We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach Tulum

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Beach Tulum to your Saves list
The Beach Tulum
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Road Tulum-Boca Paila km 7, Tulum 77780, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 80 Hotels in Tulum
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We came to the Beach Tulum for our honeymoon for 10 nights in sept/oct. We had a fantastic time and would definitely recommend the hotel. Our room was beautiful, right on the beach, with amazing views (even from the shower!). We had a rooftop terrace with hot tub and sun loungers which was brilliant. The room was always really well cleaned, with cute towel art.

We arrived a couple of days after a bad storm, which we think had damaged the roof of the Ziggy beach restaurant, as this was closed for our stay. This was initially really disappointing for us, as eating/drinking by the beach was one of the main attractions for us. However, we soon realised that the staff are so fantastic that they will always find a way to arrange whatever you want to do / need. For example, on our first night we had a special full moon dinner by the beach, and had a special table set up the outdoor restaurant a couple of times, and ate on the porch in our room. The food was fantastic, and we ate almost all of our meals in the hotel. The lobby area of the hotel is great, although we found it a bit dark in the daytime. The pools are also always lovely and clean.

We loved Tulum, and went on some great trips whilst we were there. We would especially recommend Yucatan adventure tours for a trip to Sian Kann, and the Calypso Dive center for snorkeling. Both were fantastic, and were recommended by the hotel.

Just a few tips for the hotel which would help improve the experience for others:
- We stayed in a deluxe, superior room, which was great, however we would have loved to have a hammock (as the cheaper rooms did), I don't think it would be too difficult to hook one up.
-When we checked in we would have appreciated more info on the hotel e.g. that the Ziggy outdoor restaurant was closed- as we were really disappointed to stumble across it and realise it wasn't going to open during our stay
- A few times to planned hotel activities were a bit confusing. We soon realised that they aren't automatically put on- you need to ask for them (e.g. the ceviche class on Sunday afternoon)- again would have been useful to know this on check in

The above are all very minor points and we would definitely recommend the hotel. All of the staff were so welcoming and friendly. The area is also brilliant, I almost cried when we had to leave!

Room Tip: The Deluxe Superior room was great. We were in room 201 which was right next to the lobby area. We f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    49
    13
    7
    3
See reviews for
19
282
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had such an amazing experience at our stay at the The Beach in Tulum. I cannot say enough about how amazing the rooms were. Our room was on the beach and we even had our own walkway that lead directly to the beach. There was a large porch with a couch, table, and even a hammock - all with perfect views towards the ocean, beach, and palms trees. It was an amazing thing to wake up to each morning.

The beach was really nice, even though we had been there after a week of bad storms. They have large beds with pillows on the private beach, some in the shade and some in the sun. There are waiters from the restaurant who will bring you food and drinks to your bed on the beach. The pool was pretty amazing as well.

We had a wonderful experience with all the staff at the hotel. In particular, one of the waiters, Neri, went above and beyond in making our stay one of the best. All of the hotel staff was willing to go above and beyond for you, so much so that you felt like you were a part of the "hotel family".

They also have absolutely amazing food in the restaurant. We were highly impressed with the breakfast, lunch, and dinner served there. So much so, that we didn't feel the need to leave the hotel for all our meals.

We were absolutely charmed by this hotel and our stay here and definitely plan on returning in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

After the mass evacuation of all the hotels on the beach road I thought our vacation would be ruined. Our group went back to Playa for seemingly the entirety of our trip. But no, the very next morning we were on our way back to The Beach.
The Beach went above and beyond what almost every other hotel in the area could not do. Reopen and make our week as wonderful as it could be. Our room, the staff, ,Fernando and 185 hatchling turtles and the rest were THE CALM AFTER THE STORM.
Thank You all and see you soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
244 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4,224 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Yes, every time I end up here I get upgrades, not sure if they do it in a regular basis, or because they already know me, whatever the reason is, this place always on top. The view from the rooms are always amazing, they keep it always clean and the service also adds to the amazing hotel. If you want great service, great drinks at their bar, and just an awesome vacation, you should come here.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We vacationed at The Beach Tulum, Sept. 21-25, right after the terrible rain storms that Tulum went through. The hotel did a good job of staying in touch with us in advance to let us know the status of things. This was the second time we have stayed at this hotel.

