We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing - ruined the end of our honeymoon” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez km 236.7, No.1, Tulum 77761, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Savings up 40%
Ranked #32 of 79 Hotels in Tulum
GreenLeadersGold level
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Disappointing - ruined the end of our honeymoon”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

After two weeks touring around Mexico we booked 5 nights at Dreams to end our honeymoon in Mexico and I've never been more disappointed in any hotel, let alone one which bills itself as a "luxury" resort.

Before I commence on the litany of fail that this hotel managed, I must point out that our maid the vast majority of the waiting/bar staff were helpful and we had no complaints there, particularly Limberth at the lobby bar was excellent and deserves mention. In addition we were in a swim-out block and the standard of accommodation in our room was very good. This should not however tempt you into staying in this hotel if you value a relaxing time with quality food. For brevity I will simply list the issues:

- We booked specifically in an adult-only area and upgraded on arrival to a swim-out room, only to find that two rooms along was a couple with a young (pre-school) child. As we had paid $300 to upgrade to this room, we were NOT impressed. We mentioned this to VIP services and their only concern seemed to be that they were official guests, no apology or refund was offered.

- During the day there is simply nowhere quiet to relax. Of the two pools, one plays loud cheesy music all day plus has a selection of "entertainment" which turns this music up even louder. This includes a foam party. Yes. A foam party at a "luxury resort". The other pool area - which is supposed to be quieter and for adults - is also full of children (no doubt trying to escape the clutches of the entertainment team in the “fun” pool). The music from this whole area also carried on to the beach, so no rest there either.

- During the night there is nowhere to relax with a drink except the bar in the reception. In every location there is either drunk people who should have stopped 6 hours previous, or the "entertainment" providing such joys as Karaoke, a "magic show", a cowboy theme night etc etc. All this is right in the middle of the main pool/bar/restaurant area. If you want to escape any of this then you're forced back to your room. Thus this is where we were forced to go every night after eating.

- The food. Oh dear God the food.... Struggles to reach even an average standard for a 4* hotel, let alone the advertised "luxury" or "gourmet dining". Here's a hint for the company; fancy service and good staff do not compensate for awful food. Everything overcooked, tiny portion size, no taste - it goes on. Every restaurant is "all show and no go".
Asian restaurant - blatantly obvious that the grilled prawns had been cooked in huge batches and then heated up for whatever starter/main needed them
We had a passable meal in the Italian restaurant, but then it takes a particular imbecile to overcook pasta. Having said this the Canoli needed a stronger fork and spoon than that provided to breach its rock-like casing. Special mention must be made of the pastries in the resort - without exception awful they need to find a pastry cook urgently.
The "World Cafe" at least didn't pretend to be anything but a conveyor belt of self-service mediocrity.
I suspect that the French Restaurant had sent someone to France to gather ideas, but the only thing that they had noted about restaurants in that country was tiny portions and pompous table service. Shame they didn’t visit the kitchens or taste any of the food.
The Mexican restaurant managed to distinguish itself by being the worst Mexican food we had eaten in the whole holiday – beating the previous 2 weeks easily.

-On the fourth night of our stay some guests in the “adult only” area where our room was decided to hold a party in the swim-out section, playing loud music, throwing Frisbee and leaving beer cans and cups strewn over the whole area.


Suffice to say this hotel fell way short of its luxury billing in most things except the price, unless you just intend to take your children there and get drunk.

Room Tip: Swim out rooms are the best and luckily are well away from the noisy pool and bar areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    363
    142
    56
    27
See reviews for
494
458
10
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The wedding was on the beach in the early evening with over 50+ guests and was beautiful with the ocean as the back-drop and was not too long. After, a mariachi band entertained guests during cocktail hour on the beach while the wedding party got photos. Dinner was on the beach as well, very intimate with festive string lights. The food was one of the best meals we had at the resort. The fish rolls were so good! And the evening was capped off with the neatest dance floor I've ever seen: a lighted dance floor that changed color on the beach. It was full the moment the music started and we tried to keep the dj playing longer but couldn't get him to play one more song. What a fun wedding!

We were able to stay 4 more days after the wedding for some R&R. I have to say the service was fantastic, all over- restaurants, bar, swim up bar, etc. All the staff was smiling and happy to help. The food at the cafe near the beach was the best, so good we ate there 4 times! At breakfast the omelet was very good, at lunch the quesadillas were great, and at dinner you can't go wrong with the surf and turf and grouper fish with lemon sauce... oh and I can't forget chocolate cake desert with ice cream- best dessert I had on vacation! The Mexican restaurant was also very good and recommend, along with the fiesta night food.

Was a very relaxing vacation and very enjoyable. Would recommend Dreams Tulum.

