We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Tulum Boca Paila Km 7, Tulum 77780, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 77 Hotels in Tulum
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Total paradise in Tulum and the hotel was fantastic. Great service and the beach and the water/ocean was just like coming to Paradise. A big thanks to all the staff and the Manager. I hope I get the chance to return one day :-)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bsegroup, Manager at Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We are so happy to hear that you love Tulum and our service, we do our job with our hart, and all of us will be please to welcome you again...

Management
Ana y Jose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    105
    34
    34
    27
See reviews for
84
213
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wendover, Uk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We booked four nights through our travel agent (Audley Travel, UK) and were allocated Jose, one of the four large suites sharing a secluded plunge pool and private garden, albeit closest to the highway. The resort is small, so no distance to the Beach, Restaurant etc. Our upstairs suite benefited from an amazing thatched roof, which we loved, although it isn't soundproof to birds, traffic, or the excellent evening live music (on two of our four nights). Good value at about USD 300 per night B+B, which was an early booking offer - despite our stay being on a Mexican holiday weekend. Even though the resort was full, it was never crowded. The restaurant was excellent, although lunch service on the beach could be slow. The only thing not to like was the charge for in-room coffee. We haven't stayed elsewhere in the area, but we wouldn't hesitate to return here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bsegroup, Owner at Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your time in review our hotel, nice to hear that we can see you again...

with love

Ana y Jose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed recently and enjoyed very much but there were a few annoyances. The shower went from scalding to lukewarm in seconds and stayed there, taps etc shoddy and no plug. Excluding the bathroom the room was lovely , very comfortable. We were in Estrella on the beach and it was fine. I imagine at a very busy time it would be noisy as we found the music from the bar intrusive though not a problem, although we could have done without it at 7am. The food was very good, staff friendly and I had the strongest Margarita ever sitting on the beach on the lovely beds. The real bug was being charged for coffee in the room. I admit I did not read the minibar menu as I had no intention of using it and therefore omitted to see coffee was included in that. I have stayed all over the world and that's the first time ever I have paid for coffee in the room. It just felt a bit mean!

Room Tip: Estrella was lovely right on the beach but note above comments re potential noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bsegroup, General Manager at Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your time in review our hotel, we at Ana y Jose offer high quality service and we have available a expresso machine with quality coffee in capsules, the best we find in the market for your enjoy.
All our comments are fill our spirit and we will do our best to get better every time.

We look forward to see you next time in our paradise Tulum.

Ana y Jose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Like others have said in their reviews the rooms you get don't live up to the photos on the website. Blatant false advertising. The room furniture was maybe high quality last century although the bed was comfortable. Cleanliness was not so good and the white radio alarm clock was very stained. The curtains did not cover the windows so don't expect any privacy when you have the lights on. The towels were like tea towels the worst I've ever had in a hotel. Wifi didn't work in the room and had to go outside and no TV in the room which wasn't very good as we had two unexpected days of rain.

We spoke to the staff who were friendly about the situation and they did move us to a newer room which apart from the jacuzzi not working was of a much higher standard but at $US640.00 a night needed to be. Again the staff were good and did not charge for the upgrade.

Breakfast was not very good and the waiter tried convincing me a $US300 corked bottled of wine would be ok if he sieved it.

Think they need to polish up to keep their Trip advisor ****

Tulum beach is beautiful and clean and we walked about 10k of it.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bsegroup, Owner at Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you so much for your time in this review, we at Ana y Jose do our job with love, we are working in getting better our rooms, actually we have just finish remodeling our ocean view rooms, next we will continue with the gardens view.

Is always wonderful to hear that you love our destination.

Ana y Jose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Mmmhh! First time I've ever heard this was at Ana y Jose. Apparently if you book the hotel through a travel agent, they won't give you the rooms that you see on the website. Well, imagine how that went down with my husband and I! We'd never ever heard that before and I honestly thought it was a dodgy excuse.

