We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our romantic honeymoon getaway was 5 stars!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mezzanine Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mezzanine Hotel to your Saves list
Mezzanine Hotel
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   km 2 Carretera Tulum-Punta Allen, Tulum 77780, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 80 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Our romantic honeymoon getaway was 5 stars!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

In short: A wonderful hotel, with amazing service & restaurant, private beach, and a chic European quality (minus pretentiousness!)

My husband and I just came back from staying at The Mezzanine, which was the chosen destination for our honeymoon. Having been to Mexico when I was a youngster, I did not know what exactly to anticipate from Tulum, as well as Mezzanine. I am used to European chic, comfort, and style, which I wasn't hoping to find in Mexico, at a beach town, in the middle of the jungle. How wrong I was!

First of all, the hotel is really beautifully designed. It is actually very pretty, comfortable and modern. Most of the hotels in Tulum are cabana-inspired creations, which are a little too rustic for my taste. Mezzanine was a perfect mix of Mediterranean & Carribean. I LOVED its location most of all - away from the busy (and expensive!) hotel row, yet equidistant to the town of Tulum as the rest of the hotels. Mezzanine is located at the beginning of a beautiful beach, shared only by a small handful of hotels. What I really liked about Mezzanine's service was their offering of free water, beach towels, bicycles to ride, water equipment (kayak, snorkels, etc.) Although we didn't have AC, the fans worked beautifully all night long (key word - electricity all night!) The views were spectacular from our room, and probably every room in the hotel - the layout is really good!

Upon our arrival we were given free margaritas (bestest in town!) and promptly checked into our honeymoon suite! Ordering from their Thai restaurant was never a dull moment - the food rivals some of the best NYC restaurants! Even of you don't end up staying at Mezzanine, at least go there once for dinner (or breakfast, or lunch), you will be very happy. Prices are incredibly affordable and the freshness of food can't be rivaled.

Haha, I hope I don't sound like I work there :)

Overall, the hotel provided exactly what I wanted - a chic environment, a beautiful beach, killer food, and lovely service. If we wanted to get away, it was easy & we just hopped on our bikes & rode to town, or checked out cabanas on the hotel row.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    61
    20
    5
    3
See reviews for
26
312
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

Mezzanine is a chic boutique hotel located on a beautiful beach. The food, staff and service are excellent. The rooms are great with fantastic views. I would live there if I could!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraMezzanine, Manager at Mezzanine Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2010
Thank you for your nice comments. We hope you are able to visit us again in the very near future.

Saludos desde el hermoso Tulum!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, Palm Beach Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

We were in Tulum October 14-18th and stayed at Mezzanine. Not true that they are closed!!!!! This is my favorite hotel in Tulum. Mezzanine has the best location and vibe in Tulum. We stayed in one of the master suites and it was so chic, with a beautiful view of the sea. The staff are so nice and always smiling. The food is wonderful. We are going back for Thanksgiving.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraMezzanine, Manager at Mezzanine Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great contribution.. Glad you will be back soon,we are looking forward to it!

Hasta pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londres
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

We tried to book and called but they told us it was closed for refurbishment for two weeks even though their website was still taking bookings. We stayed at a nearby hotel and sow Mezzanine had been sealed shout by local authorities. They were big signs saying closed for environmental reasons.

We also read on tripadvisor over recent police raid but we can't find any references to this on the website.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraMezzanine, Owner at Mezzanine Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2010
Mezzanine is now open again, from September 3rd, so please come and enjoy the best that Tulum has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

Sophistication in Tulum! The rooms are amazing. The food is excellent. I took a late day beautiful snorkeling trip under the moon right from the beach in front of the hotel,

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraMezzanine, Manager at Mezzanine Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2010
We appreciate you have shared your experience with others, and look forward to welcoming you back to Mezzanine soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

I stayed in room 6 and felt right at home the moment I stepped in there..! What a beautiful room with up to date and sereen, buddha influenced interiour design. The room is cosy, spacious, airy and I loved the open interiour which allows you to set privacy standard by leaving open or closing the curtain to shower & bathroom area. If you are a couple this is an intimate and romantic way to spend your stay in a lovely hotel. There are wooden shutter windows which have something authentic and allow a lovely natural breeze and scent of the sea into the room to wake you up in the mornings. After that you open your frontdoor to be greeted by a fresh pot of fresh coffee to help you ease into a beautiful sunny day! I loved everyone of the staff. They definitly enjoy they're work and put in the effort to make you feel at home. I actually got to know them all by name! It really did feel like home from home! Lucio, Fili and colleagues serving you from the restaurant area with a big smile, Pech, Papatzul and colleagues shaking up the best cocktails I've tasted (and I travel a lot!) and manager Laura and Roxana are two wonderful supervisors whom are always happy to have a chat, help you out with any request and make your stay even more unforgetable!

I can go on and on and give Mezzanine and it's staff the appreciation it deserves, but I then I would be better off writing a book, I am that positive about my stay :) !

So I would recommend Mezzanine to anyone that enjoys, beautiful beaches (that sometimes you will even find yourself being the only person on the whole day), great Thai food in the Mezz restaurant area, cocktails, Friday night parties and lounge Sundays with international DJ for some relaxation and ofcourse romantic time with partner in and around the Tulum area. The Cenotes and Ruins are definitly a must see and do activity.

I will be back very soon!!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraMezzanine, Manager at Mezzanine Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2010
Thank you so much for your wonderfull and detailed contribution.
Your candor has provided our team with a new energy and effervescence toward exceeding our guest’s expectations.

Looking forward to your next visit,

Laura & the Mezzanine team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

The location is secluded and perfect for a romantic getaway. We've been to Mezzanine three times and it continues to shine. The thai restaurant is our favorite place to eat in Tulum. Totally chill, except Friday night when there's a DJ and dancing. Be prepared to stay up!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraMezzanine, Manager at Mezzanine Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2010
Thanks a lot for your comments which serve us as and inspiration.

We look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Mezzanine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mezzanine Hotel

Address: km 2 Carretera Tulum-Punta Allen, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#17 Family Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mezzanine Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Slip into the ultimate Mexican Caribbean beach vacation at stylish Mezzanine; a true contemporary Tulum boutique hotel experience with an authentic Thai restaurant and hip martini lounge. Found along Mexico's stunning Riviera Maya, just 30 minutes south of Playa del Carmen, unconventional, unexpected and ultra-cool, Mezzanine is the ideal Tulum hotel option for beach vacationers looking to experience the natural beauty of Mexico's Caribbean coastline from a minimalist and elegant setting.Expect the unexpected at Mezzanine. Come to Tulum for the white sand beaches, the Mayan ruins and the jungle adventures, stay at Mezzanine for the smooth grooves, hot fiestas, crisp cocktails and the stylish, hipster vibe. This is an adults only hotel. Children are permitted in the restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Mezzanine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mezzanine Hotel Tulum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mezzanine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.