about our properties (Cabañas Tulum & The Beach). All our staff is overwhelmed by your kind words and gratitude. We really enjoyed your staying with us and are flattered by the way you described our Hotel and staff members. Everyone says "hi", by the way. We really hope to welcome you soon back to make your next vacation even more unique.
Thank you so much for everything.
Just a little correction: our sister Hotel is called THE BEACH not Ziggy Beach - that's the name of the Beach Club Ziggy's :)

Muchas Gracias

Patrizia Pezzolla
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    163
    26
    9
    10
See reviews for
88
374
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

beautiful beach!
rooms are expensive like nearly everything at tulum
but the view of our seaside room was amazing
it was windy in march but nice waves
nice restaurants along the beach and in tulum Center
good if you have a car and a torch

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at Cabanas Tulum, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the beach view of your room. Concerning the prices, Tulum offers different budget options, however it is true that the more affordable hotels, restaurants and most of the youth hostels are located in the center town, el pueblo.
Again, thank you for having chosen Cabañas Tulum and hopefully see you again in the future.

Muchas Gracias


Patrizia Pezzolla
Marketing & Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We scouted most of the hotels along the beach in Tulum, when we were planning our wedding. We ended up getting married elsewhere in Mexico, but we came to Tulum for a few days after and this is where we stayed.

The rooms here are spare and minimal, in a cool, retro sort of way. Most are right on the beach, and those that are not are only a few steps away. We stayed in one of the deluxe superior rooms. Really nice, although I wish it came with a hammock. Strangely, most of the other rooms did, but not the deluxe superior. It did have a nicer bathroom, and a roof patio with a tub, but we never really used it. Still, I suggest getting a beach front deluxe. Skip the superior. The rooms are pretty close in quality. But the non-superiors are cheaper, closer to the restaurant, and not really lacking in anything you're likely to miss.

Whatever you get, I can contest that this is one of the best deals for the best quality on the beach. There are some sexier places down the road, but they're likely to cost 3 times as much and not offer all that much more. You're coming to Tulum for the beach, after all, and every hotel has that.

The restaurant is decent. Nothing special, but by no means bad. The staff is friendly. It looked like they were building a new lobby when we were there. That will be a significant improvement.

What else can I say? This is a perfect place to walk out your room, straight into the water, get lost in a book, or chill in the sun. And for a great price. What else do you need? I would gladly go back.

Room Tip: Skip the deluxe superior and get a superior room. Ask for one on the ground floor, not on the secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at Cabanas Tulum, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Congratulations again o your marriage, on behalf of our Cabañas Tulum & The Beach team "thank you" for your review. As we always mention, all comments are shared with our staff , so it makes everyone proud and happy to know that you truly enjoyed your stay with us.
We would like to take this opportunity to inform you that the new lobby has been open for a month and all Deluxe & Deluxe Superior rooms are now part of our sister hotel THE BEACH TULUM - also listed here on TripAdvisor. Further, we are happy to announce that all rooms have a hammock now, whether at Cabañas Tulum or The Beach.
Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in one of our Hotels here in beautiful Tulum.

Muchas Gracias


Patrizia Pezzolla
Sales& Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

It's not often you can pay $150 a night for an unobstructed ocean view. The room was no-frills — tile floors, firm beds, and one power outlet — but who wants to spend time in the room anyway when you can step out the front door and onto the beach? That, combined with an incredibly friendly and accommodating staff, would have me back here at a moment's notice. Tulum itself is so laid back, this enchanting combination of jungle meets ocean, that staying in a big fancy resort would just seem wrong (not to mention out of my price range). But the setting here is worth of an even higher price tag. Also, the included breakfasts, occasional dinners and cocktails, were all consistently high quality. The guests were nice mix of families with kids, couples, and friends, and I felt very comfortable and safe. Also, there were swingsets on the beach and swings instead of barstools at the bar, probably my favorite part.

Room Tip: It's definitely worth the price to stay in a beachfront room. We stayed in the second row the fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at Cabanas Tulum, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for your feedback about your stay at our Hotel. We are really happy you liked it here and enjoyed your "no frills" beach vacation. Thank you also for your nice comment about our staff and the food, we are going to share your words with everyone.
We are looking forward to welcoming you soon back in Tulum paradise!

