We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel at home away from home...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Luna del Sur

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Posada Luna del Sur to your Saves list
Posada Luna del Sur
Calle Luna Sur 5 | Tulum Pueblo, Tulum 77780, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 80 Hotels in Tulum
Oakland, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Feel at home away from home...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2007

My boyfriend and I just spent five amazing days with Jack and Janet at Posada Luna del Sur. Being Mexican, I often tend to travel in Mexico and really enjoy staying at smaller, off the beaten path kind of places in order to try and capture the local feel and flare. Of course, speaking Spanish really helps but, having hoteliers like Jack and Janet is an excellent second best. The night that we arrived, Janet was waiting for us and when we rang the buzzer, she answered by stating my name! You'll never get that at a huge hotel! She took us to our room and her warm and inviting manner immediately made us feel right home.
She started by giving us the lowdown on Tulum village, which is where the hotel is located, and recommended what her favorite restaurants were for eating. (You have to go to Taqueria Diaz. We actually ran into Janet and Jack there on one of our many visits there.) Furthermore, she helped us find the best beach spots to rent a palapa or just sit on the sand, how to get to Sian'Ka, and suggested a myriad of other things to do depending on your interests and time.
The rooms are also amazing. You get a big ten-gallon bottle of water that we used to fill our sports bottles with. Plus, every day, Jesus would leave the most amazing towel designs. We were excited to come home every day to see what it is that he had created for us that day. Our room also had a cute little patio with two chairs where we would often sit, chill, have a cigarette, and talk. And,the fresh squeezed OJ, the french press coffee, and pan dulce for breakfast made getting up in the morning a lot easier.
So, if you prefer to stay in town (the beach is only five minutes away by car) in order to delve into the small town's culture and enjoy the laid back way of life, I strongly encourage you to stay with Jack and Janet. You won't be disappointed by their graciousness and sweetness. Also, you should just spend some time with them and ask them how they met. It's a great tale to tell.
Thank you for a beautiful time Jack and Janet. We promise we'll be back next year and begin our yearly visits!
Sky and Patty

  • Liked — The hosts
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    88
    10
    5
    5
See reviews for
48
495
43
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2007

We spent 10 nights at Posada Luna del Sur and found it to be everything that we expected and more after reading the reviews here. Janet is a perfect host: approachable, knowledgable, eager to help in any way. We were treated like guests in her home. We looked forward to breakfast as a time for meeting the other guests and socializing with Janet & Jack.
The rooms were spotless and the beds were the most comfortable I have slept on in Mexico. The room safe was large enough to hold a laptop as well as a camera, iPod, and passports. Having both ceiling fans and a/c was greatly appreciated. We stayed in room #6 on the second level and we overlooked a neighbor who kept turkeys and chickens Once the a/c was on, we heard nothing. We also appreciated having a huge bottle of purified water for our use so we did not have to worry about buying supplementary water. Jesus the housekeeper surprised us daily with beautiful towel arrangements like elephants and dolls.
The surrounding neighborhood has a variety of architecture, from a traditional Mayan stick-hut next door to a very modern casa across the street.
Thank you, Janet & Jack, for making our trip so memorable. We are planning our return!

  • Liked — Hospitality of owner & cleanliness
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2007

We recently spent several days in Tulum visiting various ruins and the fantastic beaches. In preparation, we researched several hotels and decided that Posada Luna del Sur looked like a pleasant place to stay. Little did we know what a truly unforgetable experience that would turn out to be. The rooms were clean, quiet and very comfortable. We were greeted every morning at breakfast with smiling faces and warm conversations from our hosts, Janet and Jack, as well as freshly squeezed orange juice and sweet breads from a local panadería. It quickly became apparent that we were not merely staying in a hotel but rather had been invited into a home. Janet was a wealth of information about the surrounding area from when to visit the ruins and Sian Ka'an, the best beaches, shopping locations and even the most convenient place to exchange money. Janet and Jack also pointed the very best places to experience the local cuisine, and some of their favorite dishes, all conveniently within walking distance. If you want to go to Mexico and never leave your hotel complex, stay at one of the many huge "all inclusive" places. If you want to experience the true heart, soul and flavor of Mexico, go visit our new friends, Janet and Jack at Posada Luna del Sur. You will not be disappointed! We will surely stay there on our next visit.

