We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Luna del Sur

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Posada Luna del Sur to your Saves list
Posada Luna del Sur
Calle Luna Sur 5 | Tulum Pueblo, Tulum 77780, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 78 Hotels in Tulum
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The chef was great and gave us lots of insider information that helped us cut down on some costs. The room was fantastic and every time we returned back, the cleaner had left out some clean towels folded artistically into different animal shapes. The hotel is in a great location and is much cheaper than the pricey beach hotels. Just make sure if you´re coming in a taxi down from Cancun that the driver has GPS or at least a map!

Tulum itself is Paradise. I recommend the Muyil Float, a trip to see the Spider Monkeys in their natural habitat, the Ceynotes and of course the pyramids. And if you go scuba diving, dont swim on the reef like I did! Those black sea urchins are painful. I still have a little bit of Tulum in my hand!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    86
    10
    5
    5
See reviews for
48
477
41
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

At first glance of Tulum from the airport shuttle, I was doubting my choice to stay in the pueblo instead of on the beach. First impressions were wrong, if you want to truly feel immersed in the culture of Tulum, while staying in a beautiful establishment, stay at this hotel.

Our stay at Posada Luna del Sur involved plenty of smiles shared with all of the staff- Tom (who gave great recommendations on what to see/do/ eat in Tulum and surprised my boyfriend with birthday wine) Jose ( the security guard), Mary (the breakfast server), Eric (the chef), and Gabriella (the housekeeper who immaculately cleaned our room daily and entertained us with towel animals). Not only were the staff wonderful, but the hotel was beautifully kept and the location of the hotel was greatl. Safety in town was never a concern, and taxis are just as easy to find in Tulum as they are in NYC.

Simply put: Dont pay for overpriced beachfront hotels. Enjoy breakfast from Eric, take a taxi to the beach at Playa Kin Ha (Toms recommendation), enjoy pina coladas and sunshine on the the most beautiful, immaculate part of the beach, and return to a clean room at Posada Luna del Sur. Youll thank yourself for doing so.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our group consisted of four adults and we reserved 2 rooms on the second floor. The owner/manager lives on the third floor which also includes the open air restaurant. The owner is very helpful in providing advice about the Tulum area. Breakfast is included in the price of the room, is the only meal provided at the restaurant and it can be a full breakfast such as omelets or bacon, eggs and hash browns etc. The third floor area and the great breakfasts are a major attraction to this hotel. The rooms are small but adequate and the housekeeping staff do a very good job.

We enjoyed our four day stay in this authentic Mexican town, eating at the restaurants and taking walks in the evenings along the main road. We rented bikes from a nearby rental firm and enjoyed touring around town. We spent a day at Ziggy's Beach Club on the beach road and spent another day visiting Chichen Itza and Volladolid.

We felt very safe while staying at Posada Luna Del Sur and while visting Tulum.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are preferable.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Oh
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Delightful clean comfortable, great sheets! Other reviews say it.. Key here is Tom and his level of service. I had a serious accident and Tom took me under his wing. He came to the hospital with me, he was my interpreter, he made me feel safe and secure. I was staying at another facility that had a few issues. Tom opened up Posada to me. This is a man with a giant heart. You will be taken care of. He speaks English and Spanish and has a well developed arsenal of knowledge of Tulum. He has been there many years. You will have all the inside information and it will be accurate. If you have a question he will have an answer for you.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Higgins Lake, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I visited Tulum, Mexico recently and stayed in a wonderful, intimate, hotel in the heart of town. We were pleasantly surprised by the authentic pueblo like layout of the place but with all the modern conveniences one needs to make their stay a pleasant one. The rooftop lounge/breakfast area was wonderful. Tom, the gracious and very helpful owner, has set up the lounge with a couple of very comfortable couches and pillows that allow one to relax after a day at the beach or sightseeing. He even provides soothing instrumental music and mood lighting. It's a great place to have a glass of wine and take advantage of the cooler night breezes.
Tom will also provide as much information as one needs to find their way around, find a great beach, or restaurant, or even plan an excursion with one of the terrific guides he knows in town.
He will provide you with a detailed map of the town and beach area which identifies many of his favorite restaurants, shops, and tourist attractions. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable with air, hot water, a purified water dispenser, small fridge, coffee pot, and storage space for clothes etc...
If you are visiting during the winter months, breakfast is included and it's fantastic. The Chef and wait staff are attentive and the selections vary from traditional Mexican to standard American breakfast fare like cereal, or omelettes.
You will be hard pressed to find a better place to stay for the price. Staying in town allows one to save money as the beach is much more expensive, easily walk to many restaurants, but is only a short ride to the beach, which is open to anyone. Most beach resorts will allow you to use their facilities and beach chairs or lounges if you buy something from the bar or restaurant. We went to Ziggy beach four times during our stay and were treated extremely well by the staff.
You won't have a problem finding the hotel if you drive through town to the south end and look for the Subway fast food restaurant on the left side of the street. Once you see it keep driving a couple blocks further and you will see a fruit and vegetable market, also on the left. Make a u turn at the next turnaround. Heading back north stay to the right, drive slowly, and make a right at the first street. You will see the hotel on the left a short block away. Parking is available. Then go have a few Tacos Carnitas at Charlies.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor and it was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

A comfortable, clean, convenient and safe place to stay. Loved it there. The breakfast was great, and the chef there was awesome. It had everything I needed for a hotel, and was a perfect place from which to explore the city.

Room Tip: Wi-Fi was on the rooftop/dining area
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015 via mobile

We arrived on New Year's Eve in Tulum. Tom warned us that there might be loud celebrations all around, but the noise was not unreasonable and we felt like we were part of the local celebration. The property is small in footprint, but we had a nice little patio to sit out on with a pretty garden. The local infrastructure of Tulum is very delicate and we witnessed that on New Years Day when the city ran out of water. Tom quickly resolved the problem by brining in a water truck. The food by chef Diaz is EXCELLENT. We had the best breakfast of our trip at Posada Luna Del Sur. Every day it was different and creative. We had fun going to the beach in Tulum and we took a day trip to a nature reserve to see monkeys, which was GREAT. The room itself was very spacious and comfortable, had a small kitchen with fridge, sink and dishes. Shower was very nice, tiled, spacious. Lots of storage for longer stays. Great launching point for area sights.

Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada Luna del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Luna del Sur

Address: Calle Luna Sur 5 | Tulum Pueblo, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#3 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#11 Family Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Luna del Sur is a delightful small boutique hotel of 12 private suites, which has earned praise for excellence value, service, comfort and quality from travelers around the world. The suites are graciously proportioned and lovingly appointed. Immaculately maintained suites include; king size or double bed sleeping accommodations (roll-away beds available for parties of three on request) cozy sitting area, balcony or patio area, mini fridge, unlimited bottled water, ceiling fans, A/C, security safe, cable TV, free WiFi hotspot, hot water and our signature a la carte breakfast inspire care-free times and peaceful dreams. Our hotel is focused on value, service, comfort and quality. We believe you can still stay at a quality boutique hotel in Tulum, without breaking your bank. A gem in the Riviera Maya, we invite you to come and discover why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Posada Luna del Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Luna Del Sur Hotel Tulum
Posada Luna Del Sur Tulum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Luna del Sur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.