We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome monkeys” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tulum Monkey Sanctuary

Tulum Monkey Sanctuary
Km 6 Coba Road | Direclty in front of Rancho Santa Cruz, Tulum, Mexico
984-115-4296
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 28 attractions in Tulum
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Tulum Monkey Sanctuary is a privately owned 60 acre ranch. On the ranch we have 15 rescued Spider Monkeys that live in natural habitats. There are also wild monkeys that pass through on their normal feeding routes. In addition to Spider Monkeys we have a horse, a burro, ducks, crocodiles, white tail deers, tejons and countless birds (including a Great Blue Heron, Woodpeckers, Yucatan Blue Jays and Mot-Mots).Our tours are both educational and fun. We include information on the Spider Monkeys, history of the Yucatan Peninsula and formation of the cenote system. You will have to the opportunity to swim in two of the four cenotes that are part of the Tulum Monkey Sanctuary.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome monkeys”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Spent a fab afternoon learning all about the great work these guys are doing. Jonathan was very informative, the tour was conducted at a leisurely pace, we did not feel rushed at all. My son absolutely fell in love with the monkeys, particularly the podgy one who wanted to hold his hand and get a back scratch. So sweet. How many people can say they've had the chance to do that? And at such a reasonable price! Definitely a holiday highlight! Thank you x

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    38
    4
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
salem, or
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great way to spend an afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

we went with our kids 10 and 7, they loved the monkeys and they were able to interact with them for a long time, the cenote and bridge at the end were also a highlight, the price was very reasonable and just 10 minutes from the tulum ruins, bring lots of bug spray!!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulum, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Had a great day at the monkey sanctuary, big thanks to John for bringing us around. Got closer to the monkeys than I thought would be possible, even able to feed them out of my hand and shake hands with them.

Much more to do than just monkeys, we swam in two cenotes, jumped into the larger one which is filled with bats, watch crocodiles eat the fish, and hing out with the donkeys. John was a great guide and they do great work there.Easily the best thing I did in Tulum. Nice to think that the entrance fee is going towards helping to house and feed the monkeys as well as helping them to extend their project.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unique and Memorable Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My girlfriend and I loved swimming in the cenotes (i.e. naturally forming sinkholes) and seeing and feeding the monkeys, burros, horses and doggies. I guess the old adage "don't feed the monkeys" doesn't apply in Mexico. :-)

Beautiful hiking and scenery as well, along with knowledgable and friendly guides, made this a memorable experience. Highly recommended!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great off the beaten path nature experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Our family enjoyed seeing and feeding monkeys, the burro and horse and the cenote swimming. Our guide John and host Richard were very informative and entertaining.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tulum Monkey Sanctuary also viewed

 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Tulum Monkey Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tulum Monkey Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tulum Monkey Sanctuary to your Saves list