  • Tips/Secrets — Be sure to visit Sian Ka'an
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2007

My wife and I spent an incredible week here. The room was immaculate and well taken care of, especially the unique towel designs left by the housekeeper each day. We commend Janet and Jack for the attention they pay to the guests and details of their stay. They are the absolute best! The near to the town location provides short walk access to numerous restaurants, shopping and laundromats. The bus station, taxis and even car rentals are close by and it is very easy to visit out of town locations. If you are looking for a truely fine place to stay, you cannot go wrong at the Posada Luna del Sur. Memories of our experiences here will remain forever and we have vowed to return again. Our experience was far better than we ever expected.

Thank you Janet and Jack!!!

  • Liked — Cleanliness, location, hosts, cost
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Tips/Secrets — great place to use as a base if you want
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2006

Recently spent a very restful week here. Janet and Jack are the perfect hosts: friendly, informative, readily available but never intrusive. Our second-floor room was spotless, attractive, comfortable, practical. The size and power of the shower were an unexpected plus. Breakfast is light and delicious, and a pleasant opportunity to interact with hosts and guests. Location is convenient: walk to restaurants and bus station, quick cab ride to ruins, beaches and a big, modern supermarket. Noise not a problem for us; never heard music at night, and although we did hear roosters and turkeys, they never awakened us nor were they an annoyance. Considering that a main thoroughfare is just a block away, this is a tranquil location.

Tips: Bring your own beach towels and utensils. Also, the posada is located about two blocks beyond the end of the main avenue. Although there's a sign for it at the corner, there's none at the entrance to town. Both our transfer drivers had trouble finding it, and a couple of local cabbies were not familiar with it either (honestly; I speak Spanish and they were not trying to rip us off). So you might want to bring a map that shows the location (there's one at www.todotulum.com, for example).

  • Liked — the innkeepers
  • Disliked — no phone in room
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Knolls, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2006

I thoroughly enjoyed my 4 nights at this small hotel located on the edge of town. Its location is a plus - away from the noisy downtown area, yet within close walking distance of the bus station and restaurants. Jack and Janet are wonderful, interesting hosts who go out of there way to make their guests feel at home. The rooms are very clean, have overhead fans and air-conditioning (a must in Tulum town), a security safe, a small refrigerator, and an endless supply of good drinking water. A nice breakfast is provided as well. My room (#11) was very quiet at night, but as some of the previous reviewers have mentioned, some of the rooms are within earshot of a very loud rooster. Jack and Janet are aware of this problem and hopefully will come up with a solution. One last note - I highly recommend the all day tour of Sian Ka'an, which Janet can arrange for you.

  • Liked — Helpful Owners; Safe Environment
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for quiet room
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2006

Posada Luna is a restored apartment complex made into more of a Cozy B&B rather than a hotel in the middle of a friendly neighborhood. Jack and Janet are as friendly a people as you could find in Tulum yet alone Mexico. Janet is a walking encyclepedia when it comes to Tulum. She provides you with the best places to eat, sunbath, snorket etc.
The rooms are simple with traditional Mexican decor, I have to say the bed and pillows are super comfy. The breakfast is freshly squeezed OJ, coffee and "Pan Dulce" Mexican pastery/breads. The hotel is a quick walk to the center of town restaurants,shopping etc. The beaches are a short 7-10 min. car ride and 20-30 ride to the major attractions. It has it's quirks but it's a perfect place to stay to rest your head after a long day in the SUN. Thanks Jack&Janet.

  • Liked — Location
  • Tips/Secrets — Eat at the Argentina steak house and Taqueria Diaz, you cant go wrong.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
4.0 mi away
Ahau Tulum
Ahau Tulum
#5 of 80 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 stars 556 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#10 of 80 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 stars 356 reviews
2.9 mi away
El Pez at Turtle Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#15 of 80 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 stars 493 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mi Amor
Mi Amor
#7 of 80 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 stars 113 reviews
2.5 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#33 of 80 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 stars 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Luna del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Luna del Sur

Address: Calle Luna Sur 5 | Tulum Pueblo, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#2 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#16 Family Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Luna del Sur is a delightful small boutique hotel of 12 private suites, which has earned praise for excellence value, service, comfort and quality from travelers around the world. The suites are graciously proportioned and lovingly appointed. Immaculately maintained suites include; king size or double bed sleeping accommodations (roll-away beds available for parties of three on request) cozy sitting area, balcony or patio area, mini fridge, unlimited bottled water, ceiling fans, A/C, security safe, cable TV, free WiFi hotspot, hot water and our signature a la carte breakfast inspire care-free times and peaceful dreams. Our hotel is focused on value, service, comfort and quality. We believe you can still stay at a quality boutique hotel in Tulum, without breaking your bank. A gem in the Riviera Maya, we invite you to come and discover why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Posada Luna del Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Luna Del Sur Hotel Tulum
Posada Luna Del Sur Tulum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Luna del Sur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.