The staff there are great -- we are terrible with names -- but all the staff did a fantastic job even though there were standouts! We had a lot of plans for different places to eat, but with the weather and low season we ended eating most of our breakfast and lunches there at the hotel and we were never disappointed with our selections. The fish filet and fish tacos at lunch were great, as were the huevos motulenos and egg/choizo burrito at breakfast. We never ate dinner here. The bar area is very nice and the bartender was very friendly to talk to in the evenings.

The room was very comfortable and so was the bed - no issues with the air conditioning at night while we were there. Cooled off very quick! From the last time we stayed they had added curtains between the sleeping area and bathroom area, foot baths at front door and on patio and had even put a broom in the room. It was nice to be able to sweep some ourselves to keep the sand down in the room. Loved the hammock! Liked they had added a piece of furniture to the room to help with storage. Good safe in the room and plenty of hangers in closet. They do provide some bath products in the room.

Just a note, not a complaint. Our only issue we had while there was getting change for the large peso bills the ATM in town provided. We didn't expect the hotel to be a cambio for us, but it would have made it easier to tip their staff if we had more readily had change. We did hit a cambio in town to get change a couple of times, but it meant a trip to town/cab fare to somewhere to get change.

Great hotel and we will stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I was seeking out a great place to surprise my wife for a romantic dinner on the beach during our honeymoon in Tulum. I contacted Ziggy's Beach Club and I received incredible non-stop service from start to finish. We were greeted warmly and taken care of by José and the staff at Ziggy's. The Chef, Miguel, prepared a wonderful four course dinner: we HIGHLY recommend the Tuna Nachos!!! The drinks were equally incredible-we had the best piña colada there-and I have to mention the spectacular beach! Everything was so good. They set up a table for two right on the sand with tiki torches and flowers surrounding us. We even were able to witness baby sea turtles being released into the ocean! It was totally perfect, they delivered on every aspect. We felt and know we were extremely blessed. They know what they're doing when it comes to romantic dinners, and they also mentioned that they always do something different for each couple! Very special memories were made!

Room Tip: We didn't stay here, but we look forward to coming back and staying someday!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Superior rooms are gorgeous. Spacious, great bathroom (shame can't flush toilet paper but it is on the Eco area) but its the direct beach access from your patio door and views from rooftop terrace that makes it so amazing.
Pool is small, more decorative than swim, but doesn't really matter.
Ziggys is nice for drinks. Breakfast is good but thought some of the nearby restaurants were better for dinner so would recommend exploring the area.
Sells itself as adults only but families were staying 2 nights we were there - hotel team said was error of wedding planner who'd booked exclusive use for the following weekend. Hotel handled complaint well but didn't appreciate having kids around which is why I've not given 5 stars.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.5 mi away
Be Tulum Hotel
Be Tulum Hotel
#15 of 80 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 stars 677 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ahau Tulum
Ahau Tulum
#6 of 80 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 stars 552 reviews
1.7 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#32 of 80 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 stars 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#16 of 80 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 stars 493 reviews
1.8 mi away
Papaya Playa
Papaya Playa
#54 of 80 in Tulum
3.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
1.1 mi away
El Pez at Turtle Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Tulum

Address: Road Tulum-Boca Paila km 7, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 80 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Beach Tulum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Tulum is a small adult-only upscale boutique hotel with 20 specially designed rooms for your enjoyment. Our new eco-friendly hotel has many special amenities to make your stay comfortable. We offer 8 Deluxe Superior rooms with 1 King size bed 12 Deluxe rooms with 1 King size bed (6 Ground Floor & 6 First Floor) All Deluxe Superior/ Deluxe rooms are beach front and have access to a tropical garden & pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and MrandMrsSmith so you can book your The Beach Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach Tulum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.