Muchas Gracias

Patrizia Pezzolla
Sales & Marketing Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I trawled TripAdvisor for recommendations on a place to stay in Tulum as this was our first trip to Mexico and was also a special occasion so it had to be perfect.

One of the things that impressed me from the outset was the speed of response from the lady operating the bookings side of the business. She was quick to respond, informative, helpful and courteous - far more so than a number of places I'd tried (assuming they got back to me at all!)

The transfers were well organised and smooth, and we were glad to pay the return fare for the priviledge. Apparently, hiring a car and driving yourself can be problematic at border crossings / police checkpoints, so taxi or private transfer was recommended - and we didn't regret it.

Upon arrival we were frustrated that our room wasn't quite ready, but were early and check-in times had been confirmed to us so we couldn't really complain. We were shown to the beach front restaurant so that we could get some lunch and we were given towels so that we could use the sunbeds until our room was ready.

We were staying in one of the highest tier rooms - Deluxe Beachfront Superior I believe, and it was extremely basic but clean, and had everything we required. It's not exactly 'no frills' as the rooms are new and finished well, however the rooms themselves lack character. For instance there is no other furniture other than the bed and a small table and chairs which periodically got moved onto the veranda during our stay. There is a corner sofa but that housed our luggage and other items that didn't get put in the wardrobe. There were curtains on the beach facing doors/windows, but not on the windows at the rear pool-side of the cabanas, so people could see in and the light from the pool meant you could never have the room completely dark. There was no TV (which we were happy about as we'd come to get away from it all) and also no pictures on the walls, which gave quite a sterile, cold first impression.

Anyway, once we'd settled in, all the minor points above, that would be commonplace in a city hotel, disappeared from our minds as our shoulders dropped and we started to relax. The need for nothing more than a roof over our heads, a comfy bed and breath-taking view soon became apparent and Cabanas Tulum provided everything we needed. The sun rose at 6.30am every morning and was the most perfect way to wake-up and the lack of TV became a pleasure, not a chore. You open your front doors straight out onto the beach, where you can continue to watch the sun climb. It's truly amazing.

Breakfast is provided, although some things on the menu aren't included and it isn't clear which are which (and I'm not really sure the waiters knew!). Our advice would be to order what you want and worry about it later as all the breakfast options are delicious. The waiting staff are friendly, competent and more importantly willing to help, and throughout our stay we got the definite feeling that all the staff had a keen interest to make our stay a pleasant one.

Most of our days were spent relaxing on the beach and, having walked a couple of km's up the beach I can safely say we were very happy with our stretch. The sun beds are comfy, clean and the perfect compliment to the stunning white sand and turquoise sea. The waiters stroll down to take beer orders but apart from that - and the occassional guest nearby - you're rarely interrupted.

Lunch was always back at the beach front restaurant and was soooo good. Proper Mexican cuisine. Filling, fresh and good value. A different group of staff wait the tables but are just as friendly and helpful as the breakfast shift.

The sun set early during our stay, which usually prompted an early supper. We tried our roof terrace to catch the last few rays but that was disappointing. For some reason the sunbeds up there were permanently damp and the plug to our hot tub was broken. Perhaps it's testament to how relaxed we were that we didn't feel the need to raise the issue with staff.

With the sun rising at 6.30am, it was nice to eat early and get a good night's sleep. We tried a couple of the adjacent restaurants that serviced different resorts along the Tulum seafront but kept coming back to ours as the quality of food was far superior. We found out that the chef had been in the business for approximately 20 years and every night the food was cooked perfectly. The fascinating thing was that the restaurant was nearly empty most evenings, which we couldn't understand given the quality of the food. If we had to offer criticism it would be that the restaurant seems to struggle with defining itself - in other words, for breakfast and lunch it serves amazing Mexican dishes and then switches to more contempary Western cuisine in the evening. We felt they'd be better continuing the Mexican theme as breakfast and lunch were by far our favourites! Perhaps that was why it was so empty in the evenings - people went elsewhere in search of more indigenous cooking.

Anyway, we couldn't get enough of it and would definitely consider going back. I read a lot of reviews for places to stay in Tulum and was so glad I took a friends recommendation for Cabanas Tulum - it's well worth staying at.

