We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No-stress, economical charmer in Tulum Pueblo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Luna del Sur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Posada Luna del Sur to your Saves list
Posada Luna del Sur
Calle Luna Sur 5 | Tulum Pueblo, Tulum 77780, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 77 Hotels in Tulum
San Carlos, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“No-stress, economical charmer in Tulum Pueblo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2008

We stayed here in the days leading up to our wedding on the beach. We were looking for a place with reliable internet and a helpful staff where the only thing we would have to worry about was our upcoming wedding.

We got just what we wanted at Posada Luna del Sur. As has been noted frequently, Janet and Jack are exceedingly accommodating and friendly, without being overbearing. And they pay close attention to the details so that there are no surprises when you get here.

Beachfront hotels have great scenery, but the nice restaurants, the nightlife, stores and banks are all in the town of Tulum. Posada Luna del Sur is convenient to all of these, and is right around the corner from the second-largest supermarket in town.

And there is nothing better than returning to sweet-smelling, clean, starched sheets and towels after a long day at the beach or seeing the sights. The 20-liter jug of water is replenished daily, and the internet and power are reliable. Hallelujah!

We moved to the beach for our wedding night, but we truly appreciated our time at the Posada Luna del Sur and the help Janet and Jack offered in making our celebration magical!

  • Liked — The helpfulness of the owners; cleanliness
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    83
    10
    5
    5
See reviews for
46
471
41
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2008

We spent five days with Jack and Janet and wish it could have been longer. Their hospitality,helpfulness and local knowledge could not have been bettered.We echo entirely the positive comments made by previous guests.This hotel is excellent value for money!
In response to the negative comments: we found the rooms a generous size, and spotless, the "jug" of drinking water was more the size of a barrel, and we experienced only a small amount of noise, which is only to be expected in a town.(Ear plugs were on hand if required!!) In fact anything we asked for was instantly provided by J & J. We loved the little breakfast room,everyone was so chatty and friendly. It was a good start to the day!
Tulum is a little Mexican town, (some distance from the beach)and if you want to experiece the real Mexico,stay here. Otherwise buy yourself a time share in Playa del Carmen!!!

  • Stayed January 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa Falls, Iowa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2008

We thought that Posada Luna del Sur was close to the beach. This is wrong. Do not stay here if you think you'll be taking a stroll down a nice road for five minutes and arriving at the water. But Janet and Jack are good people who maintain a nice place. It is clean, economical and safe. The rooms are nice. There is nothing fancy about the hotel and it is a come and go as you please atmosphere. Janet took time to show us where to eat and her recommendations were all good ones. In essence, this is a nice place run by a nice couple who will do all they can to see that you have an enjoyable time. If you want to be pampered and wake up to the waves, spend the extra money and get a cabana on the beach. If you want quick access to the town of Tulum at a very affordable price, this is a great place to stay.

  • Liked — Price, Clean and Cozy
  • Disliked — Location in contrast with beach and no beach access
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2008

OK, so there's no pool or beach-front accommodation, but Posada Luna Del Sur has the hosts with the most - the fabulous Jack & Janet. Nothing was too much trouble and absolutely everything was possible! They happily guided us in regard to the best Tulum has to offer from beaches, restaurants, shopping and tours to the most trusted drug-store when replacement medication was needed. Without the fabulous J's help, my daughter's luggage would still be somewhere between Georgia, Mexico City and NY. It took the better part of a week for the airlines to locate and deliver the luggage to Tulum. Jack & Janet offered temporary clothing, shoes, toiletries etc and allowed me to simply park the problem with them and they took care of it - an absolute godsend. An added bonus of Posada Luna Del Sur is the large, clean and comfy rooms as well as a variety of restaurants, banks and all the amenities you could ever need within walking distance. Would I recommend this hotel? In a heartbeat!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2008

We stayed in Posada Luna del Sur for two nights during our trip to Tulum pueblo and could not have been more happy with our visit (unless, of course, we could have stayed longer). Jack and Janet are wonderful hosts--unassuming, warm, and kind and generous with not only their suggestions for restaurants, but also their time in general. We had several conversations with both of them--about the hotel, nearby places to visit, and the town itself. Jack and Janet do everything they can to make sure your stay is comfortable and relaxing. They define their visitors as a "family of guests"--and they make every effort to make you feel at home. The stories Jack tells are both heartwarming and eye-opening.

I did not notice any of the noise problems discussed in one of the recent reviews. When you're staying in town, you can expect a certain amount of noise. Still, we both slept quite well both nights. Overslept in fact--we arrived to the breakfast room on the late side one morning. Still, Jesus was there to make us a couple glasses of freshly squeezed orange juice and coffee (served with fresh fruit, fresh bread, and nutella!--yum!). Given the nightly rate of the hotel, the breakfast is quite luxurious. What more could you ask for?!!

