We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be going back for sure!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez km 236.7, No.1, Tulum 77761, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 77 Hotels in Tulum
2 reviews
“Will be going back for sure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had our destination wedding at the resort list past November. The staff was friendly and accommodating, the food was excellent, and the resort was clean. The resort itself is not too big. Everything is within walking distance. Being a destination wedding, we had people there from different parts of the world. It was big enough that we could all do our own thing, but small enough that we could still all get together and get to know each other better. There are tours to go outside of the resort if you like. It is about an hour bus ride from the airport.

Room Tip: The upgrade to a walk out to the pool room was a bonus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    250
    101
    43
    19
See reviews for
348
334
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

When we arrived we were told that although we had booked a double room with king size bed we had not said 2 people were staying and therefore there was a 150 USD extra charge for 2 people to occupy the room. We went to the Mexican for lunch, no-one served us for 20 minutes so we went up and took our own menus. Finally they took our order and when the food arrived, the chicken enchilada was full of grisly chicken which had hidden bones in. The beach was nice for the afternoon, but we forgot a kindle on the sinned and when we went back it wasn't there - we were told it must have been taken - doesn't make you feel very safe. Decided to go to sushi for dinner - sushi had someone's black hair stuck to it and the bits which didn't had no resemblance to any sushi we ever tried. The whole resort was overrun by 2 wedding parties so I assume this was their priority not us! In theory the mini-bar was free but actually it's a few soft drinks and some mini beers- we didn't even have a bottle opener so had to call up to get into them. Service is overall lacking and half hearted, I would not recommend this resort!

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-ConciergeDRETU, EConcierge Seve at Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear LondonCymruambyth

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your opinion regarding your recent stay at our resort.

We apologize for the inconvenience at check in, we inform that all the reservations made through an agency must be confirmed by the agency, since we as the hotel only honor the number of guests and the check in and check our dates that the voucher information contains.

It is surprising to read that you did not received the menu at El Patio restaurant as our hostess standards are to welcome our guests, escort them to their table and provide the menu right at the moment. Sometimes our guests access the restaurant from different areas and not by the main entrance, that could cause the confusion.

We apologize if the enchiladas were not prepared as you expected, we already shared your comment with our executive Chef for follow up. In the other hand we would like to comment that we do not have any report of such incident at the sushi plate, our cooks follow the highest standards of hygiene in the production line in all of our kitchens.

We certainly have wedding parties and conventions, we have a specialized team assigned to look after them, as just as we have for all of our valuable guests, we apologize if you did not feel our hospitality in our restaurants, bars and public areas.

Regarding the unfortunate incident with your kindle, as you may understand all the valuable items left unattended in public areas are our guest's responsibility, since there is no way to know if it belongs to a certain guest or not.

We apologize for any bad experience you had during your stay, we hope you give us another opportunity to restore your confidence to our brand.

Sincerely,

Seve Oy
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
info.dretu@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long beach, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The negative part of our stay was that the room needed renovations. Upon arrival, the safe and alarm clock did not work. However they do respond quickly to 1 phone call. Also there was no hair dryer in the room as promised, which they delivered. The size of the room was fine.
The food and service is VERY GOOD with very pleasant smiley STAFF.
There is one pool that looks ancient. The newer pool is the activities pool. Water was warmer than at the Moon Palace 3 days prior, so they must heat it.
The ocean is always warm.
We enjoyed walking a long distance on the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was our first visit to Dreams Tulum, after 7 trips to the Bahia Principe Tulum and Coba. We were travelling with a group of 12 and wanted a change from the Bahia as we’ve found that resort to be slipping over the years.


The resort itself is beautiful and lush, but what made our trip was the service – every staff member we encountered was helpful. When we first arrived, there was no crib in our room – but one arrived within 5 minutes of making a phone call. Same for towel requests or anything else we needed. We had consistent, great housekeeping – but others in our group didn’t, so I guess it depends on where your room is. The beds were also very comfortable, but the shower leaked all over the floor, making it treacherous to have children standing in the bathroom.

BEACH/POOLS
We are beach people and found the beach okay(comparable to the Bahia's). It’s small and the chairs are close together, but it’s nice not to look out on to sandbags (although the sandbags do cut down on the waves, which were so rough at Dreams so our kids couldn’t really stand or walk in the water where as they could at the bahia). The actual swimming area is a very small roped off area, but is nice and sandy with few rocks (there is phenomenal swimming about a 10 minute walk South along the beach). If you want beach shade (something we needed with small children) you needed to get out there fairly early in the morning (before 9) – this wasn’t a problem for us, but the resort needs a few more palapas. There were plenty of chairs without shade throughout the day, and we constantly saw a staff member collecting unattended towels to free up chairs. I think seats around the activity pool also filled up quickly, quiet pool always seemed to have a few chairs available.

