We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Zebra Hotel, Tulum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added La Zebra Hotel, Tulum to your Saves list
La Zebra Hotel, Tulum
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Km 8.2 Carretera Tulum-Punta Allen, Tulum 77780, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 79 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Paradise Found!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

La Zebra is a beautiful boutique resort, located right on the white beaches of Tulum Mexico. It is by far the most amazing place I have ever stayed at, and I have traveled all over the world. The cabanas are very comfortable, clean and tastefully designed. The beach is as picturesque as it gets; soft white sand, crystal clear warm aquamarine water. The beach never got very crowded, and felt very private and relaxing. Friendly and helpful staff. The Restaurant has a good selection with very good food. I ate at their restaurant for every meal, no other restaurants in the area really compare. You can tell that they dedicated a lot of time to make sure the food is perfect. LA Zebra is an overall amazing hotel, i'd recommend it to anyone who wants to get away

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaZebraManager, Manager at La Zebra Hotel, Tulum, responded to this review, May 16, 2010
We thank you for such wonderfull compliments and for giving us your valuable opinion.
Our staff is very happy to hear how much their hard work is appreciated by our lovely guests.
We will certainly try to keep up the good work and improve in whatever we can to make this place even more special. see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    129
    23
    17
    12
See reviews for
133
290
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manama, Bahrain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

The weather was perfect, the water an incredibly rich blue, the proximity literally right on the beach and the staff are totally responsive without being in your face. Take insect repellent and get used to the fact that there will be sand in your room but otherwise, this is the place for the perfect relaxation holiday.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaZebraManager, Manager at La Zebra Hotel, Tulum, responded to this review, May 9, 2010
Its great to hear that we were able to provide such a relaxing atmosphere,and hope that your next holiday will be just as sensational. Today looks like another day of perfect weather... we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

La Zebra is one of the best places I have ever stayed. The room was very clean and the employees were attentive and happy all of the time. I enjoyed the views of paradise outside my window as well as the sounds of the beach. My stay was very relaxing and much needed. Thanks.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

The accommodation is simple but luxurious. The food and drinks are superb, The location is perfect. The service is first rate. Overall a 5 star experience in an amazing location. A very relaxing holiday where you can really unwind and recharge.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

We are becoming frequenters of Tulum, and it is sort of like a second home to us. Annually, we go without our kids to Mezzanine and always have a blast (same owners as LaZebra). This is the first trip we took with our 4-year-old twins and decided to stay at kid-friendly LaZebra. It was so awesome! The beach is unparalleled and our room(s) were amazing. We stayed in the "Luxury Beach Shack" and the pictures, as good as they are, don't even do it justice. It is glorious. Private, but right next to the restaurant, a sort of an outdoor kitchen with a small fridge that made having snacks for the kids really easy. The daily maid service was very thorough. We rented a car (also for the first time) which was easy (although takes a while to get), and we had our own parking right at the entrance to the lodging. The girls loved the outdoor bathtub and their "front yard" made for great sand-castle building in the shade during the heat of the day. It is so easy to take great day-trips up the beach to different restaurants or down the beach through the biosphere. A truly magical place. Would also be an amazingly romantic and a great place for a great party! My one critique is regarding the restaurant. While very friendly to kids (they LOVED the salsa lessons and they can play on several cool art/playground structures while waiting for food), the restaurant was really slow, even for Mexico standards, and even with very few people. And, as seems typical in Tulum, there is definitely no such thing as a "kids menu", so you pay a lot for even simple quesadillas, just be prepared to significant money at the restaurant. The food, however, is fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaZebraManager, Manager at La Zebra Hotel, Tulum, responded to this review, May 9, 2010
Thanks for sharing your holiday experience with us. we appreciate your suggestion about having a kids menu,we will strongly consider having somethings special for our little visitors.
At our restaurant, we prepare everything fresh to order ,however we will try our best to be faster.
best regards to you and your family, see you at la zebra!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

My girlfriend and I stay last fall and then I went back again in March. Very cool huts on the beach, absolutely beautiful beach and fabulous view from the open air restaurant. Check out salsa night on Sundays. It rocks!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

We had a large party at la zebra, 100+ people, and took up majority of the rooms at la zebra and neighboring hotels. It was phenomenal. the staff at La Zebra were incredibly helpful, and happy to accomodate any request. The party was better than we could have expected. The beach is ofcourse flawless. The mojitos beyond compare. Cabana #1 is heavenly. And the management a joy to work with.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaZebraManager, Manager at La Zebra Hotel, Tulum, responded to this review, May 5, 2010
we thank you for giving us the opportunity to be part of such an important event.
it was a pleasure to serve you, your family ,and friends. we hope to see you back
with us sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Zebra Hotel, Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Zebra Hotel, Tulum

Address: Km 8.2 Carretera Tulum-Punta Allen, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Tulum
#6 Family Hotel in Tulum
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Zebra Hotel, Tulum 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly on the beach in a historic former coconut plantation, the family-run La Zebra offers a vibrant and rustic destination among Tulum hotels, where authentic Mexican culture and cuisine infuse every facet of your stay. Escape to an intimate Tulum Mexico hotel best described as stylish and jungle-chic, with thatched roofs and colorful hammocks, coco palms swaying in the breeze, and warm Caribbean waters lapping at the shore just a few sandy steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your La Zebra Hotel, Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Zebra Hotel, Tulum Hotel Tulum
La Zebra Beach Cabanas Hotel
La Zebra Beach Cabanas Resort
La Zebra Tulum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Zebra Hotel, Tulum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.