Room Tip: Away from the pool/ ocean front as it can get loud at night with entertainment or weddings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My wife and I traveled here a couple months ago. First off the bus ride to the hotel from the cancun airport is extremely long!! The beach is very very shallow. I tried snorkeling but kept cutting my chest on the coral. If you do want to walk in the ocean you have to look for the paths that are marked off. Service and drinks where outstanding, food was very good for an all inclusive. If your looking for gourmet food to please your foodie taste buds, then you shouldn't be going to an all inclusive resort anyways! They will try to give you their pitch for a time share thing, just be aware that this will happen upon check in. Nightly shows where very entertaining. Just a heads up that little lizards love to cling to the walls out side your room every night to stay cool and safe. Also, on our last night we found a cockroach in our bed, which made us wonder how long it was in there for! I under stand bugs will get in to places you don't want them to, just like your house so this wasn't an issue. You just gotta roll with it. Nothing will every be prefect but these all inclusive resorts are there to try and make it as close as they can. I would give this an excellent vote, but the beach killed it for me.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I couldn't recommend this resort highly enough. The place is pure luxury. The staff were fantastic, the food and drinks were brilliant and the rooms were immaculate. I haven't been to Mexico before and I fell in love the place and the people. Cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Good - Acres of perfectly manicured gardens, half a dozen world class restaurants with no reservation required. A modern, well designed room, comfy beds and good air conditioning.
The Bad – arrogant, pushy ‘vip coordinators’ and concierge who obviously work on commission as to how many ‘extra’ services they can sell you; services that should have been included at this price point. Spa treatments, room upgrades, private dinners, better wine, etc; they also push to sell you timeshares. We waited in the lobby for hours for them to ‘get our room ready’ while being badgered by a ‘VIP Coordinator’ to attend a timeshare sales breakfast later in the week. Hot,tired and filthy from a long flight, and hours in transit, it was not a great start to our vacation. We will not be returning to Dreams Tulum.

Room Tip: Adult only area is much quieter the rest - avoid the beachfront rooms, not much of a beach anyway.
See more room tips
Green Features: This place was old school - very little eco friendly going on.
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-ConciergeDRETU, E-Concierge Seve at Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Bob W

Thank you for taking the time to communicate us your feedback regarding your recent stay at our resort.

We are happy to know that you liked our gardens, our restaurants and the comfort of our rooms.

On the other hand we are truly sorry to hear that we could not exceed your expectations, we apologize for the inconvenience with the Vacation Club, we are saddened to read that you chosen not to report it, we feel sorry if they were too pushy with you, we already shared your review with the Vacation Club management in order to avoid such uncomfortable situations lie the one you experienced.

We sincerely hope to welcome you again at our resort on a future occasion so we can have the opportunity to redeem ourselves providing you with the service you deserve.

Sincerely,

Seve Oy
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
info.dretu@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This resort needs a coat of paint! The pool is cheesy. Double beds which don't work with kids. Noisy at night, lots of drinking. The beach was full of seaweed and rocks. You can't buy a glass of wine only a bottle and top shelf liquor is not available (even if you want to pay for it). The people are very nice, the food is good and evening entertainment good which is why I gave it poor instead of terrible. If you are looking for quality this is not the place.

Green Features: Couldn't locate recycle bins and lots of water bottles consumed.
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-ConciergeDRETU, E-Concierge Seve at Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Bob W

We sincerely appreciate the time you invested to share your personal impressions of your recent visit to our resort.

We are happy to know that there were some aspects you did enjoy from your recent stay like our personalized service, our gastronomical options and our entertainment activities.

On the other hand we are truly sorry to hear that we could not exceed your expectations, we will definitely take your comments into account to improve the areas mentioned.

Regarding the seaweed, we would like to mention that there is a big wave of seaweed arriving from the Caribbean and Atlantic seas since the month of July and it affects all the Caribbean shores randomly through the month. Unfortunately there is nothing we could do but we can assure that it does not have ecological or sanitary impact in our beach. The recommended process its to bury it under the sand as it will turn into sand itself naturally.

Thank you once more for your detailed feedback as it helps us to identify our opportunity areas as we are constantly working in enhancing our services and facilities.

Sincerely,

Seve Oy
E-Concierge & Social Media coordinator
info.dretu@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Vacationing at Dreams Tulum April 19-26. Enjoyed the comfort of a deluxe king bedroom, garden pool view, and equipped with delightful rain shower and spa tub. The entertainment staffs were fantastic. Particularly Carlos, Brando, David(s) were super friendly, entertaining, and attentive. 7 varietal of restaurants to choose from; I preferred Portofino, Bordeaux, Seaside Grill, and The Patio. I found great concierge service throughout the day. Finally, I wrapped up my trip at the spa with sports massage and facial; both were excellent treatments. Lastly, don't skip the hydrotherapy facilities, it is worth spending an extra hour to relax and detox.

Room Tip: a room that you can step out to a relaxation pool
See more room tips
Green Features: like the touch of incense in the room, and the hands on clean up of the beach
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez km 236.7, No.1, Tulum 77761, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tulum
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tulum
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Tulum
#10 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#13 Family Hotel in Tulum
#20 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated by Aug 2013, Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa is located on one of the most unique beaches in the Riviera Maya surrounded by lush tropical acres, sugary white sand and magnificent colonial architecture. Just five minutes from Tulum and 30 minutes from Playa del Carmen, Dreams Tulum offers Unlimited-Luxury(R) with upscale surroundings and combines fun and relaxation with the ancient world of the Maya. Dreams Tulum sits on two miles of powdery white sand with activities to make the whole family happy. And you're right on the ocean for snorkeling, catamarans, windsurfing, kayaking and jumping on our ocean trampoline. Choose from magnificent dining options featuring eight gourmet, a la carte and one buffet-style restaurant. Dine at the Seaside Grill, an a la carte steak house, enjoy French cuisine in a romantic setting at Bordeaux or visit El Patio for Mexican fare. Six bars, including pool and beach side, are perfect places to make new friends, or just catch up with each other. Perfect your swing at nearby Riviera Maya Golf Club offering complimentary greens fees.New Swimout suites in the hacienda area featuring also a new Adults only section ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Tulum Hotel
Dreams Tulum Riviera Maya
Dreams Resort Tulum
Dreams Tulum Mexico
Sunscape Tulum
Dreams Resort Spa Tulum
Dreams Hotel Tulum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.