We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming in name and nature” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Tulum Boca Paila Km 7, Tulum 77780, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 79 Hotels in Tulum
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Charming in name and nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed here for 5 wonderful days. The hotel is small but has nice grounds and a small pool. We chose it partly because it had a/c but we really didn't't need it as it cools down in the evening. The room was a good size although the bed was just a double. We had a cute little patio which just about afforded us a sea view (even though we didn't pay for one). Breakfast was an extensive choice and always very high quality. The location is glorious - a magnificent beach which is very quiet. It can get a bit windy though! The main boon other than the location is the staff all of whom were incredibly friendly and attentive without being intrusive. I would love to come back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    113
    37
    36
    28
See reviews for
94
228
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venlo, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was a perfect ending of our Mexico trip. A few days of relaxing at the beautiful white beach. Nice and helpful staff. A wonderful bed covered in roses upon arrival in the cabana. One step away from teh beach! The restaurant serves good food, bur a bit pricy. Especcialy since we've been experiencing the cheaper parts in Mexico! But don't let that spoil your stay. Just relax and soke in the experience. Which you can size up to your own needs with a visit to the spa!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Overall great hotel, good service. But be cautious when booking your room. The website implies all the rooms look like the luxury ocean suite. But most likely they will move you to a very average room. It seems like they do this a lot, saving the best rooms for special customers. If all the rooms were renovated to this standard, I would give the hotel a 5 star rating. The restaurant food and service is outstanding. The beach location is perfect.

Confirm with manager on phone which room you are getting exactly.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bsegroup, Manager at Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for your time in review Ana y Jose Tulum, we review our web site and image and description is much clear now.

Look forward to welcome you again

manager
ana y jose tulum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We had a great room, right next to the beach, which looks just like it does in the photos. Restaurant good, although was v crowded one night of the 4 nights we stayed still no problem getting a table. Breakfast great too. Concierge helpful booking snorkelling trips. Overall great place. Even though dance festival going on down near the ruins there was no problems sleeping

Room Tip: Bungalow between the pool and beach is a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bsegroup, Manager at Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
For your time in review our Hotel we thank you so much, hope that you can return with us soon...

Manager
Ana y Jose Tulum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the truly charming Ana y Jose Hotel this past weekend. I stayed in the Encantada suite which only became available due to a cancellation. The room was spectacular, exactly what you see pictured on the website. We had a balcony overlooking the beach with a hammock and two lounge chairs, which were great for afternoon hanging. Falling asleep and waking up to the sound of waves was a very special experience. The beach offers top quality lounge chairs and privacy and the staff was very attentive. The breakfast and lunch were delicious, and the menus were high scale with very reasonable prices. The location on the beach is central and we were able to walk and check out many of the other hotels in the area. I can say without a doubt that Ana y Jose is by far the nicest hotel in Tulum and I cannot wait to book my next trip!

Room Tip: Splurging to reserve one of the suites (we stayed in Encantada) is definitely worth it. You will hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bsegroup, Manager at Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hello Rebecca, it is very nice to hear that you had a great time with us, we´ll love to welcome you again at "Encantada" Suite.

Manager
Ana y Jose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Total paradise in Tulum and the hotel was fantastic. Great service and the beach and the water/ocean was just like coming to Paradise. A big thanks to all the staff and the Manager. I hope I get the chance to return one day :-)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bsegroup, Manager at Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We are so happy to hear that you love Tulum and our service, we do our job with our hart, and all of us will be please to welcome you again...

Management
Ana y Jose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendover, Uk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We booked four nights through our travel agent (Audley Travel, UK) and were allocated Jose, one of the four large suites sharing a secluded plunge pool and private garden, albeit closest to the highway. The resort is small, so no distance to the Beach, Restaurant etc. Our upstairs suite benefited from an amazing thatched roof, which we loved, although it isn't soundproof to birds, traffic, or the excellent evening live music (on two of our four nights). Good value at about USD 300 per night B+B, which was an early booking offer - despite our stay being on a Mexican holiday weekend. Even though the resort was full, it was never crowded. The restaurant was excellent, although lunch service on the beach could be slow. The only thing not to like was the charge for in-room coffee. We haven't stayed elsewhere in the area, but we wouldn't hesitate to return here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bsegroup, Owner at Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your time in review our hotel, nice to hear that we can see you again...

with love

Ana y Jose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa

Address: Carretera Tulum Boca Paila Km 7, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tulum
#12 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#23 Family Hotel in Tulum
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#30 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lush, tropical vegetation amid the Mayan jungle, emerges Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa © as one of the legendary lodging treats in Tulum, Mexico. Indulge yourself into a calmer pace of vacation where natural treasures await for you. Relax on the white sand beach, swim in the turquoise Caribbean Sea, and enjoy the warm ambiance of this unique hotel thought for people who know what they deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ana y Jose Charming Hotel And Spa
Ana y Jose Charming Hotel Tulum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.