We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Fabulous Italian restaurant, beautiful Italian hotel”” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Margherita

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tulum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Posada Margherita
Save
You added Posada Margherita to your Saves list
Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila Km. 4,5, Tulum, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 65 Tulum B&B and Inns
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
““Fabulous Italian restaurant, beautiful Italian hotel””
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

We went with all our family for dinner while we were staying at the hotel, ten of us including four children aged 13 to 4, and had a wonderful meal. It is Italian cuisine but very refined and special. Our host was an Italian like some of us, and absolutely charming, as were all his staff. I would recommend this restaurant and the hotel very highly!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    44
    20
    14
    19
See reviews for
57
292
19
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Steamboat Springs, CO
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

I traveled to Posada Margherita with my boyfriend and his family in April of 2012. I have traveled to several places in Mexico but this was unlike any other area I had been (including Cozumel and Playa del Carmen, also located in Quintana Roo). The atmosphere that the staff and amenities provide at Posada Margherita are beyond relaxing and fun. The beach was absolutely breathtaking and the water tempurature was always inviting with mild waves perfect for swimming. The bungalos are humble and comfortable but the only time we spent in there was at night before bed and when we experienced a quick rainshower in the morning. Angie helped us plan our excursions and was very sweet and informative. The staff as a whole was very friendly and welcoming, always asking how they could make our stay more comfortable. It was easy to get around: by foot or by taxi. We spent many days exlporing up and down the beach and made several visits back to Retiro Maya (located just a few hotels down), mostly for the hospitality and converstation with the bartender, Armando. Make sure you go in and ask for him and say hello to the owner which we nicknamed "Abuelo". The spot that won our vote for the best food was Matteo's, located in the next hotel strip over with refreshing fruit drinks, to-die-for steak, and succulent coconut shrimp! It is true, they have the "best fish tacos on earth"! This trip was fun and easy, which is something to appreciate about a vacation when all you want to do is relax. Tulum is a beautiful "final frontier" of the peaceful beach resort atmosphere of Mexico and I found myself wondering "Where all the tourists where?" based on my past experiences in Mexico. Do yourself a favor and spend a week at Posada Margherita, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corsham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

This is a lovely boutique/eco hotel and restaurant opening onto a perfect white sandy beach. It's run by Italians so perhaps there's no surprise that it has such an amazing relaxed vibe. The staff and service were excellent.
We had a large room with a balcony & roof terrace - no excuse not to relax.
We had some delicious food. The breakfasts were very tasty and huge. I particularly enjoyed the spicy omelette and eggs in the hole. As you would expect from Italians, the coffee was exceptionally good.
My wife and I spent our last 4 nights of a month in Mexico and, albeit expensive for us, was the perfect end to a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middletown nj
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

My family and I just returned from 8 days at Posada Margherita. Its a small property immaculately kept with exceptional personal service. We stayed in room 5, its sleeps 5 adults comfortably. Lots of space for all us! The loft has a great patio off it with lots of sun, and the main room has a balcony with chairs in the shade, perfect. The housekeeping staff is amazing! We were greeted by a sculpture of towel animals everday. Theres is no need for air-conditioning, between the fan and all the windows it was very cool.
The restaurant of course was fantastic. We had breakfast everyday, the portions were very large (i could never finish mine). We had dinner twice, the pasta is delicious. Margheritas, beer, tequila, and the best pina coladas!
the beach is perfectly maintained with great lounging beds and plenty of shade when you need it. Posada provides large thick towels everyday. There are boogie boards you can use also. The beach is so beautiful with a constant cooling breeze.
I really loved the lounging areas around the restaurant with hanging lights when the sun goes down. Lovely and relaxing.
The staff were were great. Angie and Eber, Francesca and Lorenzo, and Alessandro all made us feel welcome and special.
as for tulum - we had no problem catching a cab by just standing out front. For the most part we paid between 40 - 50 pesos to get into the busier part of the beach strip. theres an atm at the small grocery that we used multiple times, it was the only one that worked. 60pesos to get into downtown tulum. (we only went once)
we loved matteos for lunch and dinner! not the cheapest place but the food was great and the service even better! el assandro is a must for the best steak i have ever eaten.
we did xel ha which was super fun. kinda like a disney fish bowl. all inclusive was great because we love tequila and beer!
coba ruins were interesting, posada set us up with a car very reasonably priced and he sat in the parking lot til we were finished.
the best was the jeep tour. angie hooked us up, it was expensive, $100pp but what a fantastic day! We all agreed our stay was perfect!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Posada Margherita in Feb, 2012 before picking up our girls from their high school Mexican programs in Cancun. The room was cozy, romantic, one of the most comfortable beds I've slept in. The Hotel is centrally located - - walking distance from restaurants, shops and ruins in Tulum. We rented a car and explored the area - - all the ruins sights, beaches, cenotes, etc. The breakfast was excellent, dinner simply amazing and there was always coffee/tea available. It was one of the most incredibly relaxing vacations ever ! Highly recommended for couples wanting a romantic, low key mini-break. Would definitely come back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

The Hotel at Posada Margherita is one of our favorites anywhere and, in Tulum, it doesn't get any better than this. Immaculate, beautifully decorated, lovely rooms, amazing location and within walking distance to shopping, sights, and the good restaurants . Wonderful service, attention to detail, and exceptional breakfast, lunch and dinner. We couldn't recommend an establishment any more than Posada Margherita !

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We discovered this restaurant on another review site, and not wanting to go to any fancy restaurants we made our way here without a reservation not realising how popular this place is.
Having said that we were greeted warmly at the door, we only waited about 5 minutes to be seated and we knew we were in for a treat just watching the interaction with staff and customers in the upstairs bar area.
We were shown to a table on the deck which initially I was disappointed with, but the wait staff made us feel welcome and were very knowledgeable about the menu.
We were offered drinks immediately which gave us time to look over the menu, the four of us love good seafood and we probably over ordered but everything was fresh and very tasty, the seafood pasta and snapper prepared in sea water which I had never had before, and prawns, the flavour was something I will never forget. Great food at an affordable price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada Margherita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Margherita

Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila Km. 4,5, Tulum, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Posada Margherita Tulum
Posada Margherita Hotel Tulum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Margherita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.