We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez km 236.7, Tulum 77780, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to $350 Air Credit!
Ranked #28 of 73 hotels in Tulum
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW via mobile

This resort was absolutely fantastic. The service really made this resort incredible, never mind the gorgeous grounds and beautiful pools. We really liked the assortment of restaurants, and the fact that no reservation was required. There is always food available, and if you go, track down the juice/smoothie bar. Our friends got married at this hotel, and they advised us, that working with the wedding planner was easy. It's also a small enough resort, that makes it easy forget big groups to find each other- for instance for this wedding. Relax and enjoy! And don't forget the scuba dive shop located on the beach, on the hotel grounds that wasn't advertised. They were fun and knowledgable and a great way to see the cenotes!!! Amazing!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    209
    99
    43
    16
    9
See reviews for
142
138
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nassau, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Just got back last Saturday from an awesome week at Dreams. Overall the place was wonderful. I would recommend to anyone.

We did have issues when we arrived - had 3 rooms booked and put all in separate buildings but after speaking with front desk - we were all put next to each other.

The grounds and beach are beautiful. I would highly recommend getting a cabana for the day - $55usd and it is well worth it. The beach service was wonderful - Sylvia & Benito and for Bar service Isaul, Christian and Carlos were our favorites!

The food was wonderful and quite the variety. Due to less than 70% capacity not all the restaurants are open everyday also some close due to weddings. So be sure to check out the listing they give you each day before you make plans.

Caught most of the shows at night - they were awesome - I loved the Rock n Roll show (something..Maximus). Be sure to ask for things when you get there. We had preferred club which came with my RCI exchange so I didn't pay extra (really isn't worth the extra cash) but were supposed to get a paper, mini bar service etc. Make sure you tell them you want a paper everyday and minibar service everyday. Otherwise mini bar every other day and no paper at all. Otherwise couldn't have asked for a better vacation.

On a separate note...they offer $250 in free spa certifications for listening to the Vacation Club speil they always give. We were told 1.5 hours and then it lasted 3 hours. Also the people were very MEAN afterwards when we didn't puchase - even though we told them ahead of time we were not purchasing. VERY PUSHY!! Spa is wonderful but would NOT do that again if you paid me!! The spa was very relaxing but not worth the hassle of going to vacation club meeting. Pay for it on your own-it's worth it.

The one thing I would NOT recommend is buying anything from the plaza market when they set up or at least bargin bargin bargin for the lowest price. I did get ripped off on a ring I purchased. Paid almost double what it was worth could have bought the same thing at Walmarts for 1/2 the price. SO BUYER BEWARE!! But that really doesn't have anything to do with Dreams... Just a little side note for everyone!

Room Tip: We had room 6212, 6215 & 6216 - Ocean Front View - Jr Suite - It was awesome! HIGHLY RECOMMEND...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
e-dreams, E-Concierge Seve at Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear ChristineG911

We would like to thank you for choosing our resort as your host on your recent getaway to our destination. It was a pleasure having you and we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are very happy to learn that your stay was a pleasant one, and that you were highly satisfied with our service. We have strived to deliver the most memorable experience to our valued guest. We highly appreciate your comments.

I apologize for the inconvenience with the vacation club, and any other bad experience you had during your stay with us.

We sincerely look forward to welcome you back on a future occasion and provide you with the exceptional quality of service that we are known for.

Sincerely,

Seve Oy
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
info.dretu@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

What a beautiful place, what can you say when there is nothing bad to say. Our rooms looked over the gardens and where on the ground floor and our daughters room was next door. They was of an excellent standard. The beach is beautiful with white golden sand and doing yoga on the beach was great. The time of year we went can have bad weather but we had 14 days of very warm sunny days. The food was great and so was the entertainments. I did personally enjoy taking an iced baileys coffee down to the beach. Great place, beautiful, friendly and very sad to leave.... But you never know we might go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
e-dreams, E-Concierge Seve at Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Joanne C

I would like to thank you for the review of your vacations at Dreams Tulum; it is great to know that you enoyed your stay.

We are glad to read that you highlight the excellent service provided by our staff. We are happy to know that you enjoyed our activities. We will share your comments with all our team.

We look forward to welcome you back at our resort.

SIncerely,

Seve Oy
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
info.dretu@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland, Missouri, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Debbie and I have spent a lot of time vacationing in Mexico. We love the country and always consider it a choice for a vacation. We have stayed in three all inclusive resorts and some fairly modest places too. We do like both, for different reasons. This past September we chose to stay all inclusive and picked Dreams Tulum.
We made the correct choice! The transfer from the airport was a bit long, just over an hour by van, but our driver was pleasant, stopped for drinks and bathroom as needed. The resort welcomed us with friendly greetings and got us a beautiful room with a beach and pool view!
The staff are outstanding, as are the food and drinks. The property is spectacular. And the location was private, small enough to not get lost but big enough to remain secluded if you wanted that.
We will definitely go back!

Room Tip: The cost of the room upgrade is soon forgotten because the views are so wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
e-dreams, E-Concierge Seve at Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Gene P

First of all we would like to thank you for takig the time to share your review with the Tripadvisor community following your vacation at Dreams Tulum.