We really enjoyed the beach bar service, and found it to be readily available, I raise my eyebrow to the review who mentioned they only came once an hour – between the 2-3 staff members who worked the beach, we had someone asking us if they could get us something at least once every 10-15 minutes. They also learned our names, our drinks and were lovely people. We tipped a few dollars at least once a day, as there was usually 6-8 of us to keep track of, but the service was just as good if we didn’t tip.

The pool/beach side grill was great, and had decent burgers and great made to order pizzas. No complaints!
The kid’s area of the activity pool is lacking – There is a shallow sectioned off area of the activity pool, but there’s nothing spectacular or fun about it. For a resort that caters to families, it was unimpressive.

FOOD
We enjoyed the Asian fusion the most and the other restaurants were decent to good. Except the buffet. This is the one place the Bahia has Dreams beat (by far!). The buffet is small with very few actual options, no real salad bar, and a poor selection prepared dishes (the soups were always delicious though). Breakfast was average for a resort, but Lunch and Dinner were horrific, with service to match. I think they push people to eat in the a la cartes, but with small children – we’d have much rather eaten in a good buffet where we could get food quickly and choose exactly what she wanted, get seconds and so forth. If we had older children, it wouldn’t have been that big of a deal, but it affected the enjoyment of our evenings, as dinners were at least a 1.5 hr event, which isn’t fun with a toddler and baby. We did 2 nights at the buffet, and the rest in the restaurants. We did enjoy not having to make reservations though, and any time that our group of 12 ate together, we were seated within 5-10 minutes.

BARS
I LOVED having a café and a smoothie bar – both were great and we’d enjoy a latte on the beach every morning. Having the smoothies available for the kids was great, opposed to the sugary drinks available at the bars.
The sugar reef bar was okay, but crowded in the evenings and lacked enough seating – we wanted a place where we could sit, listen to live music and play cards in the evening (while grandparents babysat) – this didn’t really exist. The lobby bar was nice, but not exactly what we were looking for – we prefer the evening bar set up at Bahia Tulum.

OVERALL IMPRESSION
I’m not sure if we would return – we would definitely spend the money to stay at a more upscale resort from now on, as the little details and service are wonderful, but would probably keep resort shopping, as the Buffet at Dreams was terrible, and the beach was just okay with an average swimming area. We had expected the food and bars to be better. We might try it again when our kids are 7+ but that won’t be for quite some time.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I am generally a huge fan of Dreams Resorts, however, this is my least favorite. First for the good things: The property is VERY clean and neat. It's apparent that the staff is trained not to let any kind of trash or food sit around. The beach is pretty with plenty of room for everyone. The pools are attractive and there is a space for kids and adults. The rooms are big and nice and the staff is friendly and wants to make your stay enjoyable. The grounds are beautiful and well kept. They have a coffee shop with wi-fi that's open from 7AM to 11PM. The hotel is close to several archeological sites. Now, the bad things: I love Mexican food and expected it to be really good here. It's bad. Everything tasted exactly the same. We ate in some of the other restaurants (French and Italian) and while those were ok, they certainly didn't blow my socks off. The buffet was dull and the food was just barely warm. There was a terrible mosquito problem at the resort. They were constantly spraying, but our room was on the ground floor and every night we spent an hour killing mosquitoes before we could go to bed. When they make up your room, they leave the door open and the room fills up again with mosquitoes. The walkways and hallways are not well lit at night and there are tiny steps everywhere. I'm surprised they don't have people falling. I twisted my ankle several times. The time share people try and kidnap you into listening to their sales pitch every time you go in or out of the lobby. I won't be back.

Room Tip: Help with the mosquito problem and ask for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-ConciergeDRETU, E-Concierge Seve at Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear dko9155

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review regarding your recent stay at our resort.

We appreciate you highlighted the cleanliness of our resort, our beach and in our facilities.

We are concerned to learn we did not completely fulfill your expectations with our food options, we will share your opinion with our F&B management to improve the areas mentioned.

As a service oriented company, our objective is not only to fulfill, but also surpass our guest’s expectations; therefore we put our greatest interest into your opinion. We understand that there is always room for improvement and our guest’s experiences play a key role in this continuous process.

We hope you give us another opportunity, as we are sure that we will surpass your expectations in a future stay.

Sincerely,

Seve Oy
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator.
info.dretu@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Hotel is lovely, were "up sold" from Deluxe Suite in Adults to a Jacuzzi Suite nearer the heart of the property as I felt the other room was a little out of the way. Staff friendly but not over the top in all areas and they were continually cleaning. It was lovely to have a choice of restaurants and not having to book. The Italian was our favourite, ate there twice and also the Mexican. Some of the others we found the food was not hot enough and they tried to up sell Bottles of Wine and the Lobster/Wine promotion quite a lot. The wine by the glass was fine for everyday and as we were all inclusive why would we want to purchase wine with every meal? We did pay extra to eat in the Wine Room, as it was my Husbands Birthday, and Manuel who is a very knowledgeable Sommelier, put together a lovely 3 course meal for us after we had chosen our wine and we did have the Lobster which was fab. I had a problem with Mosquitoes in the room and corridor outside the room, they need to spray as this is not normally a problem in other hotels I have been to. I would have liked the pool to have been a bit hotter but that's my personal choice. All in All we had a lovely time.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camrose, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We visited Dreams Tulum from November 30 to Dec 7, 2014 for my brother's wedding. We have stayed at many other Dreams and Secrets resorts previously, so when we found out the wedding was at a Dreams Resort, we were thrilled to be going because we have come to associate Dreams Resorts with excellence in every aspect of the word.

