We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Luna del Sur

Save Saved
You added Posada Luna del Sur to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada Luna del Sur
Calle Luna Sur 5 | Tulum Pueblo, Tulum 77780, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 76 Hotels in Tulum
Iowa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beyond Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2009

The Posada Luna del Sur, put simply, is marvelous! My 83 year old mother said it best: "If this hotel was a book, it would be named 'CHARMING'!" Janet and Jack, the owners, are the most gracious people you will ever meet. They are friendly, full of helpful advice and suggestions, and go above and beyond to make your stay with them a wonderful experience. The hotel is not your run-of-the-mill, Americanized Holiday Inn. It has a very charming Mexican flavor, located in downtown Tulum near local shopping and restaurants.
The rooms are clean, neat, and very comfortable. The owners live on the top floor of the hotel and are always available to help you in any way. They were invaluable to us in our endeavors! We reserved 4 of the rooms for guests of our daughter's wedding in Tulum and everyone was very pleased with our choice of hotel! If we ever have a chance to return to Tulum, we will certainly stay at the Posada Luna del Sur. We HIGHLY recommend this establishment to anyone heading to beautiful Tulum!

Thank you to our new-found friends, Janet and Jack!
Rich and Connie

  • Liked — The owners
  • Disliked — No telephones
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    83
    10
    5
    5
See reviews for
46
465
40
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2009

My fiance and I had the pleasure of staying at Posada Luna del Sur last week. This hotel is beautiful! It is immaculate, much cleaner than some four or five star hotels I've stayed at in the states. Also, it has wonderful owners, Janet and Jack, who treated us like family. If we had a question or wondered where to go/not go, they were gracious and their advice was accurate 100% of the time.

Tulum itself is not a great city, you probably only need a day to see it and the ruins, but if you are going to stay there, I would definitely recommend Posada Luna del Sur.

We also had some friends stay at a resort on the beach and paid almost double what we did for their accomodation. They had a beautiful location, yes, but had to deal with power outages, many MANY bugs, freezing cold rooms at night, and not the greatest bathroom accomodations.

At Posada, we were very comfortable, were even able to catch the news in English on TV a couple of times, had clean towels daily, and they provide a wonderful breakfast each day of fresh fruit and sweet bread.

My advice, take a cab to the beach and stay at Posada...you will definitely not regret it!

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — The sewer system in Tulum does not allow toilet paper to be flushed, I was not aware of this going into the trip.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

This little hotel in the Tulum Pueblo is a gem!

We stayed with Janet and Jack for two nights before moving to an upscale boutique hotel on the beach. Honestly, we could have stayed the whole week at Posada Luna del Sur.

Janet is FANTASTIC, an exceptionally warm and interesting character. She was so helpful with advice on how to navigate Tulum (how much to pay taxis, where to eat, which places on the beach to go), plus she's really funny and dry. A great combination.

The room is very clean, with a fridge (keep your beer cold!) and AC (unnecessary), and a TV (for dorks like us who like to veg out after a long day of exploring). A nice little balcony and very comfy bed too.
Continental breakfast is a nice touch, though I only ever had coffee (but the coffee is GOOD! French press, just like I like it.)

The town of Tulum is great, and with everything on the beach closing at 10pm, it's nice for us city folks to be able to go and have dinner or drinks until 1am.

Posada Luna del Sur is off the main road, and right in a residential neighborhood, but is only two blocks from the main drag where everything is, the best of both worlds!

Thanks Janet and Jack, we had a great time!

  • Liked — Janet and Jack! Cleanliness. Proximity to town. Wireless internet. Safe in room.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 days in Tulum at our home away from home, the Posada Luna del Sur. Janet was a wonderful help in recommending local restaurants and where to find the best beach. At her recommendation we spent one day at Cesiak in the Sian Ka'an Biosphere Preserve - lounging on a sparsely populated beach and enjoying an excellent lunch (yummy fish tacos, delicious gazpacho & great maragaritas) at the restaurant.
The Posada provides a lovely continental breakfast, with fresh orange juice and some of the best coffee we've had anywhere! Additionally, it was an opportunity to meet our fellow travelers and chat about our experiences. Our downstairs room was simple, spotless clean and very comfortable. The excellent company and enjoyable conversations with Janet & Jack were a bonus!

  • Liked — Cleanliness, helpful, friendly
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

We could imagine nothing nicer on Christmas Day than returning to the Posada Luna del Sur for a 6 night stay. Janet and Jack gave us the warmest of welcomes, it was just like going home!!
This really is the nicest place to stay in Tulum and completely deserving of its number 1 spot! I know a lot of people imagine that being 'on the beach' is everything... but to be honest, we spent every day on the beach, but once the sun had set it was great fun to be in downtown Tulum, with it's choice of restaurants and a bit of Mexican life! On the beach road, we were surprised at the rip off prices for everything...and there was little of real Mexico to be found. So a big thank you to Janet and Jack. and Jesus for providing a wonderful place to stay....can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — everything!!
  • Disliked — not long enough holiday!!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2008

My wife and I very much enjoyed our four-night stay at Posada Luna del Sur during late November 2008. We found the owners of the hotel, Janet and Jack, to be very personable, generous, knowledgeable, and helpful without being at all intrusive. The setup of this boutique hotel (e.g., the border wall of the property, courtyard and incense used) made for a relaxing experience. The various towel origami/sculptures that the housekeeper, Jesús, leaves on guests beds also makes you look forward to returning to the hotel after a day at the beach (about a ten-minute drive away) or visiting ruins, etc. We highly recommend Posada Luna del Sur for visitors to Tulum who don't feel the need to stay in the immediate vicinity of the beach.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2008

Tulum: Posada Luna del Sur, Calle Luna sur 5, Tulum, Mexico: "Fantastic"
Date: December 1-6, 2008
Reviewer: David and Jo Mayne, London UK.

Our stay here was in marked contrast to the anonymity of
the large hotels in Cancun with their associated destruction
of the natural environment. Posada Luna del Sur is a
delightful resting place from which to explore and enjoy
the magnificent neighbouring beaches and the ancient
Mayan sites at Ek Balam, Chichen Itcha and other places.

The very best bits for us were the warm welcome by our
wonderful hosts Janet and Jack and the simplicity and
charm of the hotel which provided us with excellent
accomodation and care; we still remember the marvellous
breakfasts of fresh fruit, freshly squeezed orange juice and
local pastries. An extra bonus was the very helpful advice and information given when needed.

We hope that Posada Luna del Sur stays for many
years to provide travellers like us with the pleasure
we enjoyed . We certainly hope to stay there again.

Stayed December 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada Luna del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Luna del Sur

Address: Calle Luna Sur 5 | Tulum Pueblo, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#7 Family Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Luna del Sur is a delightful small boutique hotel of 12 private suites, which has earned praise for excellence value, service, comfort and quality from travelers around the world. The suites are graciously proportioned and lovingly appointed. Immaculately maintained suites include; king size or double bed sleeping accommodations (roll-away beds available for parties of three on request) cozy sitting area, balcony or patio area, mini fridge, unlimited bottled water, ceiling fans, A/C, security safe, cable TV, free WiFi hotspot, hot water and our signature a la carte breakfast inspire care-free times and peaceful dreams. Our hotel is focused on value, service, comfort and quality. We believe you can still stay at a quality boutique hotel in Tulum, without breaking your bank. A gem in the Riviera Maya, we invite you to come and discover why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Posada Luna del Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Luna Del Sur Hotel Tulum
Posada Luna Del Sur Tulum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Luna del Sur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.