We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love it and we'll be back for the 3rd time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Vita e Bella

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added La Vita e Bella to your Saves list
La Vita e Bella
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 1 Carretera de Las Ruinas de Tulum, | El Camino de la Playa, Tulum, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 77 Hotels in Tulum
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“We love it and we'll be back for the 3rd time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

The beach is stupendous, the service was excellent, especially Dorca, Elda and Griselda, who cleaned our rooms every day and were so very friendly and diligent. All the staff was not only professional but also friendly and attentive. The rooms were clean and very attractive. The food in the restaurant was excellent, especially the pizza.

Room Tip: #10,9 & 4 were the best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    109
    37
    18
    22
See reviews for
54
211
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

My friend and I stayed in one of the beach cabanas in early April 2011. As soon as we arrived, we knew this was the place we wanted to spend our vacation relaxing in the sun. It is a lovely, relaxed and a good quality accommodation. The cabanas are rustic but in very good condition, well-maintained & we always had hot water and a tidy room. What made the experience top of the line for us was the staff at the hotel, especially Rigo, Omar & Gorge, but all the staff were fantastic and accomodating. The restaurant is also excellent. I would definetly recommend La Vita e Bella!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

We planned to stay only for two night at La Vita e Bella. As soon as we arrived, we knew we woud stay for longer. The location is fantastic: on the quiet side of the magnificent white sandy beach and 20 minutes on foot from the ruins, it is an ideal place if you want to enjoy the beauty of the riviera Maya without the crowds.
The staff is very friendly and helpfull, especially Carmen and Griselda! We ended up staying for 5 nights and promised ourselves to recommend this place to anybody visiting the area.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

When my partner told me there was no air conditioning I was not sure if I wanted to stay here. However I took one look at my view and extended my stay for another 3 days. I was pleasantly surprised how quiet and private the beach was. They also had WiFi and that came in handy. The staff was attentive and courteous. The food was good. I even saw the baby Sea Turtles hatch and make there way to the ocean. I am going back at the end of this month for an extended weekend!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

Having seen quite a lot beached in our lives, this one is really wonderful. White sand, warm aquamarine water, nice waves and kite surfing. Hotel is however very expensive compared to the rest of the area and average in what else it has to offer. Nice cabanas but a bit worn, hotel grounds were not really up to standard. We had in front of the cabana a pile of sand, with a nasty fence, chairs at the patio and on the beach were broken. We had asked upfront for 2 baby cots, that weren't there. Only when we said that we would leave then, they arranged it, the lady owner looking quite irritated by the whole discussion. Positive on the personnel side was the gentleman at the reception desk, that was always cheerful and helpful. All in all we liked our stay, but mainly thanks to the beautiful beach location

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun11, Public Relations Manager at La Vita e Bella, responded to this review, April 4, 2011
We thank the guests for their review. The beach at La Vita is as stated “really wonderful. White sand aquamarine water, nice waves and kite surfing.” La Vita beach cabanas (cabins) are less expensive or in keeping with other beachfront properties in Tulum. Our hotel and restaurant prices are lower than the average, and a bargain, for a beachfront cabana style hotel in Tulum. (Please, check Trip Advisor average prices by hotels in Tulum.) In addition, to know standards for a beachfront cabana hotel in “the area” you would have to visit at least 15 in the Tulum area.

We believe the negative comments stem from a short notice non-standard reservation (did not use the online reservation system or pay a deposit to hold the room.). There were three baby beds at the hotel. Guests with normal reservations (through the online reservation system) were using two of the baby beds. A forth baby bed was purchased by the hotel to accommodate the guests.

We maintain hotel grounds as seen on the hotel website. We have a natural beach setting with native plants that we are proud to share with hotel and restaurant guests. We check chairs and tables for damage on a weekly basis. A simple message to reception would have changed the chairs and table. Normally, if there is a problem, guests make requests to reception and we fulfill them.

The sand on the beach, as someone who spends time at a beach knows, is uncontrollable. Sand drifts or piles are a part of nature at the beach. A picket type fence (referred to as “nasty fence” by commenter) commonly used along coasts all over the world from Cape Cod, USA to Mombasa, Kenya will only slow down the erosive salt air wind forces that cause sand drifts. However, it does little good to paint such a picket fence that will be sand blasted or covered whenever the wind comes up. Sand drifts are a part of nature at the beach.

Like all hotels, a deposit is required for a guaranteed reservation confirmation. We encourage our guests to use the reservation system.

Thank you.
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

we loved the laid-back, friendly atmosphere of la vita e bella. Everyone was super forthcoming and helpful. Our little daughter was spoiled by the waiter and she loved the beautiful animals and figures that Griselda would create with our fresh towels and flowers. What an outstanding talent. The cabanas were clean and right on the beach. The water was perfect for us and our baby. Special mention also to the great pasta and crispy oven pizza. We had a relaxing week and when we decided to return for the last few days of our honeymoon after traveling around Yucatan it felt like coming home. Thanks to the whole team and the managers Julie and Omar - we'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

We had a perfectly enjoyable and restful time. The “bungalow” on the beach was just that, with a perfect panorama of the Carribean and the coastline. I would call it a spectacular view. The sea breezes made it comfortable day and night. The "bungalow" was very comfortable, and the staff provided clean linens and cleaned it very well every day. The only thing I would like to have had is a coffee maker to help me watch the beautiful sunrise.
The food was every bit as advertised (very good), with a good variety. Every meal was a relaxing, pleasant experience, and the restaurant staff was always attentive. The management staff was always helpful with any question about trips, the town or other activities.
In addition to being on the beach, the location is perfect, with an easy drive in to Tulum to shop, and an easy walk to the Mayan ruins. There is also an easy walk up the beach to snorkeling, diving and fishing activities. Other places of interest are within an easy drive or ride. Getting there from Cancun by rental car was of no concern and posed no problems.
Overall, if you are looking for a true seaside vacation "experience" that is "easy" in every respect, this is it. We plan to go back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Vita e Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Vita e Bella

Address: Km 1 Carretera de Las Ruinas de Tulum, | El Camino de la Playa, Tulum, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Vita e Bella 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy the beauty of our hotel, "La Vita è Bella" (Life is Beautiful), a handcrafted place in the middle of nature, located on the most beautiful beach of Tulum, Mexico, created and designed to soround you with the exotic nature that only Mexican Caribbean can deliver.Come find the natural beauty of Caribbean Sea, virgin beaches, jungle flora and fauna, all mixed in a rustic blend, but with all the comfort of an exclusive hotel, designed to let you enjoy a vacation in paradise.Founder and owners of "La Vita è Bella" fell in love with the place and decided to stay for ever, with the dream of sharing the ancient Maya Kings legacy with you. Be our guest, come join us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your La Vita e Bella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Vita e Bella Hotel Tulum
La Vita e Bella Tulum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Vita e Bella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.