We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service made the difference” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez km 236.7, Tulum 77780, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Nights!
Ranked #28 of 76 hotels in Tulum
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
1 review
“Service made the difference”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We spent a week at Dreams Tulum at the beginning of August ( mom, dad and young adult sons). It was quite beautiful, but I imagine most of the hotels along the coast are. The food was decent, nothing to really rave about, but certainly edible. I thought the size was great, perhaps a little more intimate than some of the other behemoths in the area. A bit of walking to get around, but nothing unmanageable. Beach chair availability could be better...it took some maneuvering to get a chair in the shade. But what really made our trip was the staff. Everyone was so friendly...each time we passed a staff member while walking the grounds, we were always greeted. I would especially point to Nyesa, from beach service and Gilberto at the Manatee Bar. They both did so much to make us feel welcome and take care of us.

The location is a little remote, but was great for us. All depends on what kind of vacation you want. Snorkeling didn't happen...getting the gear was a pain, and what you could see in a swim from the beach appeared pretty limit (based on an assessment using goggles brought from home). Beach was very well-maintained, always some one tidying up - again with the great staff. Towel availability was an issue a couple of times. Entertainment was maybe one-step down from what you would see on a cruise, but still fun.

Overall, I would call it a relaxed, casual, enjoyable vacation.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    351
    173
    76
    29
    14
See reviews for
266
233
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

There was hardly any selections for veg meals and hardly any entertainment - the brochures over sell it!
Our first room was at the edge of the resort and we moved twice. My son had an accident and had got some blood on the dressing gown and they charged 60usd for replacement if an old gown and the small speck of blood would have come out when cleaned.
Do not recommend it . We moved to a better hotel after first week to make sure our holiday was not ruined

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is incredible. I have stayed in all-inclusive resorts before, where they try and sting you for extras, but here everything IS included - all food and drinks (inc top shelf spirits), mini bar, wait service round the pool and on the beach, room service (needless to say we ordered room service for breakfast every day!).

The Seaside Grill is the best for lunch and dinner by far. Right next to the beach and stunning food.

The beach has a designated swimming area as there is a beautiful reef very close to the shore which obviously needs protecting. The ocean is bath temperature and so clear - a shoal of angel fish were following me around for ages. Very magical. Pelicans flying overhead as well as iguanas everywhere, very special.

Our room was a great size, the bed was enormous and the bathroom fantastic. There was a shuttered window through to the bedroom, great for having a chat in the bath!

The staff were always so happy and helpful. We booked swimming with whale sharks through the hotel but I believe that booking with an external group may be cheaper if you make your own way to Cancun. Can't fault the experience though!

No complaints, I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

My family and I stayed here for 8 nights and it was an incredible experience.
The resort was beautiful and the variety of restaraunts & facilities was great - true value for money.
The entertainment team were amazing and friendly, especially Roberto, Jonathan and Erick. You can't deny how hars they work and they try their very best to make you feel welcome. The team provide a variety of activities and shows which helped us enjoy our stay even more. The resort is about 2 hours away from Chichen Itza and 40mins away from the riviera maya.
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and look forward to going back here or to another Dreams resort. I would definitely recommend going to Dreams Tulum. Wish we'd stayed even longer.
It was truly excelente! Viva Mexico!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Dreams hotel was literally a dream! My family and I stayed at the resort for 8 nights and we loved every minute of it!

The hotel itself was beautiful, and the views were breath taking.

The best thing about the resort was definitely the entertainment team. All of the team members were extremely friendly and hard working. A special mention to Jonathan, Roberto, Erick and Hugo, who were all excelente and made our stay very memorable.

The food cannot be faulted, especially the Mexican and Japanese restaurants.

All of the staff members were very welcoming and friendly and always made sure we were well looked after.

If you are thinking about staying at this Dreams resort, I would highly recommend that you do. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed at this resort a few weeks ago with my family and we all had a great experience (and the all inclusive was great)! The facilities were very good, and the employees were very welcoming and nice! The only negative is that there weren't that many sunbeds so get there early! I'd like to especially mention the entertainment team - Roberto, Jonathan, Eric, Carol, Maleina, and Lali. Would definitely recommend this to everyone! Excelente!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had a wonderful 10 days at Dream Tulum. We stayed in one of the Hacienda Suites and had an amazing view of the ocean. The room was huge and the bed was very comfortable.

All the restaurants were great. Our favorite was the Italian restaurant. It was so wonderful we ended up dining there three times. Service was amazing at all of the restaurants. Really fun waiters at the Mexican restaurant and very good food as well. The pumpkin soup was simply wonderful. We enjoyed the buffet for breakfast as well as the ala carte breakfast served at Oceana. Loved being able to eat outside at so many different spots. Our group also enjoyed having food available right by the pool. No need to get dressed to go to lunch. Rooms service was great, not a long wait and arrived hot. Very nice. Drinks were good at the swim up bar and at all the other bars. Great coffee shop that serves specialty coffees and pastry and sandwiches.

We enjoyed the evening entertainment very much, always something going on. My husband enjoyed playing pool at night at the sports bar/ disco.

Snorkeling is very good off to the left of the resort swimming area. Much better than other resorts we have been to. We loved the isolated beach without a bunch of other resorts around. Very nice for long walks.

All in all, a great time was had by all of our group of 6. Great resort for families as well as adults. We were a group of adults traveling with no children and loved this resort. We all really enjoyed ourselves and would not hesitate to return or to recommend to others.

Room Tip: Hacienda Suites are huge and near the beach, pools and restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez km 236.7, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Tulum
#6 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#11 Family Hotel in Tulum
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#30 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated by Aug 2013, Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa is located on one of the most unique beaches in the Riviera Maya surrounded by lush tropical acres, sugary white sand and magnificent colonial architecture. Just five minutes from Tulum and 30 minutes from Playa del Carmen, Dreams Tulum offers Unlimited-Luxury® with upscale surroundings and combines fun and relaxation with the ancient world of the Maya. Dreams Tulum sits on two miles of powdery white sand with activities to make the whole family happy. And you’re right on the ocean for snorkeling, catamarans, windsurfing, kayaking and jumping on our ocean trampoline. Choose from magnificent dining options featuring eight gourmet, a la carte and one buffet-style restaurant. Dine at the Seaside Grill, an a la carte steak house, enjoy French cuisine in a romantic setting at Bordeaux or visit El Patio for Mexican fare. Six bars, including pool and beach side, are perfect places to make new friends, or just catch up with each other. Perfect your swing at nearby Riviera Maya Golf Club offering complimentary greens fees.New Swimout suites in the hacienda area featuring also a new Adults only section ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Tulum Hotel
Dreams Tulum Riviera Maya
Dreams Resort Tulum
Dreams Tulum Mexico
Sunscape Tulum
Dreams Resort Spa Tulum
Dreams Hotel Tulum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.