We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, Excellent Service in an AMAZING setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mezzanine Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tulum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mezzanine Hotel
Save Saved
You added Mezzanine Hotel to your Saves list
km 2 Carretera Tulum-Punta Allen, Tulum 77780, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 76 Hotels in Tulum
Boston
1 review
“Beautiful Hotel, Excellent Service in an AMAZING setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband and I just got back from our trip to Tulum and we had three wonderful nights at Mezzanine. We stayed in a ocean view room and had a magnificent view and loved falling asleep every night to the sound of the waves. The beach that the hotel is on is lovely and a very close walk to ruins and easy cab or bike ride to the pueblo.

We enjoyed cocktails and appetizers every day on the patio and woke up every morning to the delicious coffee that is left for you outside your door topped off with a scrumptious breakfast we could not have asked for more however, the service, especially Gil gave Mezzanine that extra personal touch that you don't get at every hotel. Not only will we back in Tulum but we will be staying again at Mezzanine and have reccommended it to friends who are going in the future.

Thank you for a wonderful trip!!
Remy and Deborah

Room Tip: We stayed in an ocean view have a view and the sound of the ocean is definately worth the extra splu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    50
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
21
241
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Marcos, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have come to Tulum for our first visit ever. We are working at a local tattoo shop for a "working vacation" and we have eaten at Mezzanine twice. We are staying at hostal Chalupa (which is HIGHLY recommended) so I can't say anything about staying here but as far as the restaurant it is great. They have a great tequila and Mezcal selection and some of the best beach access in the world. Seriously, the turquoise and azure waters are nothing like I have ever seen. Most places ate beautiful here in Tulum but this one stands out so I figured that I'd recommend it to other travelers.

Salud,

Brandon

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had such a nice stay here. Its located on a beautiful beach and has spectacular views of the ocean. The rooms are big and the bed is really comfy. My only negative comment is that the coffee served in the basket by the door in the mornings was cold. It would have been better getting free coffee at the restaurant in the morning. However, the staff was so nice and helpful so we had a great stay:)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I did not stay here, but feel I need to comment...we went here twice for drinks and the service and drinks were great!! But what I really appreciate is the fact that I left my credit card there one night and I went back the next day, and they had it waiting for me!! Thanks!!
PS-the rosemary mint margarita is to die for!!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulum, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I stayed at Mezzanine for 2 weeks and it was absolutely first class all the way.
The room was clean and spacious and I was a 10 second walk away from one of the most beautiful beaches I had ever seen.
The restaurant was exceptionally good too. Authentic thai curries to an awesome gourmet burger, i enjoyed every meal i had there.
I would definitely recommend Mezzanine to anyone looking for that paradise chilled holiday and I hope to return there next year for another vacation ;)

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezManager, Manager at Mezzanine Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
We feel flattered with your amazing comments, it was nice to have you with us, we hope to see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I booked in to the seaview room no 4 for one night and were greeted by wonderful reception staff and a welcome margarita. We could not stop grinning, the room was beyond perfect with amazing styling and linen, even had Molten Brown products in the bathroom! The location is perfect being right on the beach and 20 minutes walking along the sand to the ruins. They also have an amazing Thai restaurant run by a Thai chef and they also serve a few other options of Mexican and western dishes as well. Their breakfasts we're amazing, you have to try their Eggs Benedict and their fresh fruit juices too. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, we had such an amazing time we stayed two more nights and I also came back the following week for another night. Every Friday they also hold a party with DJ's from Ibiza...the best dancing I have had in a couple of years. I guarantee if you stay here you will have a truly amazing time...

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezManager, Manager at Mezzanine Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your amazing comments and for sharing your pictures, we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

I couldn't say enough positive things about our stay at Mezzanine. I first visited Mezzanine during a trip to Tulum 7 years ago. I was staying in some Cabañas closer to the ruins but we always went to Mezzanine for their 2 for 1 Margaritas happy hour (which still exists). It was always on my mind to stay there upon returning to Tulum and I'm so glad we did. This time around I went with my husband and we stayed in room Sea View 1. The bed was huge and comfortable and the room was spacious. Although there was no AC (as is common in that area), the room was so breezy and comfortable. I'd much rather be cooled by a Caribbean breeze over fake air anyways! The area of the beach that surrounds Mezzanine is my favorite in all of Tulum. It's so clean/clear and effortless to go for a swim. Powdery white sand and turquoise water...it doesn't get any better. It was also nice to be walking distance to the Tulum ruins and many great restaurants. We ended up eating at Mezzanine's restaurant more often than not as the food was SO GOOD! Some of my favorites are: Pad Thai, Spinach Gorgonzola Salad, Fish Tacos and so many others...delicious fresh squeezed juices and drinks too. On Friday they have a great party with performances and worldly DJ's. Great fun crowd, we had a blast. Aside from the beauty and other amenities, my favorite part of Mezzanine is the vibe. The staff is so cool and helpful, without ever being pushy (something I hate at big resorts). They genuinely get to know you and help make your vacation amazing. Gil and Maggie went above and beyond for us, hope to see them next time!

Some other "must see" suggestions for Tulum:

Chichen Itza: the trip organized by Mezzanine was great...only 6 people in our tour group and we stopped at a Cenote (another must) and small Mexican town for lunch (delicious and authentic).

La Zebra on Sunday: Also good food and a really fun Salsa dance party .

Pueblo: Great for souvenir shopping and to get a realistic glimpse of everyday life in Tulum.

We can't wait to go back, LOVE this place :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezManager, Gerente at Mezzanine Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
We feel very flattered with your amazing comments. Look forward to your return! Hasta Pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mezzanine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mezzanine Hotel

Address: km 2 Carretera Tulum-Punta Allen, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#23 Family Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Slip into the ultimate Mexican Caribbean beach vacation at stylish Mezzanine; a true contemporary Tulum boutique hotel experience with an authentic Thai restaurant and hip martini lounge. Found along Mexico's stunning Riviera Maya, just 30 minutes south of Playa del Carmen, unconventional, unexpected and ultra-cool, Mezzanine is the ideal Tulum hotel option for beach vacationers looking to experience the natural beauty of Mexico's Caribbean coastline from a minimalist and elegant setting.Expect the unexpected at Mezzanine. Come to Tulum for the white sand beaches, the Mayan ruins and the jungle adventures, stay at Mezzanine for the smooth grooves, hot fiestas, crisp cocktails and the stylish, hipster vibe. This is an adults only hotel. Children are permitted in the restaurant. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mezzanine Hotel Tulum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mezzanine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.