We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Zebra Hotel, Tulum

Save Saved
You added La Zebra Hotel, Tulum to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Zebra Hotel, Tulum
Km 5.5 Carretera Tulum-Punta Allen, Tulum 77780, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
AUGUST LAST CALL!
Ranked #9 of 76 Hotels in Tulum
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Location and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We spent a wonder 10 days in La Zebra, Tulum, last year in August (2012) and I have to say we were pleasantly surprised about the cabanas!

We had a beach side (not beach front) cabanas still on the beach/sand, but not directly in front of the ocean to have an ocean view. However, the cabana was beautifully decorated with 2 double beds, netting on both, the living space was quite large for a cabana on the beach and the bathroom (although a bit on the small side) had a great flow and very, very clean!

We would not hesitate to go back to La Zebra, although it can get a little pricey with children (we traveled with 2 ages 10 and 13). They do not offer any breakfast specials included in the price of the room, so everything you want to purchase is extra and that can add up pretty quickly.

We tried their restaurant on the premises for both breakfast and dinner and although the food was really good on both occasions, the prices can get up there.

But it is on a great stretch of beach and you would not regret staying there!

Room Tip: They have jungle cabanas, which are located across the road, there is definitely no view of the ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaZebraManager, Manager at La Zebra Hotel, Tulum, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
we loved having you with us at our hotel and are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your comments , they mean a lot to us. We look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    115
    21
    15
    12
See reviews for
118
269
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We have been coming to La Zebra for years and will never return. The rates have continued to increase and the quality has continued to decrease. Our most recent stay did not include breakfast as it had in every past visit. Our room did not have a beach bag or complimentary bottle of tequila as it always had. We were offered a beverage to be delivered in the morning and asked for juice, each day we received coffee, not juice. The pool our room had had a broken filter and was filthy and unusable (we were told it was because of the rain). You now have to track your towel during your stay and we were constantly bringing our towel around to avoid a $30 per towel fee. La Zebra was alway about creating an atmosphere of calm and relaxation, it now seems to be about making a profit. It is either under new management or the management has made a shift in priorities. We will certainly try a new hotel on our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaZebraManager, Manager at La Zebra Hotel, Tulum, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We are sorry to hear your experience with us this time was not as expected. At times we offer different promotions , like breakfast or a discount on our rates, if possible we also offer free up grades. These promotions are subject to change and are announced in our website so that at the time of your booking you are notified. On your room you received a discount which is why breakfast was not included. We are still including tequila as well as bottled water and amenities. A welcome drink is also offered at check in time, If for some reason we did not provide you with that we have a concierge available to assit in these cases. Coffee is available every morning for all our guests, and when requested orange juice is also provided. We are not adding juice like before, many people did not drink it so now we provide it by request. Regarding the beach towel cards, this is just to keep a better control so that we can provide towels for all our guests at all times. This is a normal procedure that many hotels use, sorry if you found it uncomfortable. Unfortunately at times things break down sowe are sorry for the pool issue. We do want to be a profitable business but also care about our guests. We hope you will give us another opportunity and will be back some other time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

What a wonderful stay! La Zebra offers high-end amenities and an exceptional stay in the paradise of Tulum. The staff is helpful, generous, and incredibly kind. The rooms are gorgeous, eco-friendly, and well-ventilated. In short, the perfect destination in an unbelievable paradise.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaZebraManager, Manager at La Zebra Hotel, Tulum, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We are happy to hear you had a wonderful stay at our hotel, it was really nice to have you with us and hope to see you on your next trip to our beautiful tulum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

I loved this hotel. The beach is beautiful and right there. The restaurant serves delicious (but relatively expensive) food. Staff are very friendly. Rooms are very comfortable. Wifi is strong throughout. Only criticism is the fan situation in the room - I don't think there was much point having them as they failed to cool me down and failed to repel the Mosquitos.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaZebraManager, Manager at La Zebra Hotel, Tulum, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments with us, it was a pleasure to have you with us and we hope you will be back with us on your next holiday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My husband and 8 year old started our holiday at La Zebra for a friends wedding which was absolutely beautiful! We hadn't planned the last week of our holiday so after spending 3 glorious nights at La Zebra, we chose to return to this resort for the last 2 nights of our holiday. Tulum is unspoilt and has a calm, relaxed and spiritual vibe-ideal for those in need of a pure wind down. We loved La Zebra because it is well maintained, the staff are awesome and make you feel welcome-the Operations Manager went above and beyond to accommodate our needs. The food was delicious-highly recommend Lena's Mexican feast and the Mayan coffee is in a league of it's own for those of you who are true coffee junkies (a basket with a thermos of coffee is left outside your cabana in the morning) There is lots to do nearby and finally, if your budget allows, book room 10 which has a separate room for the kids and a stunning balcony view! Thank you everyone at La Zebra for a truly amazing experience in a beautiful place

Room Tip: Room 10 if you have young children and want an amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaZebraManager, Manager at La Zebra Hotel, Tulum, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
thank you for your visit, we were happy to have you with us and are glad to hear your experience with us was a good one. It would be a pleasure to have you back with us again, we hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

If it’s a chilled out, romantic tropical getaway by the beach you’re after then you’ve come to the right place.

From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel relaxed & totally at home. After spending a month traveling through Colombia & Cuba, this was the perfect way to end our honeymoon… in fact, I almost wish we just spent a whole month here! My only regret was not factoring in more days at this beautiful slice of paradise.

It’s a little far from the rest of Tulum… but that’s why we loved it!

Apart from the delicious food at the restaurant, the perfect location of the resort & the chilled out vibe, the super friendly staff really made our stay here so unforgettable.

Special mention has to be made of our beautiful host Chabely. She was fantastic & nothing was ever too much trouble for her – even staying back after she had clocked off one night just to help my wife & I book a last minute scuba dive in the Cenotes (amazing!) the next day.

I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaZebraManager, Manager at La Zebra Hotel, Tulum, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We are glad you had such a perfect holiday with us, that is our goal so we are glad we were able to acomplish that. We hope to see you again soon, and thank you for your lovely comment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

The Sunday salsa lesson is from 6-7 pm. Then the band starts playing at 8 pm. Instructor was great and funny. The band was very good, plays anything from salsa to meringue, bachata and Latin hits. It's very crowded. If you plan to have dinner there make sure you have a reservation. We had to wait for an hour to get a table. They do not serve food on the beach because of the strong winds. The food was mediocre, drinks were strong and made with fresh ingredients.
Go there for the fun, not the food.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaZebraManager, Manager at La Zebra Hotel, Tulum, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
thank you for your visit, we are glad you enjoyed our party and are recommending it. We hope you will try our new dishes on your next time with us and will enjoy them as much as our drinks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Zebra Hotel, Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Zebra Hotel, Tulum

Address: Km 5.5 Carretera Tulum-Punta Allen, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Tulum
#5 Best Value Hotel in Tulum
#5 Family Hotel in Tulum
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly on the beach in a historic former coconut plantation, the family-run La Zebra offers a vibrant and rustic destination among Tulum hotels, where authentic Mexican culture and cuisine infuse every facet of your stay. Escape to an intimate Tulum Mexico hotel best described as stylish and jungle-chic, with thatched roofs and colorful hammocks, coco palms swaying in the breeze, and warm Caribbean waters lapping at the shore just a few sandy steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your La Zebra Hotel, Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Zebra Hotel, Tulum Hotel Tulum
La Zebra Beach Cabanas Hotel
La Zebra Beach Cabanas Resort
La Zebra Tulum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Zebra Hotel, Tulum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.