We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst dreams ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez km 236.7, Tulum 77780, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot Hot Hot Savings!
Ranked #30 of 75 hotels in Tulum
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“worst dreams ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

I really hope im helping travellors by writing this !this is the worst dreams resort my wife and my self have been to from the bad shows to the horrible food and the lying staff save your money don't go here worst buffet I have ever been to 18 resorts this was the worst! bait and switch paid for oceanfront preferred club got pool front jack hammering bellow us nothing worked in our room I mean fridge air con locks old bed nothing worked period and front end staff useless piece of garbage 6 th dreams resort !LAST DREAMS RESORT if you want a copy of my passport to prove how many times weve been to mexico just ask and ill email it to you !!!save your cash do not go here!!!!oh ya beds are about 15 yrs old if you like a bad back !ive got pics of it all!!!!

Room Tip: stay home no tips for this piece of garbage stay home
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    304
    156
    68
    29
    13
See reviews for
231
207
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

this is my second time to this resort, and without hesitation i would tell anyone looking to relax and have some good times to visit this resort. most people like to complain about the children at the swimup bars and in the so called adult pool but if you don't like children don't go to a family resort plain and simple!
the beach is beautiful, the pools are nice(little too warm)-the bartenders like to ignore the children looking for drinks but dont forget the parents are watching and your tips went out the window because of that. the grounds are perfect and the people always smiling and saying hello.
the only complaints is that they need some more activity for the kids at night and the food has been scaled back quality wise since last time . myself and 4 other adults were attacked by the stomach bug, the 5 kids were ok though. that needs to improve
the rooms are very clean and the beds are very comfortable.
my main complaint is they need to have some rooms to fit 5 people, they are losing business over it. just a suggestion.

Room Tip: do not get a room by the pools or courtyard very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This was my 3rd visit to this property and I am looking forward to my 4th. being in the luxury hotel industry for the last 30+ years. The service was excellent and the people working there love what they do and it shows when they are exceeding your expectations.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We traveled here in early September so it did rain quite a bit which was a bummer, but we knew that was a possibility. We still had an excellent time. The food was great and the drinks were weak but tasted good. I did get some sort of stomach bug that lasted about 1 week that was pretty terrible and caused us to have to skip out on one of the excursions we had already paid for. I did drink the mixed drinks most of the time though, I'm not sure if they make their ice with tap water or not, but I'd be a little more careful if I came back again. Overall though we had a great time!

Room Tip: We had a 1st floor garden view that was really close to the main pool, but it was still nice and qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at Dreams Tulum July 16 to July 22, 2014. As soon as we walked in we were greeted with champagne for my husband and I and fruit punch for my son. Check in was simple and we were quickly escorted to our room and shown all the features of our room.

We've stayed at a few upscale all inclusives without our son. This is the first family resort we have been to and it was really fun. There was a pool with activities if you wanted to have some drinks while listening to music and watching kids play and there was a quiet pool, that although beautiful, was a little dull for our personalities. During the day you can enjoy activities at the pool or beach but you absolutely have to do two things. #1) Ask Gilberto at the pool bar to make you a Dirty Banana. He makes them very well and you will be hooked! #2) You need to walk a few yards south, past the rocks on the beach, and go swim in the silky sand waters just south of the resort. If you stand in certain spots, the sand is really cold, so we thought it might be fed by a spring. Very cool.

Also, if you need assistance with anything like excursions Humberto in the concierge department is very helpful!

In the evening, the entertainment staff, especially Gerson, does a great job of entertaining you. He will do whatever needed to make your evening fun for your family! You need to go to the fiesta night and also the urban night! Both were so fun!

If however, you would like an evening without kids, don't worry because the girls in the explorer club are great!!! Lilia always remembered my son's name when he walked in the door and made him feel special.

