We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Luna del Sur

Save Saved
You added Posada Luna del Sur to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada Luna del Sur
Calle Luna Sur 5 | Tulum Pueblo, Tulum 77780, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 76 Hotels in Tulum
Haifa, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Tom was really nice and so did the staff. everything was very nice and clean and comftereble. our first welcoming was with roses chocolate and wine for our honeymoon and it was great!
Tom gave us a map with all the great beaches and the best food. he also connected us with an amazing guid name Antonio wich we were very impresed by when visiting shian kahn biosphere.
the room was realy good and comftereble and the location is very close to "city center" it is a small town with a main road.
thank you Tom your hotel made our stay in tulum perfect!
we recomend everyone to stay there !!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    83
    10
    5
    5
See reviews for
46
465
40
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

I booked my stay based on Trip Advisor reviews, and they proved to be an understatement on how wonderful this small hotel is. Tom, the owner, was fantastic as were the rest of the staff. The rooms are spotless with all the amenities you'd need when you're not at home, including a really helpful local map with restaurant and other local knowledge recommendations (take them, trust me- they're awesome!). The location is 10 minutes walk from everywhere in town and a 50 peso (negotiated) ride to the beach. All in all I wish I could rate this little gem more than 5 stars.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

If your going to stay in Tulum this is the place to be. I was amazed by this quaint boutique hotel and grateful to Tom the proprietor who helped me and my boyfriend plan outings and pick restaurants. We've stayed at other hotels in the area previous to this trip but this is by far the most comfortable ,most cost-efficient and most friendly place we've stayed. My boyfriend and myself have found this hidden little gem in Tulum and now we can call it our home away from home as we will definitely be coming back!

-Adri & Lloyd :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

My wife and I were visiting Tulum for several days to check out some property in the area, as well as visit the ruins and get a feel for the community. We chose Tom's Posada Luna Del Sur based on some other reviews on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed. We had a great stay. The room was quite comfortable, stylish and very clean. It included a small kitchenette, refrigerator and coffeemaker as well. In addition, in our room which was on the second floor, we were able to receive a reasonably good wifi signal during our stay.

Tom took us to our room and gave us a map, on which was marked all of his top recommendations for food, drink, excursions, etc. Very helpful. In addition, he took the time to point out some of his very favorite spots and gave us a nice overview of the town and what it had to offer. He is a genuinely nice person and eager to help you enjoy your visit to Tulum.

The staff was excellent as well, especially our maid who thrilled us each day with a new "animal" sitting on our bed, created from our bath towels. It became one the high points of our stay, wondering each day what new animal she could fashion."

In any case we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there, and we will "hang our hats" there again whenever we return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

One of key requirements was the availability of WiFi... which is advertised... but on arrival it was explained to us "that it was not wholly available to all rooms due to signal issues and being in a developing country etc... but it was available on the roof top seating area if needs be".

Well no... in the main it wasn't available even upstairs... it was down most of the time and even when connected, at best it was slow and the connection kept dropping.

Time and again whilst we were there we heard the owner explaining to guests... "Well it is provided free gratis and what can you expect... we are in Mexico..." or "It's a problem with the provider...".

No Tom... it is your infrastructure, your setup, your failure to pay an ISP for a respectable package...
i. All other networks we connected to in Tulum firstly worked... secondly, worked well... had no speed or performance issues, could deliver web pages at reasonable speeds and had we didn't have to keep re-connecting.
ii. We had five different makes of devices, three phones and two mini-tablets... blackberry, apple, Samsung and Microsoft... all of which had continual problems... so it the problem was not our end...
iii. Networks in Tulum we successfully connected to without issue included... restaurants, bars and other hostels and hotels... located all across town including down at the beach...

You even make excuses in various places verbally and sprawled on reviews sites or hotel paraphernalia... not to include WiFi when reviewing the hotel since it is provided free gratis etc... and yet we didn't pay for WiFi anywhere else in Tulum...