The pool area behind our rooms is new and there is also work being carried out on a new bar/dining/reception area that will be amazing when it is completed (which may be the case by now). I hope the expansion doesn't take away any of the 'small business' feel to Cabanas Tulum. The individuality of the resort is the perfect fit for the area and gives you the level of service and comfort you need for relaxing and doing nothing.

Book it up now!

Room Tip: If you can afford the Beach Front Deluxe Superior then go for it as it's further from the main r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctulum, Guest Relations Manager at Cabanas Tulum, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

A big Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed comment and for the lovely words when describing the Hotel and atmosphere. It seems like you really made the best out of your vacation: early rising, long beach walks, good (Mexican) food, relaxing days and restful nights. It is nice to know that you were able to rewind and thoroughly enjoy your time, we only wish you would have reported the broken plug, I am certain our maintenance staff would have fixed it immediately.
Thank you also for your thoughts about the food, we will forward your feedback to Ziggy's, of course. At last, when you stayed with us in February the Deluxe / Superior section was still part of Cabañas Tulum, however since March 2013 and with the opening of the Deluxe lobby, we now refer to this section as separate property, The Beach Tulum - our upscale only adult sister Hotel.
So we hope to see you again in the future at Cabañas Tulum or The Beach Tulum., thank you again and look after yourselves.

Muchas Gracias

Patrizia Pezzolla
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

What a awesome place to stay! Located directly on the white sandy beach, this is what you imagine when you think of cabanas in tulum. The included breakfast is plentiful and delicious, the front desk girls are very sweet, the rooms are clean, hammocks comfy, and beach divine. My only reservation was the price. Albeit high season, it was pricey for Mexico. Aside from that, I would def stay here again but maybe during a lower season.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at Cabanas Tulum, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate and thank you for your feedback. Especially our front desk staff is happy to know that you had a pleasant stay at our resort and says "hi". We are looking forward to your second visit to Tulum.. Just a side note, our low season period is May- June & September - October. Please feel free to visit our webpage or contact us for more details or special offers. Thank you again for haven chosen Cabañas Tulum and hopefully see you again.

Muchas Gracias

Patrizia Pezzolla
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We just returned from 6 glorious days at Cabanas Tulum and are planning a return trip. We had stayed in the all-inclusive resort style places in the past, which both my husband and I disliked immensely. We opted for Cabanas Tulum based on the wonderful reviews and we have the best family vacation we have taken thus far. We traveled with our 4 and 6 year old daughters who also had a great time. We were all sad to go. The hotel is gorgeous. No screens, no phones, just hammocks and the most gorgeous beach I have ever set foot on. 6 days of sunshine and light winds. The food was great. The service was great...especially Diego and Rosa. We stayed in #19. I honestly have nothing neagtive to say about this slice of paradise. My 4 and 6 year old made fast friends with other children playing on the beach. We took some excellent side trips based on staff recommendations :Tulum ruins, Muyil, Akumal,etc. Words and pictures do not do this place justice. It was 10/10 all around. Mil gracias por nuestra estadia tan fabulosa.

Room Tip: Beachfront is the way to go, but all rooms look lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at Cabanas Tulum, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Tulum and the whole staff! Thank you so much for your review and for sharing your family experience here with others. It makes us really happy to know that all four of you enjoyed your NON all-inclusive vacation and that you had a fabulous time at Cabañas Tulum. We truly believe that Tulum is a place to rewind and disconnect, and not only for adults! As you mentioned there are many things to do and see apart from the beautiful beach, moreover the relaxing atmosphere of Tulum is kind of contagious.
We are looking forward to welcoming you and your family soon back and sending you in the meantime a big hug from the whole Cabañas Tulum team.

Muchas Gracias

Patrizia Pezzolla
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabanas Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas Tulum

Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila | Zona Hotelera, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Tulum
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cabanas Tulum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabanas Tulum Hotel is located on a large stretch of beautiful beach, surrounded by coconut trees, and the turquoise sea. It’s the perfect place to relax and reunite with nature. All of our front row rooms have breathtaking sea views from the small terrace, while our second row rooms are only a few steps away from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Cabanas Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas Tulum Hotel Tulum
Cabanas Hotel Tulum
Tulum Cabanas Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabanas Tulum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.