We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel a bit of the busy main part of Tulum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Luna del Sur

Save Saved
You added Posada Luna del Sur to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada Luna del Sur
Calle Luna Sur 5 | Tulum Pueblo, Tulum 77780, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 76 hotels in Tulum
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great hotel a bit of the busy main part of Tulum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel at the end of January. We liked the location of this hotel which is a couple of blocks away from the noise downtown. As others have mentioned, Tom is a very attentive host who gave us great suggestions including a kayak trip with Antonio in the preserve, one of the best guides ever. The breakfasts were excellent and we enjoyed the roof top dining area. The only slight complaint my wife had is the the roughness of the towels. But we would stay here again if we visit Tulum once more.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    598
    83
    10
    5
    5
See reviews for
46
464
40
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Besides being a lovely hotel with a great rooftop deck, it's really the customer service that sets this place apart. Tom, the manager and owner, was extremely attentive and responsive to his guests. He forewarned everyone about the neighbourhood Christmas Eve party that would last until 3 am with gifts of chocolate and mini bottles of tequila on our doors and set us up with a driver to Mahahual on short notice. Tulum is not the prettiest of towns and the hotel is a nice respite from that. They also serve the best breakfasts; generous, fresh and tasty with a local daily special.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Tulum is a quiet village which happens to be near the best beaches and Si'an Kaan reserve. You have two choices: Stay on the beach or in town. Both are of interest.

We stayed in town because we came to use Tulum as a base to explore Coba and Si'an Kaan. It was an exploratory visit. We WILL BE BACK. I now have to hike and bike through Si'an Kaan and explore the rest of this exquisitely beautiful part of Mexico and the Americas.

Tom, Brenda, and Ricardo assured us a great stay in a wonderfully safe little town. Tom's place is lovely. It is not a 5 star resort. There is no pool or massive gardens. It is a quiet little hotel come bed and breakfast, with Tom being the best concierge ever. He knows the town and the services offered. On arrival, you are presented with Tom's map, which provides insider's information. He helps at no personal gain to arrange trips with various tour people and taxi drivers, who are all willing to help.

He offers an excellent breakfast with anything you could really want or need.

The folks with whom he works from Antonio of Yucatan Outdoors to Artemio a taxicab driver were all very pleasant people who provided excellent cost effective trips.

thank you to all!
Frankly, staying in Tulum with Tom was one of my best experiences in Mexico. A country I visit on a regular basis with my expatriate Mexican spouse.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

It's tough to figure out where to start complementing Posada Luna! This trip was my second time back now and the feeling was like returning to visit old friends. Tom, who runs the place, is a fantastic host... and his staff are great people as well... friendly, courteous and genuine. That's what makes the place.

When you arrive you get a map of the area with Tom's personal favourite spots around Tulum... from beaches to restaurants to bars to little shops. You're ready to start exploring from check in, with proper suggestions from a local, and that's just the immediate area. Once you're settled in ask Tom about Antonio, the coolest and most knowledgable tour guide you'll have the pleasure to meet... and get ready to explore some beautiful places. Antonio is a private tour guide that works closely with the hotel... awesome guy, speaks English and Spanish. He'll take you out on a wide range of day trips to explore cenotes, lagoons, ruins, nature reserves and much more... always in small groups, with a real personal touch, and very educational as well. The price for these tours are well worth the money, you get so much more than you could imagine out of the day for a reasonable fee if you're feeling adventurous.

The breakfast staff whip up home made local feasts every morning, included in the cost of the hotel. Ask for the Special to experience some delicious local dishes... if you want something more North American, they'll gladly prepare you some eggs, bacon and hash browns too. This meal will leave you well full for the day, saving you money and leaving you ready to head out and enjoy Tulum.

When you come back to the room, you will find a charming, super clean space with AC, hot shower, plenty fresh bottled drinking water, fridge, tv and comfortable king size bed. You can also head up to chill on the roof where there's board games, music, a loungey atmosphere, wifi, and a gentle breeze... you might even make some friends. This hotel seems to draw in a great mixed crowd of travellers too. You will find yourself very comfortable at the end of a day in beautiful Tulum.

The hotel is pretty central in Tulum town, just a 60 peso cab ride from gorgeous beaches. You could rent a bicylce, scooter or car right in the area too. Plenty of restaurants, bars, lounges and shops nearby as well as other essentials like grocery stores, pharmacies and more. All walking distance.

I don't know what more you could ask for when trying to pick a place to stay at... Posada Luna seems to cover all the angles. Enjoy!

Room Tip: I'm pretty sure all the rooms are the same... although I think some might be a little more tucke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Posada Luna del Sur was a beautiful oasis in the heart of Tulum. Most importantly this hotel is clean and well cared for. Good mattress, sheets and towels. Our host Tom and his dad were beyond helpful. Thanks to them both. The rooftop breakfasts were the perfect start to every day. Thank you, Ricardo! Such lovely service and a beautiful sky to enjoy our fresh food. Divine. Best place we stayed during our entire trip. Nothing else compared and it was a fair price. We also enjoyed walking the back roads of Tulum near our hotel. And the beach is a quick taxi drive away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in Tulum Town. The breakfasts lived up to expectation following the reviews we read, Tom's advice and tips for around town and the area were excellent in terms of the restaurants to visit, places to go & how to get there. If you do stay here, don't forget to visit the beach front.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Tom was brilliant when we arrived, I know it's only a little thing but the map we received was the best and most informative I have ever had anywhere in the world. His restaurant recommendations were spot on.

Lovely rooms with great beds, showers, free water, cable TV. Beautiful rooftop terrace and a fantastic breakfast included. The only minor issue we had was our room didn't get a lot of natural light (number 11) but that is been super picky. There was a little bit of noise from a party upstairs one night (not over the top) and it didn't bother us, but Tom went out of his way to apologise the next morning. Hard to fault for the price and you would be mad to stay anywhere else in Tulum!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada Luna del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Luna del Sur

Address: Calle Luna Sur 5 | Tulum Pueblo, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#2 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#8 Family Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Luna del Sur is a delightful small boutique hotel of 12 private suites, which has earned praise for excellence value, service, comfort and quality from travelers around the world. The suites are graciously proportioned and lovingly appointed. Immaculately maintained suites include; king size or double bed sleeping accommodations (roll-away beds available for parties of three on request) cozy sitting area, balcony or patio area, mini fridge, unlimited bottled water, ceiling fans, A/C, security safe, cable TV, free WiFi hotspot, hot water and our signature a la carte breakfast inspire care-free times and peaceful dreams. Our hotel is focused on value, service, comfort and quality. We believe you can still stay at a quality boutique hotel in Tulum, without breaking your bank. A gem in the Riviera Maya, we invite you to come and discover why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Posada Luna del Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Luna Del Sur Hotel Tulum
Posada Luna Del Sur Tulum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Luna del Sur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.