So cut the [--] and either (i) invest in a decent wireless infrastructure OR (ii) don't advertise it... one or the other... my pain is that you made such a thing of it and yet you ride on the back of it dishing out the excuses when someone complains... had you not advertised it we might well have stayed somewhere else... so don't advertise WiFi availability when you do not deliver... and no the mere presence does not count... it should at least stay up for a while and be capable of throwing up the odd web page... no one expects lightning speed in a developing country - whereas your network... well snail mail would be quicker.

Other than that our stay was absolutely fine thank you... although as a final word, I think some of the reviews come across as somewhat sycophantic.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLDSrManagement, Owner at Posada Luna del Sur, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thanks for your feedback, however I feel the rating you gave me is not warranted.

If your key requirement, when traveling to Tulum is WiFi, then maybe you should have traveled to Cancun, where you are able to book at a large resort, with a commercial network connection. Usually, people that travel to Tulum, do not bring ¨three cell phones and two net books.¨ Usually my guests enjoy this Mexican paradise and cannot be bothered with checking the internet, while on vacation. It is almost a sin to do that! :)

In no way do we boast or brag about our 128 Kbps DSL line. Again, you seem to be forgetting this is a free service. This means, the hotel does not profit off this service, it is an added feature and amenity. Complaining about a free service is like complaining that you did not like the dial-pad on our free room-safes or did not like the color of our free beach towels, the size of our free room fridges and so on. Nowhere on the website or our TA listing, do we claim you get WiFi in the rooms, so this is not false advertisement. In fact, on our TA listing it clearly states ¨WiFi hot-spot.¨

To be fair, I will admit that our internet is sometimes not very stable. This is due to the fact that the internet technology that is offered in Tulum, is not on par with big cities, like London. But for the most part, I can say with confidence, our internet is usually fine for casual web browsing and not slow as ¨snail mail.¨ I actually worked in the IT Network industry for years and I have done what I can do with this network to make it as efficient as possible. Again, we never claimed it worked in the rooms. We have a WiFi hotspot, simple. Also, please keep in mind that if most of our guests were using the internet at the same time, the bandwidth is being limited. You probably tried to access your device at breakfast, when typically everybody is trying to access it. Our network is sort of like a ¨first come, first service¨ basis network--meaning that if you check it at a non-peak time, you´ll have better luck with the speed (again, it is free, and I will stick to this explanation, and it is not an ¨excuse¨ like you claimed. It is fact. ).

Your comment about ¨infrastructure, setup and failure to pay for an ISP respectable package,¨ are invalid. If you were in the know, you would be aware that this is the only package that is offered in Tulum, so do not assume anything before knowing the facts. The only other possible ¨package¨ we could offer is to install a commercial ISDN (which to begin with is outdated and not even that quicker) line, costing our guests $19/ per day (see resort comment above), which we believe to be a joke to charge our guests that much for an internet connection, in 2013.

If you received proper connection rates in ¨hostels, restaurants and at the beach,¨ then chances are these establishments were dead and did not have 24 guests hogging all their bandwidth.

If you experienced slow speeds but you were PAYING for this service, I would understand your complaint, but you were not paying for anything, so you should have been happy to get free internet to begin with, I´m sorry but if roles were reversed, I would be ecstatic to have free internet.

Lastly, if you look at all my reviews, you can clearly see that a tiny % of people actually mention our internet and its speeds.

My best advice for you, if you keep to travel this beautiful world, would be to remember to leave your devices at home. I am sure you would have a more peaceful visit and not be bogged down by technology while visiting this paradise or any other paradise this world has to offer. Sit back, enjoy the surroundings, have a drink. Go and explore the paradise and save those emails for when you get back.



