We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude staff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Weary Traveler Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Weary Traveler Hostel to your Saves list
Weary Traveler Hostel
Tulum #36, Tulum 77780, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Wellington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Rude staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are dark and damp, weird computerized system for everything, breakfast you cook yourself with rations, staff so lovely and friendly before check in then don't expect them to talk to you again, force you to review hostel before you leave in front of them so you feel obliged to put good ratings. Good location in the middle of tulum though ..

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    60
    45
    38
    41
See reviews for
2
46
78
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed in a private room at the Weary Traveler for 3 nights. During high season starting in December/January it gets really busy so its really tough to get a room or even a dorm bed. They do not take reservations so the best way to get a bed is to show up right at checkout time (11:00) and be the first one in line at the front desk. Comes with a great breakfast, I would say the best hostel breakfast ive had in a long time. Always great entertainment in the communal area, usually a reggae band or drummers. No bikes at the hostel which is a bit of a drag since most of the other hostels in the area have bikes available for the 15 minute cruise to the beach. There is a bike store on the corner of the block but they were often all rented out by 11-12:00. They do have a free beach shuttle at 9am and 1am which is nice. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Get there early because they dont take reservations. First come first serve starting at check out t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetumal, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed 4 nights in a mixed dorm and had a good stay, the hostel system was computised, which worked well, like ordering free breakfast, free return bus journey to the beach etc... You can cook your own food in the kitchen provided and they supply free water. The room was kept clean by the staff but cant say the same for other travellers though! :) The staff were friendly and helpful and we booked a trip to swim with turtles and swim in the Cenotes - well worth it. Super 2 for 1 cocktails during happy hour! I would stay there again.

The unfussy traveller x

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Weary Traveller in September and, save Palenque, have yet to find such a high concentration of hippies at a hostel anywhere in Central America. Most of the locals who worked there were fine, apart from one young guy who was really nice until we had paid, & then seemed to be really angry all the time, especially after we gave the hostel an honest rating on that daft survey they make you do. The American guy who owned it was really rude on a couple of occasions when we tried to ask for information. The rooms were okay & the location was good. Breakfast was a weird set-up, they appeared to have adopted a hippy just to give out eggs and bread in the morning & tell you stories of his 'wild nights' on LSD while you're cooking them.
It had a weird atmosphere but would be a decent hostel if the staff gave their heads a wobble & sorted their attitude out.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondi, Australia
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We had a mix up with our booking at Chalupa and booked into Weary Traveler, Town was busy that week so we booked 3 nights in a private room which is in a building across the road from the main hostel.

You get your sheets and pillows like a prison roll (in the movies) when you check it, they even have numbers on the sheets like a prison roll. The sheets are sewn together so it is impossible to actually make the bed with them or tuck them in.

We have stayed in nearly 30 hostels in the last 9 months and this would be in the bottom 3, except not as cheap as the others in the bottom 3.

Pros:
The room and bathroom were clean
The staff at the front desk were friendly
There is a good cafe next to the main hostel where you can get good internet, tea and coffee which means you can avoid the nasty common areas in the hostel itself.
The shower was strong and hot

Cons:
The rooms are like prison cells.
The internet is very weak meaning you need to go to the main hostel for a decent connection
The main hostel common areas are grotty, tables are sticky and covered in ash and cigarette butts.
The cord of the fan had a bunch of live wires all taped together, we worried about touching it by mistake in the night.
The kitchen is foul and packed also located across the road from our room
We gave up on the free (cook your own) breakfast and paid elsewhere. There was no comfort or enjoyment cooking or eating there.
You feel like a factory animal at breakfast time
There is a feedback box on the computer system they use, but the people monitor what you write as you write it.
There are no cosy spaces or places to hang out, just the massive (grotty) outdoor area
We have stayed in some gorgeous places for the same price all over central america, this has to be the worst vibe place we have been to so far.

Tulum is not a cheap place to stay but if you have to choose between here and paying a bit more for Hostal Chalupa, you should definitely choose Chalupa! Or if you can do without internet head to the beach.

Room Tip: The private rooms are in a building across the road from the main hostel. This is a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Worst hostel ever! They keep responding talking about their guest satisfaction survey but the staff stand there and watch you fill out the answers so many people feel too awkward to tell the truth. Don't believe them!

Terrible bathrooms with automatic lights that stay on well passed the time that you need the bathroom thus keeping everyone awake until they turn off.

Dirty, cramped, hot and noisy rooms. Last night there were people making noise until 4am!! My whole room was getting up early to go scuba diving so it was extra annoying that they didn't quiet it down.

The sheets are some weird pillow sheet sleeping bag combination... All attached together. You may like it but i didn't find it comfortable at all.

Been hosteling in Mexico for 6 weeks and this was the worst one overall.








  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heerlen, Nederland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Great place to meet people! Nice bar, good music and friendly staff. A hostel with a real backpackers vipe. But it would be better if there was a communal bathroom / toilet. The dorms are small because every dorm has its own bathroom, toilet. Thats not very practical.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Weary Traveler Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weary Traveler Hostel

Address: Tulum #36, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Weary Traveler Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weary Traveler Hotel Tulum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Weary Traveler Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.