We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we needed for a great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Luna del Sur

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tulum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Posada Luna del Sur
Calle Luna Sur 5 | Tulum Pueblo, Tulum 77780, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 74 hotels in Tulum
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Everything we needed for a great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived at Tulum following three nights in Holbox. Tulum in comparison is large and busy with lots to see and do. We hired a car from Cancun airport and this was probably the best decision we made, it meant that we could zip around town, to and from the beach and to the ruins and cenotes whenever we wanted.

The hotel is situated towards the end of the main road (coming from Playa del carmen) and to the left. In the car it's about a 10 minute drive to the beach.

Our room was large, we were on the ground floor in the end room. We had a porch, a sort of kitchen area with fridge, plates and cutlery and sink for washing dishes (no hob). The shower room and toilet were very clean, the bed was large, we slept well every night, we had air conditioning and two fans and a sofa/ lounge area. There was a porter at the front of the building and upstairs was the communal area with tables and chairs where you could get wifi. The only downside to this hotel is that you do not get wifi in your rooms.

We didn't need extra facilities as we were so close to the main road and all the restaurants and shops that we needed. Also we spent little time in the room as we were out early in the mornings to go diving in the cenotes or having fun by the beach. In the evenings it was nice to be able to eat and drink on the main strip and safely walk home.
Great hotel, no fuss, clean, accessible and very well priced. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    595
    82
    10
    5
    5
See reviews for
44
462
40
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just returned from a week in Tulum. We decided to stay in town instead of on the beach so we could get real feeling for the town. We chose Posada Luna del Sur based on the reviews here. We certainly chose right! The room was a good size with traditional Mexican decor and a cute terrace. Plenty of storge space, an efficiency kitchen, small fridge and coffee maker. PLDS is located on a quiet street a few minutes walk to town center. It is low season so breakfast was not served, but there are plenty of options close by. And best of all, the price is right! $400+ dollars for the week, way cheaper than anything decent on the beach. If you want comfortable accommodation in Tulum pueblo, you can't do better than Posada Luna del Sur!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had the pleasure of staying in this lovely well maintained hotel with a group of friends! Everything we needed was at our fingertips literally. Tom was such a great host who set us up on the most fantastic tour of the amazing Cenotes that are a must see when in this magical place!
Great atmosphere with a gorgeous communal rooftop area that was open to guests to relax and read and enjoy the lovely weather!
Fabulous value and definitely a place to go back too!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This amazing little place was recommended to me by a friend and i am so glad we stayed here.
Tom was so helpful, from the maps and info in every room to organising washing and tours for us.
You are right in the heart of Tulum, but also only a $10 AUD cab ride away from Ziggy's beach club ( which i highly recommend for beachside drinks and food )

While you stay here, make sure you do a tour with http://www.yucatanoutdoors.com/ the best tours i have ever had.

Some of the things i loved the best about Posada was the rooftop balcony, location to everything, aircon 24/7, the cute towel arrangements, the price / value for money and Tom !!!!!!!

Cannot recommend this place more highly to anyone !!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Let me just first say that we had the best time at Posada Luna del Sur. If you're going to Tulum, and you want to do it right imho, stay here! Tom is so gracious and helpful. The room we stayed in was so cute and spacious. The service is great. Its quiet and peaceful, and yet very close(just a short walk)to everything in town. Tom really helps accentuate your stay. Tulum is a magical place by itself, so whatever you're into, the beach, culture, adventure, nice restaurants, the best taco stand, ruins, Cenotes, Tom will help find you a hidden gem to explore. We also loved the rooftop terrace to start our day off with a nice breakfast. We will definitely be back the next time we're in town!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

at Posada Luna del Sur!

I'm sitting here writing my review on the balcony overlooking a beautiful hibiscus tree. I don't want to leave!

We are not newcomers to Tulum. My friend has been coming here for close to 20 years and myself at least past 10 years. I've always spent my Tulum holidays at beachfront hotels. This was my first stay in the pueblo. What an amazing difference it made in our holiday! It was an adventure!

The posada is spotlessly clean and very secure. There is a terrific little neighborhood a block or so behind the main road so ice and beverages and everything you need is within walking distance and all owned by local people.

Don't get me talking about the plentiful and amazing food in this area! Tom's recommendations are great, but if you venture out on your own look for crowds and incredible fragrances and you will find some of the most amazing food that is priced so unbelievably that you will be incredulous at the amount of money you have not spent!

Taxis to the beach ranged in price depending upon the mood of cabdriver. Anywhere from 80 pesos to 130 pesos (ask me how I handled that taxidriver!).

This is a real Mexican experience!

The staff are all lovely and very friendly.

Thank you Tom and Graham for providing a place where we can experience a wonderful true Mexican holiday!

We will be back!


Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Posada Luna del Sur as part of our honeymoon. Graham, the owner's father, was looking after the hotel during our stay so he welcomed us when we arrived and was very helpful and friendly throughout our time in Tulum. While we had already sorted out excursions in advance of getting to Tulum we were offered help with arranging outings with a local provider, and the map that we were given with the owner's recommendations for restaurants etc was very helpful too.

The hotel is in a good central location in Tulum town but is nice and quiet. Our room (No. 6) was fairly basic but lovely, with a balcony looking over the hotel's small garden area. The rooftop terrace was great too, with free wifi and a nice area to chill out (and to have breakfast each morning). I would definitely recommend this hotel for an enjoyable, peaceful break.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Posada Luna del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Luna del Sur

Address: Calle Luna Sur 5 | Tulum Pueblo, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#2 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#5 Best Value Hotel in Tulum
#7 Family Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Luna del Sur is a delightful small boutique hotel of 12 private suites, which has earned praise for excellence value, service, comfort and quality from travelers around the world. The suites are graciously proportioned and lovingly appointed. Immaculately maintained suites include; king size or double bed sleeping accommodations (roll-away beds available for parties of three on request) cozy sitting area, balcony or patio area, mini fridge, unlimited bottled water, ceiling fans, A/C, security safe, cable TV, free WiFi hotspot, hot water and our signature a la carte breakfast inspire care-free times and peaceful dreams. Our hotel is focused on value, service, comfort and quality. We believe you can still stay at a quality boutique hotel in Tulum, without breaking your bank. A gem in the Riviera Maya, we invite you to come and discover why. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Posada Luna Del Sur Hotel Tulum
Posada Luna Del Sur Tulum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Luna del Sur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Posada Luna del Sur to your Saves list