We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Piece Of Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Luna del Sur

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tulum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Posada Luna del Sur
Calle Luna Sur 5 | Tulum Pueblo, Tulum 77780, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 74 hotels in Tulum
USA
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Little Piece Of Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2008

This was our second trip within the last year to this hotel. The beaches of Tulum, especially El Paraiso, about seven minutes by car from this hotel, are some of the most beautiful beaches I have been to. The green blue water, baby powder sand and warm temperatures make this such a special place to go to. And it is so affordable if you do it right. Even if you don't, it is, but there are ways to make this even more magical than I can even describe here.

I can't say enough nice things about Janet, Jack and their sweet little place. We chose to live in the town of Tulum instead of at the beach because we wanted to be able to afford a long vacation. We spent nine days our first trip and eight our second. And although this is not on the beach, I think you get a lot more for your money. Most of the hotels out at the beach don't have air conditioning which for us, is an absolute necessity. You will also pay much much more for your accommodations and unless you want to be spending between 300 - 450 a night, which I really don't think they are worth, this place is all one would need.

We like this place because it feels safe and clean and quiet and cool. It is decorated with a great sense of style. If you really look at it you will see that everything seems to be chosen for a specific reason. Little details, like the banana trees in the garden, the way your towels each day are transformed into the shapes of swans, hearts and little dolls and your bed strewn with flowers. Or the way each night as you enter through the gate, Jack has an incense burning in a little bowl that contains various coins that perhaps people have made wishes into in hopes of returning to this special place. It has wonderful air conditioning, nice big comfortable beds with great linens, a little balcony that overlooks their charming garden, and everyday after you come back from the beach, the place is immaculate.

Janet and Jack couldn't be more helpful and kind and they really do everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

Although in my eyes this hotel has everything I need, it is not the type of place to go to if you are expecting room service, people to carry your luggage, ironing boards, hair dryers, your laundry done, etc. Of course Janet and Jack will help you with anything that they have and will do anything they can for you. Nor is this place the type of hotel that you will pull up to and think Wow. it's once you are inside that you discover its magic. The town of Tulum might to some seem poor or a bit rundown, but honestly, if you embrace it, there are many kind shopowners that make great coffees and little sandwiches and couldn't be more helpful.

Tulum is really a place to go and kind of get lost and relax. And even though we stay in the town of Tulum, the bottom line is that we are really only there to shower and sleep. We pick up a cafe con leche to go in the morning and head out to the beach to have breakfast on the sand. We spend every other minute swimming or reading under trees at El Paraiso beach until about 5 pm when we walk along the sand to the local beach hut and sip a corona while swinging on the bar's swings and watch the sunset.

In the evening we try all of these terrific little romantic spots along the beach that are so affordable, considering the fact that you are sitting at candle lit table some of which are on the sand listening to the ocean with warm breezes blowing accompanied at some restaurants by live Latin music. You could also eat in town, but there is something special about the ocean breezes at night with all the candles lit. I think it is much more special.

A couple of places to keep in mind to eat at are Mezzanine for either breakfast or dinner, the views are fantastic, Zamas directly on the beach too again for either breakfast or dinner, the back deck of Piedra Escondida (not sure on the spelling but it is right by Zamas) and on Sunday nights, and only Sunday, the outdoor bar at La Zebra on the beach is a great place to salsa on the sand. Don't miss it if you are there on a Sunday.

The bottom line is that you will hopefully make Tulum your own special place. Just make sure you like the water and the sun and slowing down to listen to the wind and to look at the stars and you will be fine.

Thank you Janet and Jack for always welcoming us back "home".

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    595
    82
    10
    5
    5
See reviews for
44
462
40
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2008

I had done a LOT of research prior to booking my vacation to Tulum and I had spent a LOT of hours on TripAdvisor trying to make sense of other people's reviews. When I stumbled upon Posada Luna del Sur's page, I was skeptical that it was really as good as people write about. Our first step into the hotel Janet welcomed us as if we were long, lost family members. She sat with us with a map of Tulum and highlighted places to go, places to eat, and things to stay away from. Both her and Jack deserve a lot of credit for our fun, relaxing, and adventurous vacation. We would 100% recommend Posada Luna del Sur to friends and family and will hopefully return again soon. We were sad we had to leave after 4 nights with them. It was great to stay in town and not a problem to not stay right on the beach. The beach is a good 10 minute drive and I definitely recommend renting a car... the walk can be brutal and you will more than likely get a major sunburn in the process. Not only for driving to the beach, but a car is helpful if you plan to go to any cenotes, diving spots, or other towns in the area.

  • Liked — Hands-on attention and advice
  • Disliked — If I had to pick something, I'd say I wished there was a full kitchenette
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2008

My husband and I were guests at this hotel May 3 - 10. It was beyond all our expectations. The owners are wonderful people who really want to make their guests happy. They gave us lots of information so that we could make some informed choices about places to eat, go to the beach, etc. The hotel was spotless, the beach (Ana y Jose's) was beautiful and the ruins were spectacular.

We bought environmentally friendly suntan lotion before we left home. It isn't required at the beach but I can highly recommend thebrand that we bought. We went to the beach for three days and never burned under that extremely strong sun. The brand name is Mexitan and I got it over the internet.

