We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suenos Tulum

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Suenos Tulum to your Saves list
Suenos Tulum
Carret Tulum - Boca Paila | Zona hotelera Km 8.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 77 Hotels in Tulum
Boston, MA
1 review
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2008

We've stayed at Suenos twice. In 2005 there was a mix up with our reservations at Azulik which ended up being the best thing that could have happened because it led us to Suenos. We had a great 3 day stay. The beach is beautiful, George, Elizabeth and Allen could not have been nicer to us. Views from the room were great. We talked about our time at Suenos so much that my entire family booked a vacation there in 2006. All 9 of us had a great time. Everyone loved the hotel. We were planning a return trip until we learned that Suenos had closed. We didn't even consider staying somewhere else in Tulum. Can't wait to go back now that it has re-opened!

Stayed January 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    21
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
42
103
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2008

Suenos Tulum just reopened after some legal action and repair from the hurricane. It is truly an amazing place, breathtaking views and the most lovely hosts, George and Elizabeth and their beautiful family. I cannot express enough how beautiful this place is and how wonderful George and Elizabeth are. GO NOW before the rest of the world discovers it!!!

  • Liked — The views, the beach, the tranquility!
  • Disliked — no electricity during the day, so no fan
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Charles, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2008

My wife and I stayed at Suenos two years ago. The location was heaven on earth. The beach was breathtaking. The night sky was straight out of a fairy tale. The room was simple but exactly as expected for a palapa in an eco resort in Tulum. George and Elizabeth were perfect hosts. If you need a TV or cell phone, this is not for you. If you want romance with only the ocean breeze and waves crashing a stone throw from your room, this is the place.

My understanding is they closed as a result of an illegal attempt to take over their property. It was a shame to see that happen. Looks like good prevailed over evil in the long run.

George and Elizabeth's artistic talent is found throughout the property. Each unit has a personal touch. We can’t wait to return.

  • Liked — The beach
  • Disliked — fan turned off during day
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2008

Last month I started to look for a hotel in the Tulum area. We had previously been at Suenos about two years ago and heard the terrible news they had been close. One day I was browsing and heard the news they we re-opened. I immediately sent a e-mail to them to see what was going on, and if it was true.
([--])

They told me they were back on track and we decided to see it for ourselves! As we got there, we were talking about our past experience and how much we had liked it.

The place is wonderful! I couldn't believe how fast everything got back together. The place looks great. There is new energy circulating the area. I hope I will be back soon! It is an incredible place with such a special treat. Staff is wonderful and the beach is incredible!

  • Liked — everything
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2006

My wife and I visited Tulum in February, we stayed at Suenos for 3 nights in a ground floor (?) room. Our overall experience was very good. This was our first visit to Suenos and our first trip together without our children in quite some time so a lot was riding on it if you know what I mean.

We used this website to do some research about Tulum and Suenos and now that we've visited can say that most of what you read hear is accurate and gives you a realistic idea of what to expect. That is to say in Tulum you certainly can find some elegant accomodations and restaurants if you are looking and some shops in town carry higher end goods but there are a lot more rustic, unsophisticated shops and lodgings that give it the laid back, undeveloped reputation you might have heard about.

As for Suenos specifically, we enjoyed it overall. Our room did not have an ocean view which was a surprice but we got over it quickly. We enjoyed the food, loved the beach and found the staff to be helpful and friendly.

We would return to Tulum and Suenos. Happy trails.

  • Liked — Beach, privacy, staff
  • Disliked — no ocean view from our room
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2006

Suenos was just beautiful and truly relaxing. The staff is wonderful especially Alan. This resort is in Tulum and is quaint and easy going. Remember it is an eco resort, so if this is not for you I would heald to Playa Del Carmen. The beach is gorgeous and the beach beds make for perfect relaxing. All the food we had was great. The rooms were unique and always clean. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2006

There were things I loved about Suenos and things I didn't like at all. The view was gorgeous from our room, we stayed in the master suite. The ceiling fan was very efficient. The beach was incredible and smooth.

Unfortunately we had problems with our toliet. It wouldn't flush, then it would run and overflow. The manager and the plumber supposely checked it many times but we were stuck using the community bathroom most of the time. Like another reviewer, I found that the cleaning staff did not clean the sand on the floors and we ended up with endless sand in our bed.

We also had the same situation as the other reviewer, our rooms flooded through the sliding doors the 2 days it rained. I have a feeling we were in the same room as the other reviewer because we were on the 3rd floor and our toliet didn't work either. That would be really unfortunate if they hadn't fixed the toliet yet.

I think a lot of the small eco lodges are like this but it made us a little nervous that someone was not there in the late evening. Our cell phones did not work in Tulum and it made us nervous if there was to be an emergency.

Unfortunately we would not stay at Suenos again.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Suenos Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suenos Tulum

Address: Carret Tulum - Boca Paila | Zona hotelera Km 8.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#7 Family Hotel in Tulum
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUEÑOS TULUM is a 12 suite totally ecological solar powered beachfront hotel, built in a uniquely natural and mystical place, right on Tulum beach;one and a half hours south of Cancun International airport. This Mayan retreat was created to preserve the surrounding magic and feel of the area. WELCOME TO OUR DREAMOur resort was built with much love and dedication, Greatly influenced by Mayan prehispanic art.Each building is a work of art,sculped to represent the Mayan gods surrounding the hotel with will make you feel the magic of our wonder culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Suenos Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suenos Tulum Hotel Tulum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suenos Tulum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.