What a disappointment, after arrival and checking into our rooms, it was instantly clear that this Dreams was not held to the same level or standard as the rest we had visited, I've decided to put in point form the concerns we had or ran into, these are issues that we had at this resort and never experienced at any of the other Dreams Resorts we have visited:

1) Very hard beds - with matching cement-like pillows.
2) No hair dryer in room as stated - called front desk and got one several hours later.
3) Balconies are very small - no sun tanning or relaxing on these.
4) Shower head pressure very lacking and shower head itself was rusty and defective.
5) No hair conditioner in rooms - just shampoo (first I've seen that in a Dreams)
6) Water temperature luke warm at best - we tried at many different times of day - always barely warm water, also took over an hour to fill the jetted bath tub, and by then water was cold.
7) Poor drink service at beach and pool areas - maybe every hour someone might come by.
8) Mini Bar not restocked daily as stated - nor was the daily newsletter readily accessible ever.
9) Poor quality of food in buffet - which was the only available breakfast option for 5 of our 7 days.
10) Odd opening and closing times for the World Cafe (it says 7am, but what they really mean is 7:30-ish) and coffee shop (9:30am) and smoothie bar (11:30am), gift shops would close randomly throughout the day.
11) Never anywhere to sit by the pool or beach if there's more than 1 person - the 'don't reserve chairs' rule is not enforced here and with a party of 26 people, we were lucky if 3 or 4 of us could sit together in one area at one time.

The resort itself was nice, but I feel the staff and management were just going through the motions, and not one thing, meal, event or staff member was exceptional or what we have come to expect from the 'Dreams Resorts' standards. This resort, the rooms, amenities and customer service is not in the same league as the other Dreams Resorts we have been to, in fact I would go as far to say that if this was my first experience at a Dreams Resort, it would prevent me from visiting another one.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-ConciergeDRETU, E-Concierge Seve at Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Candace B

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and with the Tripadvisor community.

It is surprising to hear that you found our beds hard, since many other reviews highlight the comfort our our beds. However we will definitely do an inspection in the room you were in order to correct it.

We apologize for the issues found in the room, we inform that our shampoo is also conditioner.

We are saddened to read that you found our pool & beach wait service poor, since it is one of the top favorite areas that our guests highlight and comment in our surveys, we will reinforce the training of our waiters.

The only reason why the minibar could not get stocked is if the do not disturb sign/card is enabled.

The coco cafe opens at 7:00 a.m. and the world cafe at 7:00 a.m. also. The gift shop is open from 7:00 a.m. to 11:00 p.m. the other shops are concessions, therefore we do not have control on their opening and closing times.

It is unfortunate you did not requested a chair to our beach butler, he could assist by finding chairs if most of them are already taken.

We apologize for any bad experience you had at our resort, we hope you give us another opportunity to show you the high level of service we are known for.

Sincerely,

Seve Oy
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
info.dretu@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez km 236.7, No.1, Tulum 77761, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Tulum
#6 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#14 Family Hotel in Tulum
#26 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated by Aug 2013, Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa is located on one of the most unique beaches in the Riviera Maya surrounded by lush tropical acres, sugary white sand and magnificent colonial architecture. Just five minutes from Tulum and 30 minutes from Playa del Carmen, Dreams Tulum offers Unlimited-Luxury® with upscale surroundings and combines fun and relaxation with the ancient world of the Maya. Dreams Tulum sits on two miles of powdery white sand with activities to make the whole family happy. And you’re right on the ocean for snorkeling, catamarans, windsurfing, kayaking and jumping on our ocean trampoline. Choose from magnificent dining options featuring eight gourmet, a la carte and one buffet-style restaurant. Dine at the Seaside Grill, an a la carte steak house, enjoy French cuisine in a romantic setting at Bordeaux or visit El Patio for Mexican fare. Six bars, including pool and beach side, are perfect places to make new friends, or just catch up with each other. Perfect your swing at nearby Riviera Maya Golf Club offering complimentary greens fees.New Swimout suites in the hacienda area featuring also a new Adults only section ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Tulum Hotel
Dreams Tulum Riviera Maya
Dreams Resort Tulum
Dreams Tulum Mexico
Sunscape Tulum
Dreams Resort Spa Tulum
Dreams Hotel Tulum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.