We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guest at Dreams April Wedding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez km 236.7, No.1, Tulum 77761, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 79 Hotels in Tulum
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Guest at Dreams April Wedding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The wedding was on the beach in the early evening with over 50+ guests and was beautiful with the ocean as the back-drop and was not too long. After, a mariachi band entertained guests during cocktail hour on the beach while the wedding party got photos. Dinner was on the beach as well, very intimate with festive string lights. The food was one of the best meals we had at the resort. The fish rolls were so good! And the evening was capped off with the neatest dance floor I've ever seen: a lighted dance floor that changed color on the beach. It was full the moment the music started and we tried to keep the dj playing longer but couldn't get him to play one more song. What a fun wedding!

We were able to stay 4 more days after the wedding for some R&R. I have to say the service was fantastic, all over- restaurants, bar, swim up bar, etc. All the staff was smiling and happy to help. The food at the cafe near the beach was the best, so good we ate there 4 times! At breakfast the omelet was very good, at lunch the quesadillas were great, and at dinner you can't go wrong with the surf and turf and grouper fish with lemon sauce... oh and I can't forget chocolate cake desert with ice cream- best dessert I had on vacation! The Mexican restaurant was also very good and recommend, along with the fiesta night food.

Was a very relaxing vacation and very enjoyable. Would recommend Dreams Tulum.

Room Tip: Away from the pool/ ocean front as it can get loud at night with entertainment or weddings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    674
    363
    142
    55
    27
See reviews for
494
457
10
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My wife and I traveled here a couple months ago. First off the bus ride to the hotel from the cancun airport is extremely long!! The beach is very very shallow. I tried snorkeling but kept cutting my chest on the coral. If you do want to walk in the ocean you have to look for the paths that are marked off. Service and drinks where outstanding, food was very good for an all inclusive. If your looking for gourmet food to please your foodie taste buds, then you shouldn't be going to an all inclusive resort anyways! They will try to give you their pitch for a time share thing, just be aware that this will happen upon check in. Nightly shows where very entertaining. Just a heads up that little lizards love to cling to the walls out side your room every night to stay cool and safe. Also, on our last night we found a cockroach in our bed, which made us wonder how long it was in there for! I under stand bugs will get in to places you don't want them to, just like your house so this wasn't an issue. You just gotta roll with it. Nothing will every be prefect but these all inclusive resorts are there to try and make it as close as they can. I would give this an excellent vote, but the beach killed it for me.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I couldn't recommend this resort highly enough. The place is pure luxury. The staff were fantastic, the food and drinks were brilliant and the rooms were immaculate. I haven't been to Mexico before and I fell in love the place and the people. Cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Good - Acres of perfectly manicured gardens, half a dozen world class restaurants with no reservation required. A modern, well designed room, comfy beds and good air conditioning.
The Bad – arrogant, pushy ‘vip coordinators’ and concierge who obviously work on commission as to how many ‘extra’ services they can sell you; services that should have been included at this price point. Spa treatments, room upgrades, private dinners, better wine, etc; they also push to sell you timeshares. We waited in the lobby for hours for them to ‘get our room ready’ while being badgered by a ‘VIP Coordinator’ to attend a timeshare sales breakfast later in the week. Hot,tired and filthy from a long flight, and hours in transit, it was not a great start to our vacation. We will not be returning to Dreams Tulum.

Room Tip: Adult only area is much quieter the rest - avoid the beachfront rooms, not much of a beach anyway.
See more room tips
Green Features: This place was old school - very little eco friendly going on.
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-ConciergeDRETU, E-Concierge Seve at Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Bob W

Thank you for taking the time to communicate us your feedback regarding your recent stay at our resort.

We are happy to know that you liked our gardens, our restaurants and the comfort of our rooms.

On the other hand we are truly sorry to hear that we could not exceed your expectations, we apologize for the inconvenience with the Vacation Club, we are saddened to read that you chosen not to report it, we feel sorry if they were too pushy with you, we already shared your review with the Vacation Club management in order to avoid such uncomfortable situations lie the one you experienced.

We sincerely hope to welcome you again at our resort on a future occasion so we can have the opportunity to redeem ourselves providing you with the service you deserve.

Sincerely,

Seve Oy
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
info.dretu@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This resort needs a coat of paint! The pool is cheesy. Double beds which don't work with kids. Noisy at night, lots of drinking. The beach was full of seaweed and rocks. You can't buy a glass of wine only a bottle and top shelf liquor is not available (even if you want to pay for it). The people are very nice, the food is good and evening entertainment good which is why I gave it poor instead of terrible. If you are looking for quality this is not the place.