Lastly, restaurants are all pretty good. My least favorite was Seaside Grill. It's too bad because this restaurant has the best ocean views. If you want a good steak, DO NOT go to Seaside. Go to Bordeaux. They prepare it correctly and it a much thicker cut. The Italian restaurant was good, as was the Patio. The sushi was ok and the World Buffet should pretty much just be hit for breakfast. However, the best food at the resort is a hidden gem at the Sky Bar. Sometime during your vacation, you are going to miss American food. Although the Barefoot Grill serves American fare, it isn't as good as the food at the Sky Bar. Sky Bar serves food after 3PM and no one ever goes in there! It was so good!! We ate so many wings and had some great burgers and beer in there. Our server Manuel was always there with whatever we needed. Dreams needs to add a physical bar to this spot, with maybe some darts and shuffleboard and it will easily become a popular hangout.

We had a great vacation full of fun for our entire family!

Room Tip: Definitely get a room by the beach. You may be in and out of it all the time like we were. We opted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This resort is for families with small kids. There are kids everywhere, the adult pool is non existant, kids there too, the swim up bar, also packed with small kids. The pools where ok, but I was watching when they made drinks, glasses not cleaned properly and numerous times I saw bees get mixed in the blender when making drinks. Food was ok. Resort was ok. Plan on a solid 1 1/2 hour drive to resort from Cancun airport. The rooms were very decent and clean. Air condition was ok. I would definitely rate this hotel a 2 or 3 star. Will never return again. The beach was ok, You could not really swim in the beach, too much coral. The quality of food was just ok, not a hotel I would recommend for rest and relaxation, and the entertainment was very poor.

Room Tip: Get a room closests to the main lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a wonderful hotel in a beautiful location with fantastic, accommodating and friendly staff, amazingly beautiful grounds and good food and drink. However, if you like to be in the thick of things it may not be for you... It's a good location for visiting the ruins at Tulum and Coba and is also close to Xel-Ha and a variety of other parks, attractions and cenotes. Even though you're technically within walking distance of Tulum, you can't get there by walking along the beach or through the national park and certainly not along the road which is a busy dual carriageway. It has a beautiful beach and two great pools so it's a sun seekers paradise but be prepared to sharpen your elbows and get up before the sun if you want to secure a lounger... Some good activities but the Explorer's club was not great for our 10 yr old boy, who found the activities a bit too childish and there should be more to do indoors as that heat and humidity was intense! We loved the Italian restaurant and our son was a regular visitor to the sushi bar - a special mention to the smoothie bar, which was a great addition. The room we had was a deluxe garden view with king sized bed and a zed bed for the boy. It was stylish, comfortable and spacious with a fantastic bathroom and good air conditioning, which we'd have died without! Anything we asked of the staff was met quickly and courteously. It only lost a point because I was disappointed we couldn't walk places but the taxi drivers were fab if a little expensive...

Room Tip: If you like it quiet, forgo the sea view and get a garden view on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez km 236.7, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Tulum
#7 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#12 Family Hotel in Tulum
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#30 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated by Aug 2013, Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa is located on one of the most unique beaches in the Riviera Maya surrounded by lush tropical acres, sugary white sand and magnificent colonial architecture. Just five minutes from Tulum and 30 minutes from Playa del Carmen, Dreams Tulum offers Unlimited-Luxury® with upscale surroundings and combines fun and relaxation with the ancient world of the Maya. Dreams Tulum sits on two miles of powdery white sand with activities to make the whole family happy. And you’re right on the ocean for snorkeling, catamarans, windsurfing, kayaking and jumping on our ocean trampoline. Choose from magnificent dining options featuring eight gourmet, a la carte and one buffet-style restaurant. Dine at the Seaside Grill, an a la carte steak house, enjoy French cuisine in a romantic setting at Bordeaux or visit El Patio for Mexican fare. Six bars, including pool and beach side, are perfect places to make new friends, or just catch up with each other. Perfect your swing at nearby Riviera Maya Golf Club offering complimentary greens fees.New Swimout suites in the hacienda area featuring also a new Adults only section ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Amex, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Tulum Hotel
Dreams Tulum Riviera Maya
Dreams Resort Tulum
Dreams Tulum Mexico
Sunscape Tulum
Dreams Resort Spa Tulum
Dreams Hotel Tulum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.