The trip was just perfect with much of the credit going to Jack and Janet of Posada Luna del Sur.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, MN
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2008

This was our first trip to Mexico and we were a little apprehensive from all our reading on Trip Advisor. Our stay at the Posada Luna del Sur was the starting point of our trip and it set the tone for our whole trip… relax, enjoy, have fun and relax some more. The owners, Jack and Janet, were beyond gracious hosts. Our room was spacious, clean, and quiet and gave us the opportunity to experience Mexico, not just the all-inclusive hotel experience. Jack and Janet helped us plan our daily adventures, giving us referrals for trusted tours that were small and quant (no buses or mobs of people). Their intimate knowledge of the area and their relationship with high quality tour guides enabled us to experience Tulum in a unique and special way. The frequent words we heard from Jack were; you want to do that…done! And everything was arranged.

Although Posada Luna del Sur is in town, we still walked the beaches of Tulum, enjoyed wonderful dinners overlooking the ocean at a great restaurant called Mezzanine, and shopped and walked around the town of Tulum with no worries. (We did rent a car at the airport) The breakfasts of fresh fruit, Mexican sweet breads, fresh squeezed orange juice and fresh pressed coffee was the perfect way to start every morning. We had a large five-gallon jug of bottled water in the room and also a refrigerator, so we always had cold water to drink. The rooms are air-conditioned with two ceiling fans and our room had a sliding glass door out to the private garden Janet has made. Janet has done such a nice job of decorating her inviting and homey posada. If you want to experience the small town of Tulum and are not just vacationing for the endless supply of food, liquor and people that the all-inclusive resorts provide, then this is the place for you. Stop by and relax, enjoy, have fun and relax some more. We’re glad we did.

  • Liked — How Jack & Janet make their guest feel so special
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2008

Nice rooms. The refrigerator was a big help. A large purified water container (20 liters ?) was provided that was a big help too. The owners spent a good amount of personal time recommending places to visit and eat. Their personal attention exceeded that of the other hotel owners we encountered during our two weeks in the Yucatán. There's plenty of parking in the garage and on the street. Note that the hotel is not anywhere near the beach, rather it is in town of Tulum, a charming small Mexican town with a number of good restaurants. Although it would be nice to be right on the beach, there are a number of positive points to being in the town, like walking access to restaurants and grocery stores. Also, there are a number of beaches, lagoons, and sinkholes that are dispersed throughout the region that are close by, so why stay isolated on one beach?

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2008

I was on my honeymoon traveling around the Yucatan peninsula and decided to stay at Posada Luna Del Sur for 3 nights during my trip at Tulum. It is possibly the best decision I have made.

True to what others have shared, the friendly and gracious service that the owners (Janet and Jack) has extended to us were exceptional. Whilst the inn's location are not next to the sea the town location provides easy access to many eateries (ask Janet for her favorites).

To both my wife and I, what distinguishes Posada Luna del sur from the rest stems from the love between Janet and Jack which is shared and felt by all their guests. The warm smiles and travel tips that they generously dish out constantly makes me feel like an old friend or even that of a family member.

Posada Luna Del Sur has indeed became our home away from home and I know that we will definitely return when we are back in Tulum.

Catherine and Alex
Singapore
2008

To Janet and Jack, thank you for your hospitality and we hope that our paths cross soon

  • Liked — The service of the hosts are amazing
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver CO
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2008

My brother and I are not the type that stay in mega-resorts. We like to feel the culture within which we travel, and staying in a small posada in the heart of Tulum was a great idea.
The proprietors of this facility (Janet and Jack) are kind and caring, and helped us with everything from the dive shop (Maya Diving-which was also excellent) to restaurants and points of interest, to laundry, to internet, to EVERYTHING! They are English-speakers, so that's an added plus for those of you that are Espanol-challenged. The entire hotel is safe and secure, so there's no worry about that.
The rate was good, the room was spotless, the beds were comfortable, we had bottled water, a safe, a fridge and A/C.....everything we could have possibly needed.
The Continental Breakfast they provide gives you the opportunity to eat light and early, and hit the dives or whatever else you might be doing with some fruit and croissants in your stomach, and a smile on your face.
We loved it and would not hesitate to recommend it to all you "normal people" that want to stay in a place where you're actually IN MEXICO.....not some "compound" that feels like Disneyland...and you can walk to everything in town.
Thank you Janet and Jack....you helped make a wonderful trip that much better!

  • Liked — proximity to town
  • Disliked — there was nothing I didn't like about it.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Posada Luna del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Luna del Sur

Address: Calle Luna Sur 5 | Tulum Pueblo, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#5 Best Value Hotel in Tulum
#7 Family Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Luna del Sur is a delightful small boutique hotel of 12 private suites, which has earned praise for excellence value, service, comfort and quality from travelers around the world. The suites are graciously proportioned and lovingly appointed. Immaculately maintained suites include; king size or double bed sleeping accommodations (roll-away beds available for parties of three on request) cozy sitting area, balcony or patio area, mini fridge, unlimited bottled water, ceiling fans, A/C, security safe, cable TV, free WiFi hotspot, hot water and our signature a la carte breakfast inspire care-free times and peaceful dreams. Our hotel is focused on value, service, comfort and quality. We believe you can still stay at a quality boutique hotel in Tulum, without breaking your bank. A gem in the Riviera Maya, we invite you to come and discover why. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Posada Luna Del Sur Hotel Tulum
Posada Luna Del Sur Tulum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Luna del Sur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Posada Luna del Sur to your Saves list