Green Features: Couldn't locate recycle bins and lots of water bottles consumed.
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-ConciergeDRETU, E-Concierge Seve at Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Bob W

We sincerely appreciate the time you invested to share your personal impressions of your recent visit to our resort.

We are happy to know that there were some aspects you did enjoy from your recent stay like our personalized service, our gastronomical options and our entertainment activities.

On the other hand we are truly sorry to hear that we could not exceed your expectations, we will definitely take your comments into account to improve the areas mentioned.

Regarding the seaweed, we would like to mention that there is a big wave of seaweed arriving from the Caribbean and Atlantic seas since the month of July and it affects all the Caribbean shores randomly through the month. Unfortunately there is nothing we could do but we can assure that it does not have ecological or sanitary impact in our beach. The recommended process its to bury it under the sand as it will turn into sand itself naturally.

Thank you once more for your detailed feedback as it helps us to identify our opportunity areas as we are constantly working in enhancing our services and facilities.

Sincerely,

Seve Oy
E-Concierge & Social Media coordinator
info.dretu@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Vacationing at Dreams Tulum April 19-26. Enjoyed the comfort of a deluxe king bedroom, garden pool view, and equipped with delightful rain shower and spa tub. The entertainment staffs were fantastic. Particularly Carlos, Brando, David(s) were super friendly, entertaining, and attentive. 7 varietal of restaurants to choose from; I preferred Portofino, Bordeaux, Seaside Grill, and The Patio. I found great concierge service throughout the day. Finally, I wrapped up my trip at the spa with sports massage and facial; both were excellent treatments. Lastly, don't skip the hydrotherapy facilities, it is worth spending an extra hour to relax and detox.

Room Tip: a room that you can step out to a relaxation pool
See more room tips
Green Features: like the touch of incense in the room, and the hands on clean up of the beach
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed from April 14-24. We were greated by very attentive staff from the moment we arrived. Gabrielle took us to our room on a golf cart. He showed us the beach first.
The room was a garden JR suite. Beautiful room 8223. The bartenders worked so hard and made amazing drinks. The entertainment staff never stop. David(cappacino) David (hot chocolate), Dreams Victoria, Manual, Adan, Brando, Gustavo,Gerson, and Tino( server), all made you feel like royalty. They encourged you to come play in the pool, and made us feel like kids again . Something we forgot. Felipe Gonzalez was in every restaurant making sure we were happy. The watermelons were carved differently evey day! so cool. The beach was raked and cleaned ongoing and the water was beautiful. The entertainment team taught salsa lessons at night after Water arobics and Zumba in the day. Their smiles were never ending. After 24 years of marriage and four kids, this was our first vacation away. Our room was spotless and the turndown at night was special. The language barrier was crossed with smiles. We loved the food, drinks, staff, and we started out strangers and ended up friends. If you need to relax this is the place to go. Alex Andrade keep up the good work and continue with your dream of sending all the employees children to school!
I hope to return soon.....till then Hola!

Room Tip: the junior suite garden view is great
See more room tips
Green Features: hang your towel for a second use. Bring your own cup they are happy to refill it.
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez km 236.7, No.1, Tulum 77761, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tulum
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tulum
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Tulum
#9 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#13 Family Hotel in Tulum
#21 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated by Aug 2013, Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa is located on one of the most unique beaches in the Riviera Maya surrounded by lush tropical acres, sugary white sand and magnificent colonial architecture. Just five minutes from Tulum and 30 minutes from Playa del Carmen, Dreams Tulum offers Unlimited-Luxury(R) with upscale surroundings and combines fun and relaxation with the ancient world of the Maya. Dreams Tulum sits on two miles of powdery white sand with activities to make the whole family happy. And you're right on the ocean for snorkeling, catamarans, windsurfing, kayaking and jumping on our ocean trampoline. Choose from magnificent dining options featuring eight gourmet, a la carte and one buffet-style restaurant. Dine at the Seaside Grill, an a la carte steak house, enjoy French cuisine in a romantic setting at Bordeaux or visit El Patio for Mexican fare. Six bars, including pool and beach side, are perfect places to make new friends, or just catch up with each other. Perfect your swing at nearby Riviera Maya Golf Club offering complimentary greens fees.New Swimout suites in the hacienda area featuring also a new Adults only section ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Tulum Hotel
Dreams Tulum Riviera Maya
Dreams Resort Tulum
Dreams Tulum Mexico
Sunscape Tulum
Dreams Resort Spa Tulum
Dreams Hotel Tulum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.