Kindly,
Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights during our honeymoon before moving on to the beach. It was a great place to stay in town and good launching point for the local excursions we wanted to explore (i.e. Akumel, Chichen Itza, denotes, etc.). The reviews about Tom and his map are not overblown, nor exaggerated. He truly is a helpful resource and it is abundantly clear that he is genuinely devoted to making sure you have a great time in Tulum. His enthusiasm and spirit are infectious. As my husband put it, staying at Posada Luna del Sur is like staying with a friend in town because Tom makes you feel right at home. Since we moved on to a beach front hotel the following week, his map continued to help guide us beyond our stay in the pueblo.

Our room was great--very clean, we loved the towel displays that we found on our bed each night and it is such a bonus to have plenty of drinking water at your disposal. The wifi worked in our room most of the time, though sometimes it was spotty but hey, it's free wifi. The "world class" resort we stayed at in Playa del Carmen was charging 150 pesos a day for wifi so we were just happy to have this free amenity at all.

The main road right outside the hotel can be a bit dodgy to walk on at night (because for one black there's no sidewalk), but we quickly discovered that by walking away from the main road and then cutting back 2 blocks north was a great alternative. It's a very safe area and we were not hassled nor heckled at all.

If we make our way back to Tulum we will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLDSrManagement, Manager at Posada Luna del Sur, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Hola Erin!

Thanks very much for your review and kind words, it is very much appreciated.
Yup, it is like staying with a friend! I do my very best to help my guests navigate and get the best of what Tulum has to offer.

You are right, Tulum and especially the Pueblo are a great hub for exploring the surrounding areas. Day trips to Chechen Itza, Valladolid, Mahuhal and other surrounding areas are all doable in one day.

I wish you the best on your new marriage and I sincerely hope you come back and visit us next year!

kindly,
Tom :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We just got back from a trip to Tulum. There were four of us, none of us had been there before and we were naturally a little apprehensive. We stayed at the Posada Luna del Sur because of the great reviews on Trip Advisor and it certainly met and actually exceeded our expectations. The hotel is very well located in Tulum on a rather quiet street. It was easy to walk to shop or eat and we could catch a taxi easily to go to the beach. The people that work at the hotel are super friendly and helpful. It is clean and quiet and cool. I loved coming in everyday from the beach or a trip out of Tulum to see what towel figure was on my bed. Tom is a wonderful host and gave us all sorts of good advice on where to go to the beach, where to eat, what to see and set us up with people that took us where we wanted to go. He helped us plan out every day of our stay and we had an amazing time. All his recommendations were "spot on". We were not disappointed with any. It was really fun because we got to know some of the locals we met through Tom's recommendations. The people in Tulum are warm and friendly and we felt very welcome there. Our trip out of Tulum with our taxi driver (gotten by Tom) to Chichen Itza, Valladolid and Coba was terrific. Our snorkeling and kayaking tours with Antonio and Jessica of Yucatan Outdoors (recommended by Tom) were amazing. We were really happy we chose this hotel in Tulum rather than a hotel on the beach because of Tom and his staff and the variety of activities and restaurants easily available to us. We highly recommend it. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada Luna del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Luna del Sur

Address: Calle Luna Sur 5 | Tulum Pueblo, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#2 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#7 Family Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Luna del Sur is a delightful small boutique hotel of 12 private suites, which has earned praise for excellence value, service, comfort and quality from travelers around the world. The suites are graciously proportioned and lovingly appointed. Immaculately maintained suites include; king size or double bed sleeping accommodations (roll-away beds available for parties of three on request) cozy sitting area, balcony or patio area, mini fridge, unlimited bottled water, ceiling fans, A/C, security safe, cable TV, free WiFi hotspot, hot water and our signature a la carte breakfast inspire care-free times and peaceful dreams. Our hotel is focused on value, service, comfort and quality. We believe you can still stay at a quality boutique hotel in Tulum, without breaking your bank. A gem in the Riviera Maya, we invite you to come and discover why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Posada Luna del Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Luna Del Sur Hotel Tulum
Posada Luna Del Sur Tulum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Luna del Sur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.