Also, about Tulum pueblo ... if you are traveling to Tulum to be part of the resort crowd, then perhaps you would be better off staying on the beach If, though, you're interested in actually talking to and being with the locals, then Tulum pueblo is the perfect place. The town is perfectly safe and incredibly friendly. We had several conversations with taxi drivers, store vendors, and other locals. Again, though, if what you want is a more American version of Mexico ... then head to the beach. Or, you know, stay in the states.

Thank you Jack and Janet for the wonderful visit and memorable conversations.

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east coast
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2008

We agree with much of what the positive reviews report about this hotel, but we would not return there. While Janet and Jack were polite and helpful to us when we asked about restaurants to visit, and while the place was very clean, there were several things we didn't like (some of which are not the fault of the hotel's owners).

We did not like the location -- in our opinion, the town of Tulum was not nice, and we would definitely NOT recommend staying there if there is any space in one of the similarly priced hotels on the beach. The town certainly has its charms, but more in the category of a NYC subway platform if a talented musician is playing there, not a vacation destination. It's crowded and noisy (we were woken up early every day by dogs barking or loud construction, and sometimes both), and far from the beach. It wasn't relaxing.

The rooms made us feel constrained. The ceilings are low, there is little natural light, and the bathrooms aren't very nice. The view is of a wall a few feet away. There's no "kitchenette," just a little fridge and a big jug of drinking water. The room didn't feel at all romantic to us. And the hotel itself was extremely cramped. Yes, J&J work hard to put nice plants in the very limited space that there is in the hallway, but there is no real common space in the hotel (other than an empty room where they serve breakfast each morning), and it's just kind of a downer to come back after spending the day on the beach.

When on vacation we often like to sleep later than 9 am, but because of the noise and the constraining feeling of the rooms, we wanted out of there ASAP each morning.

We didn't like the fact that we received only one key, and that you needed the key to get OUT as well as to get in. That meant we couldn't ever leave separately unless one of us was literally locked in.

We of course do not doubt that J&J truly care about their customers, and they clearly put their hearts into the business. We appreciated that. But higher on our list on vacation is beauty, relaxation, feeling happy to wake up in the hotel we've chosen, and accessibility to the real reason we have traveled. We didn't find that at this hotel.

  • Liked — housekeeper
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janetjackPLS, Owners at Posada Luna del Sur, responded to this review, January 16, 2008
Hi spaghettiforme,

Many thanks for agreeing with "much of what the positive reviews report" about our Posada.

Tulum pueblo, one of the vertices of Tulum, continues to be an authentic, unassuming little mexican town, still populated dominantly by the descendants of the Maya. The ripple of Cancun-style development for Tulum is as powerful as it is relentless, and we fear Tulum will cease to exist as it is today in the not too distant future. This development pressure has resulted in a widespread and unprecedented construction boom by virtue of the staggering influx of cash from the sale of land. We are happy to report that the construction from the neighbor appears to have been completed, and we apologize for the noise created during your stay. However, we would like to make you aware that we spent a very significant amount of time negotiating his construction schedules to protect the peace and well-being of our guests, both at the local as well as state level to no avail. Sorry. We are likewise happy to present an update with respect to the doggies (we are doggie people ourselves). Our repeated efforts to address the problem of strays with animal rescue (SPCA-homologue) have at last succeeded.

The breakfast room in our little Hotel could hardly be characterized as an empty room, and wish you could have experienced it as a place to interact and meet our family of guests. Fascinating and heartwarming stories!

We agree that there are many beach-front hotels in the Riviera Maya at a different price point which have earned distinction in Tripadvisor and elsewhere, and would be pleased to offer such guidance for your stay during your next visit.

Thanks again for your willingness to share you opinion with the Tripadvisor community. We are grateful for the opportunity to have welcomed you during your visit to Tulum.

Best wishes,

Janet and Jack
Owners
Posada Luna del Sur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2008

Stayed one week in Dec in an enormous, bright, colorful room. Kept nice and clean by "world renowned" towel artist Jesus. Jack and Janet welcomed us with open arms and had answers to all our questions and directed to the best eats and beach club. New Year's Eve rooftop terrace get-together was unexpected and real cool. Great folks, great little hotel. Thank you Janet and Jesus, and au revoir, Jacques :)

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada Luna del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Luna del Sur

Address: Calle Luna Sur 5 | Tulum Pueblo, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#2 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#9 Family Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Luna del Sur is a delightful small boutique hotel of 12 private suites, which has earned praise for excellence value, service, comfort and quality from travelers around the world. The suites are graciously proportioned and lovingly appointed. Immaculately maintained suites include; king size or double bed sleeping accommodations (roll-away beds available for parties of three on request) cozy sitting area, balcony or patio area, mini fridge, unlimited bottled water, ceiling fans, A/C, security safe, cable TV, free WiFi hotspot, hot water and our signature a la carte breakfast inspire care-free times and peaceful dreams. Our hotel is focused on value, service, comfort and quality. We believe you can still stay at a quality boutique hotel in Tulum, without breaking your bank. A gem in the Riviera Maya, we invite you to come and discover why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Posada Luna del Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Luna Del Sur Hotel Tulum
Posada Luna Del Sur Tulum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Luna del Sur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.