We are happy to know that you liked our facilities, location and our personalized service.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely

Seve Oy
E-Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
info.dretu@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I spent a wonderful week at this resort and were thoroughly impressed! The grounds are immaculate, service great, and the food is amazing! We had a room without a tub, so I asked for a room with a tub and was moved the next day to a much more spacious suite. The buffet breakfast has everything imaginable, and the a la carte restaurants are wonderful! Our favourite was Portofino--service was superior, and although they drag out the meal, the food is first rate! They'll try to sell you a bottle of wine, but their complimentary house wine is very good. We enjoyed the Seaside Grill for their amazing steak dinner, their Mexican restaurant, as well as eating outside at their French restaurant, Bordeaux. They have an Asian and sushi restaurant, but we didn't try them out. You have to get to all these restaurants by 7:00, though, or you'll have to wait for a table. Be sure to leave a tip for good service. There's also a coffee room called Coco, where you can get snacks, coffees and teas all day, and a burger/pizza station that's open around the pools.

They have 2 pools, but they were both full of kids. We would have preferred one quiet pool. The beach area has a lot of seating area and the service was great. We took a walk down the beach, but it was strewn with garbage that had washed up,and it's not a great beach for swimming because of all the rocks.

I used their spa facility, and had an amazing hot stone massage! They also have a sauna, steam room and hot tub in the spa.

I felt very relaxed in this sprawling resort, but my husband felt a little cooped up. There's no town nearby to walk to, so we took a 10 minute taxi ride into the town of Tulum. It has numerous souvenir shops and small cafés, and we ended up purchasing a hammock. You can also do an excursion to the Tulum ruins, but we didn't go there this time.

They have a well-equipped gym at the end of the property, which we used most days, and a tennis court. There's also a walking path around the perimeter of the property.

There were several weddings going on throughout the week, and they close off certain restaurants and pool areas each time, which is very inconvenient. Overall, however, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here in 2013. My husband, myself and 4 of our kids ages 17, 15, 11 and 6. The hotel was wonderful. Very clean, delicious foods, wonderful childrens program, awesome pool and best of all great staff.
We had requested an adjoin room for our kids and got exactly what we requested.
The only thing I would say was a negative was the location of the hotel was over an hour drive. So if you are planning on staying here for 3 nights, its not worth the drive.
Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We chose Dreams Tulum for our destination wedding based on reviews and its reputation as a destination wedding resort. Hospitality in the resort lives up to its 5 star reputation, almost every staff we met greeted us warmly, with the exception of some miscommunication during dining experiences. The food is a bit over seasoned to our liking but the variety of restaurants ensures that you can always find something to enjoy.

We especially recommend the services of the wedding coordinator, in our case it was Natalia who was quick to respond to our emails and worked out the details and tended to our specific requests from decorations to food to needing specific items for our party games. Even after we had our wedding, every time we crossed paths on resort grounds, she would always greet us warmly and have quick chats. We hired an external wedding photographer but our wedding package included photography and video services, so we took advantage of that and asked them to focus their shots on our guests. The photos turned out great and we ended up purchasing the digital copies at discount.

My wife has lactose sensitivity but that was not a worry during this trip because the hotel cafe offered lactose-free, soy, rice, almond, and regular 2% and non-fat milk options, which was great! Friends with gluten sensitivity can also be relieved to know they label menu options with vegetarian and gluten-free alternatives.

A note about the beach: as expected it is more rocky. Our friends attempted to snorkel but was taken back due to shallow waters and rocky bottom, where one of our friends scraped their knee. On the other hand, the hotel has a wide array of daytime and evening activities that caters to all kinds of interests, from dance lessons, to volleyball tournaments to Spanish class, rock shows and more.

A tip for those who are dining with more than 4 people in a group, GO TO THE restaurants early and be the first in the queue to ensure you can get seated together. As many reviewers pointed out, the restaurants don't take reservations, so in our case where on one occasion, our group of 30+ successfully all took seating in the French restaurant which had a capacity of 44, because we were there early, like 15 minutes before the restaurants open for dinner.

The only thing we would advise against is the massages. Our wedding package included a 50 minute couple Swedish massage. The staff were extremely attentive but the massages were not up to par, it just didn't hit the pressure points and give you the feeling that makes you go "that hits the spot". However, we did enjoy the Jacuzzi and the refreshing drinks and snacks served.

Room Tip: If you want to be closer to the beach, try to get a room with a number that starts with a higher num...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa

Also Known As:
Dreams Tulum
Dreams Tulum Hotel
Dreams Tulum Resort Spa
Dreams Tulum Resort
Dreams Tulum Riviera Maya
Dreams Resort Tulum
Dreams Tulum Mexico
Sunscape Tulum
Dreams Resort Spa Tulum
Address: Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez km 236.7, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Tulum
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Tulum
#28 Best Value Hotel in Tulum
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated by Aug 2013, Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa is located on one of the most unique beaches in the Riviera Maya surrounded by lush tropical acres, sugary white sand and magnificent colonial architecture. Just five minutes from Tulum and 30 minutes from Playa del Carmen, Dreams Tulum offers Unlimited-Luxury® with upscale surroundings and combines fun and relaxation with the ancient world of the Maya. Dreams Tulum sits on two miles of powdery white sand with activities to make the whole family happy. And you’re right on the ocean for snorkeling, catamarans, windsurfing, kayaking and jumping on our ocean trampoline. Choose from magnificent dining options featuring eight gourmet, a la carte and one buffet-style restaurant. Dine at the Seaside Grill, an a la carte steak house, enjoy French cuisine in a romantic setting at Bordeaux or visit El Patio for Mexican fare. Six bars, including pool and beach side, are perfect places to make new friends, or just catch up with each other. Perfect your swing at nearby Riviera Maya Golf Club offering complimentary greens fees.New Swimout suites in the hacienda area featuring also a new Adults only section ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Splendia, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Amex, Venere, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.