We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable Vegan Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurare

Restaurare
Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila Km. 6, Tulum 77789, Mexico
+52 984 168 1282
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 248 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $18
Cuisines: Mexican, Organic, Fusion, Healthy, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Author vegan cuisine, supporting local products and farmers, inspired in permaculture and pursuing sustainable development all served with love in tulum's jungle, few steps from the beach.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Affordable Vegan Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Restaurare is fantastic. It was such a treat to have a totally vegan restaurant walking distance from our hotel- Posada Lamar. This was one of the heartiest, most affordable lunches we had during our stay. Highly recommend, even for non-vegans.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    51
    15
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome food even if you love meat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We eat meat. We ate at Restaurare. We loved it. You will love it. Eat there or else.

We're a couple.
We split 2 smoothies, a mushroom ceviche, an order of salbutes, and truffle dessert. Very very filling. Very very tasty. We want to eat it again right now.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“delicous vegan food in mexico!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Others at our hotel recommended it for healthy eating while we were down there. It was delicious! We went for dinner one night and were not disappointed.

Note: they do not serve any alcoholic beverages. But they have delicious juices!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rich flavours, gracious service, tranquil jungle setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

My wife and I read about Restaurare on Trip Advisor and looked forward to trying it. We found it quite by accident on the beach road one evening and, because we already had a place in mind for dinner, decided to visit the next day for lunch. We are so glad we did! The setting is idyllic, a tranquil refuge in the jungle just off the beach. We thoroughly enjoyed one of their many fresh juices (tamarind, ginger & habanero) and shared a bowl of vegetarian mole that was absolutely delicious. You'll be amazed at how a "simple" bowl of rice and sautéed veggies is transformed by a rich, complex mole. Our server was a friendly, beautiful woman: Karla. The experience was so lovely we returned the next day for lunch. Again we shared the mole. I had another tamarind/ginger/habanero juice while my wife had the white cucumber & chia & basil. Karla served us again and this time we had a wonderful conversation during which we learned she is the owner. We hit it off and somehow found the courage to ask a bold question: could we possibly see how they make their mole? Two days later - the last day of our vacation - we gladly sacrificed precious beach & novel time for a chance to spend time with Karla and her staff. What a treat! I won’t give away any secrets except to say the mole is a family recipe, handed down over the generations. It is lovingly made with fresh, organic ingredients, locally sourced whenever possible - as is everything at Restaurare - and with love. We met Mari, a beautiful, gracious woman with strong hands and a warm smile, who shared with us a few of her techniques and allowed us to watch her at work in the sanctity of her kitchen. We also got to witness the making of the finest tamales I have ever tasted, again a vegetarian rendition (without tofu or other meat substitute) that was stunning! Need I say more? Oh yes...at Karla's urging we visited a small local market later that afternoon where artisans and local food providers - including Karla and a wonderful German baker - gather on Saturday afternoons to sell there creations and raise awareness to the growing sustainability movement in the Tulum area. Check it out. You will surely consider it a culinary highlight of your visit to Tulum.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puebla, Mexico
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent for Juices and Vegetarian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We try 3 different juices and all were different and delicious the dinner menu was excellent and the take on the Salbutes and Ceviche are my suggestion for the place

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurare also viewed

 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Restaurare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.