We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our best decisions” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Don Diego de la Selva

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Don Diego de la Selva to your Saves list
Don Diego de la Selva
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Tulum - Mza 24 Lote 03 | a 1 km de la estacion de autobuses ADO, rumbo a Chetumal, Tulum 77780, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 77 Hotels in Tulum
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
“One of our best decisions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

We stayed for two days in a room at a good rate - air conditioning, a private outdoor deck with hammock, comfy bed, hot water in our private bathroom. It wasn't their most expensive room, but it was excellent in every way. Each space feels private, though it's the kind of spot where you end up at least briefly chatting with other visitors (if you want to).

The bathroom is clean and the shower is good - plenty of hot water. The bed was comfy. We slept like babies.
The food was good, and the staff were always friendly and helpful when we had questions. The pool is a lovely way to pause between a hot day and a relaxing dinner. The food is good, but there are lots of food options close by so you've got options.

We found the place was extremely quiet, even though it's close to the town's bustle.
If you are without a car, the walk into town may be a bit long especially at night. With a car, though, this hotel couldn't be better. If you don't have wheels, you can easily rent a bicycle. It's extremely safe and lots of visitors were around on two wheels. This town is a great place to get around on a bike. You can ride to the beach during the day, ride out to restaurants at night. The hotel/inn is a good launching spot for all of that.

This is a good spot if you're not the kind of person who wants an all-inclusive hotel. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    104
    18
    8
    2
See reviews for
68
193
17
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011 via mobile

The Don Diego is a lovely hotel, the room was spacious and had a hammock on the terrace. There is also a nice pool and we ate at the restaurant for one night and it was very tasty food. However, the location is a bit strange, its in a quieter part of Tulum down a dirt track. We just walked down the road towards the Ado bus station where there are more restaurants and shops, but its very easy to get a taxi if you want to for about 20 pesos, which is only £1. Don't go down to the beach at night though, we got a taxi hoping to find a nice restaurant down there but its a long drive and the roads are unlit, we were worried about not being able to get a taxi back so we turned around, much to the confusion of our taxi driver!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Deigo de la seva is a lovely hotel and well worth a stay. It has a nice homely feel to it with a restaurant and an excellent pool area.
The rooms are spacious and clean with a nice terrace complete with hammock. The place is a family run hotle and the personal service you get is second to none. No matter what you ask of them they ar eonly too happy to help you and I must say I felt like a very valued customer.
Okay, there are no TVs in the rooms but there would be something wrong with you if you went to Tulum to watch TV! There are no safety boxes either but you can leave your stuff in the hotel safe if you want. Bring bug repellent as there are a fair few mosquitoes outside butt he hotel cant be blamed for that!
The hotel is on the soughern edge of Tulum town about 10 mins walk from the shops, bars and restauarnts so it is quiet enough and ideal for people with young families or couples. The beach is about 4 km away but taxis are cheap, the ruins are about 2km.
It is pricey enough but for the comfort you receive and the quality of service...its worth it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011 via mobile

Perfect location, lovely rooms with terrace, caring owner and personnel, delicious food, great tips on what to do in the area... We really enjoyed staying there. This truly is the best spot of the Riviera Maya, for those who whish something different from the standardised resorts.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

We stayed there for a week and enjoyed every minute. We had hoped to spend the last two nights at their sister establishment Don Diego de la Playa but that has recently been taken over and closed. However, Charles and his staff made up for it. The rooms are large, clean and airy, opening onto a large terrace. The swimming pool was a good size and well used by us and no-one else it seemed. The restaurant is good but Mexican it is not. However, there is a fantastic fish restaurant just across the main road.

Tulum Pueblo has virtually everything you could need in terms of services but lacks a bit of charm. However, the beach area more than makes up for that. A car is recommended but bicycles or the ubiquitous local taxis will do.

The hotel more than makes up for the lack of charm however. It was best summed up by the admirable Sabrina when asked if we could do something "why not, its your home".

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

We went there to spend the weekend with our kids, a medium size mutt and a cocker spaniel pup. The rooms are spacious enough to leave them there if you want to have a peaceful meal. Carlos, the owner, informed us we were welcome to release them and let them run free in the hotel. Fantastic! so we did. He does have a dog of his own, but she is very friendly and if she doesn't like your pet she will go upstairs and won't come around. At night we decided to walk our dogs in the garden and picked up after them. During the day we just walked them around the block.

The hotel had a very nice skylight in the bathroom! The room had dead bugs when we checked in, which actually made us glad since it meant they do fumigate, but when we returned they were not there anymore :)

We had a wonderful stay and will certainly go back whenever we bring our kids to Tulum!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wavre, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

Very Nice place even tough a bit lost from the center. Well situated in nice exotic garden with very nice spacious rooms with a terrase and hamac. Nice Swimming pool close to the restaurant (very good food but not for every day). We stayed there one night but could have been two...Very good to visist Tulum early in the day (with less tourist and nice "cool" weather.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Don Diego de la Selva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Diego de la Selva

Address: Calle Tulum - Mza 24 Lote 03 | a 1 km de la estacion de autobuses ADO, rumbo a Chetumal, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#9 Family Hotel in Tulum
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Don Diego de la Selva 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don Diego de la Selva, ideally located at the south end of Tulum, was in 2005 the first nice hotel in the village of Tulum, offering to the visitors an alternative to the beachfront cabañas. 10 large rooms with AC, private bathroom and own terrace.Free wi-fi, 24 hours electricity, swimming-pool and friendly atmosphere!Small bar, delicious homemade breakfast and gourmet restaurant : el PaladanteWelcome ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Don Diego de la Selva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Diego De La Selva Hotel Tulum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Diego de la Selva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.