We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in Tulum!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Zebra Hotel, Tulum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added La Zebra Hotel, Tulum to your Saves list
La Zebra Hotel, Tulum
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Km 8.2 Carretera Tulum-Punta Allen, Tulum 77780, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 77 Hotels in Tulum
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best in Tulum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We got married and stayed at La Zebra. You cant find a better place and service in Tulum!
The beach is perfect, the restaurang is very nice and on the beach. And the staff is very very nice.
Ted and Sofia

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaZebraManager, General Manager at La Zebra Hotel, Tulum, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Hi Ted & Sofia

It was a pleasure to have you here at La Zebra and we are so happy that you enjoyed your time. Once again we congratulate you guys on the wedding and we wish you all the best. Until next time,

La Zebra Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    119
    22
    17
    12
See reviews for
121
275
29
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
home
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Upon arrival, nick, greeted us with a warm smile and a cool margarita. After check in he walked us to the ocean front cabana. Cabana was small but very adiquite for the two of us. Bed was comfortable and the the bathroom was clean. If you plan on doing some reading at night, bring a portable light. Restaurant was very good and the service was great. Sunday is salsa night. Do partake in the lessons, they are fun.So don't expect to sleep before 11. Wednesday is boogy night. Disco and soul music till about 11. The other nights were quite and relaxing. The beach was lovely and there was plenty of shaded seats.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean are much cooler at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaZebraManager, General Manager at La Zebra Hotel, Tulum, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for choosing La Zebra and we are so happy to hear your stay was just lovely. I will pass your comments onto the rest of the team. Hope you had safe travels home, and can't wait to see you again!

Hotel La Zebra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

my wife and i ended our honeymoon at la zebra for four days. this was the most pristine beach we have ever been to and the ambiance generally was perfect for a relaxing finish to our getaway. only complaint was the sometimes loud music that plays in the restaurant. otherwise, go here for an escape from everything.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaZebraManager, General Manager at La Zebra Hotel, Tulum, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Hi Tyler,

Thanks a lot for you feedback and happy to hear you ended your honeymoon well with us! We wish you all the best and until next time,

La Zebra team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

This was all we could dream of! Friendly, great staff, absolutely amazing food, rooms too were amazing. Hotel is located right on the beach. Restaurant area/common area was so nice, cool, relaxing and inviting. We got to have two different rooms, jungle canopy which was very quiet, huge, clean and just perfect. We didnt mind at all that it wasnt on the beach. Last night we got the balcony suite. Huge, really nice. The only thing was that if there is a party you might hear the music at night, as the balcony faces the ocean and the area where the tables are. We didnt hear anything and had a great time!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaZebraManager, General Manager at La Zebra Hotel, Tulum, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Hi Elise,

Thank you for your lovely comments. Happy to hear you had a pleasant stay with us. We send you our best wishes. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We just returned from a ten days stay at La Zebra and we could not say anything negative about the place. Our two kids, two and a half and ten months, loved every minute of it. We rented a studio on the jungle side and it suited our needs perfectly. The room was kept in immaculate condition by housekeeping. Everyone at La Zebra is exceptionally friendly and every wish we had was taken care of immediately. It was perfect for the kids as there were a lot of other children and a small play area that we used daily.

If we go back to Tulum, we will stay at La Zebra again. No question.

Room Tip: The jungle side can be a bit hot in the evening but it cools off nicely during the night. There is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaZebraManager, General Manager at La Zebra Hotel, Tulum, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Hi Stefan,

The La Zebra team is so happy you enjoyed your stay, your comments truly enlightened our day! We wish you all the best and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Just spent a fantastic 5 days relaxing with my wife at La Zebra. This place has great accommodation which is clean, very comfortable and well kept. The staff really are first class - extremely friendly and helpful. The beach is chilled, the food delicious and the cocktails brilliant. The live music on the beach on Sunday nights was great and if you're looking for a place to relax and unwind then this is for you. I would definitely go back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaZebraManager, General Manager at La Zebra Hotel, Tulum, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Hi James,

Thanks for choosing La Zebra and your kind words mean a lot to us. Our staff appreciate what you have send and send you their love. Hope all is well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed here for the first time as part of our honeymoon in 2010, and it was even better this time around.

The rooms have had a little bit of a makeover, with white walls, Mexican folk art on the walls and the addition of a proper closet with a safe and, the best yet, a fridge to store a couple of cervezas from the nearby mini super.

The porch now also has swing seats and they now bring you a continental breakfast in the morning, plus fancy Molton Brown toiletries in the bathroom.

We also stayed at Playa Azul for a few days and comparing the two against all factors, we definitely preferred La Zebra, it's also handily located along the beach road for a couple of key restaurants and shops, though I think the water is less choppy outside PA.

A couple of other comparisons for people thinking about the two hotels, I felt service at La Zebra was warmer and more genuine, the garden at La Zebra are more jungly and more natural, whereas those at PA are more groomed and the bar and restaurant at La Zebra is way better, and has more atmosphere. La Zebra was also about another 30% more expensive but the room at PA was bigger and probably a little nicer with a polished concrete look.
I'll leave

Room Tip: I personally like the 'ocean view rooms situated in the gardens' - cheaper than the pure oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaZebraManager, General Manager at La Zebra Hotel, Tulum, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your kind words and feedback. We are very happy you chose to stay with us again and you are more than welcome anytime. As you kindly noticed we are continuously trying to improve our establishment so who knows what surprises you will encounter next time....best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Zebra Hotel, Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Zebra Hotel, Tulum

Address: Km 8.2 Carretera Tulum-Punta Allen, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Tulum
#6 Family Hotel in Tulum
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Zebra Hotel, Tulum 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly on the beach in a historic former coconut plantation, the family-run La Zebra offers a vibrant and rustic destination among Tulum hotels, where authentic Mexican culture and cuisine infuse every facet of your stay. Escape to an intimate Tulum Mexico hotel best described as stylish and jungle-chic, with thatched roofs and colorful hammocks, coco palms swaying in the breeze, and warm Caribbean waters lapping at the shore just a few sandy steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your La Zebra Hotel, Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Zebra Hotel, Tulum Hotel Tulum
La Zebra Beach Cabanas Hotel
La Zebra Beach Cabanas Resort
La Zebra Tulum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Zebra Hotel, Tulum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.