We booked Ana y Jose in June 2012 for a January 2013 stay through our travel agent. The only way we had of checking what sort of hotel it was, was obviously through their website. We requested an ocean view suite (and paid accordingly) and looked at the pictures of their beautiful suites on the website for months! We we were really looking forward to staying at a nice quaint room with a full ocean view. Unfortunately, when we checked in, they gave us a room that wasn't listed on their website as one of the ocean view suites- called "Luna". This room was pool view, not ocean view. We complained and the excuse they gave us- eventhough our booking said it was an ocean view suite- was that we wouldn't get the same rooms as per website but a lesser category room because we booked the acommodation through a travel agent. The manager told us they reserve the best rooms for the customers that book on the internet with them directly. Wow! What a great way of looking after the travel agents that recommend your place and talk about making customers feel valued. In the end (after waiting for about an hour) they gave us one of the rooms with ocean view called Brisa de Mar. Yes, it had ocean view but it was a smaller suite and the decoration was appropriate for the staff quarters not for paying customers, it was a bit ugly inside in all honesty. They had none of the colours or decoration you'd see on the website. And there wasn't enough room for a couple, you would only have space for one suitcase and it was just not what we were expecting... We had to put up with it because it was high season and they were fully booked and because we had already paid for it.

Anyway, there were a few good things about this hotel, the staff were friendly and tried to help but we would have been happier if we got a room up to the standards we expected. They have a nice turn down service every night, the breakfast was quite good and you're on the beach!

But other than that, I probably wouldn't stay at that particular hotel again, I would try another one in Tulum as there are many hotels on the beach with ocean view suites. (And here is hoping that when they say Ocean View you do get an ocean view room and not a pool view one!)

Room Tip: If you are going to book this hotel get them to tell you which suite you will get and see whether yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bsegroup, Owner at Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Google Translation
Gracias por su tiempo en escribir un comentario sobre ANAYJOSE en TULUM, con gusto vamos a investigar sobre este tema de las reservaciones.
Atentamente
Ana y Jose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

As they say, "Location, Location, Location!"

This hotel is in one of the most beautiful places in Mexico. It has a wonderful staff that is ready to help you with a sincere smile. The rooms are comfortable and have character BUT the prices are way up there for what you get in return.
I would expect 5 star luxuries and amenities is I am paying 5 star prices. I guess it ultimately comes down to simple economics, supply vs demand. If they can charge the prices and you are willing to pay - then keep on doing it! The beauty of Capitalism.
I, however, will not be coming back until the prices are more reasonable. My money can get me more in nicer resorts with equally beautiful beaches....hint, hint Maroma.

Room Tip: their suites are large and very attractive but $$$$.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bsegroup, Owner at Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your time in your review, we do our job with love and our services are always open for all of you.

Regards
Ana y Jose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eco-Oregonian
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This little gem in Tulum has drawn us back for many years. We've never stayed in the hotel but we come here for the quiet, relaxation under the palapas and the exquisite food. The food is expensive but you're dining on creative, authentic food presented with a burst of color and beautiful presentation - all this while your toes are in the sand! Reviewers who complain about the slow service or the inattentiveness of staff may not be aware of the pace and custom in Mexico - waiters prefer to have you ask (menu, check) so they don't rush you or intrude. Lighten up!

The massage therapists here are highly trained and bring positive energy to your tired body. The spa opens onto the beach so you enjoy the sound of the surf while the aromatherapy and therapist work magic.

Hint: Ask for Elizabeth and prepare to melt into the massage table.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa

Address: Carretera Tulum Boca Paila Km 7, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#26 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lush, tropical vegetation amid the Mayan jungle, emerges Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa © as one of the legendary lodging treats in Tulum, Mexico. Indulge yourself into a calmer pace of vacation where natural treasures await for you. Relax on the white sand beach, swim in the turquoise Caribbean Sea, and enjoy the warm ambiance of this unique hotel thought for people who know what they deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ana y Jose Charming Hotel And Spa
Ana y Jose Charming Hotel Tulum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.