We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven is a place on Earth, at AHAU TULUM!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ahau Tulum

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ahau Tulum to your Saves list
Ahau Tulum
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera a Boca Paila Km 7.5 Tulum beach zone., Tulum, Mexico (Formerly Esmeralda-K)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 79 Hotels in Tulum
Los Angeles
1 review
“Heaven is a place on Earth, at AHAU TULUM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Oh my, where to begin? Ahau Tulum is such a magical place to spend a vacation. They are accommodating and aim to make your vacation the best. The rooms are comfortable and exotic, the view is breath-taking, the staff is kind and helpful, and good vibes circle the entire area. I would highly recommend this hotel to anybody, it has everything you would want to relax and have a stress free vacation. It stands to be one of the most beautiful places and adventures I have ever been a part of. I truly feel blessed for having been able to experience its beauty.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PepeEscalante, Manager at Ahau Tulum, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Hola!

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Ahau. It is our pleasure to provide you with a relaxing, comfortable accomodation in an already beautiful environment. The staff and guests together create the good vibes that keep this place going. Thank you for choosing Ahau, please come back and see us again soon. Many blessings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    49
    26
    7
    3
See reviews for
66
207
48
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Ahau Tulum provided one of the softest landings I have ever had in all of my travels. Beyond the fact that the beaches were divine, with soft sand, perfect water, and gorgeous skies, the accommodations were amazing. Gorgeous structures with soft linens and great pillows. I stayed in a junior suite on the second floor with breathtaking views from the balcony. Hammocks and comfortable chairs all over the property, delicious food, and an incredible staff. Everyone was wonderfully accommodating, and so very polite. I felt like I was in heaven.

David and Milana (the owners) have created an exquisite sanctuary, and Inez (the guest relations manager) was a kind and welcoming host. I cannot thank them enough, and I cannot wait to return.

Perfection!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PepeEscalante, Manager at Ahau Tulum, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Hola Christina!

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

These guys are amazing. The accommodations are beautiful, the staff is incredible and the experience unforgettable. It has a unique vibe - you feel like you're family when you stay there. The staff and owners are very present and engaging. I stayed there for several days and couldn't have felt more welcome or taken care of. The food is awesome too!

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PepeEscalante, General Manager at Ahau Tulum, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Hola!

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your stay. So glad you had such a wonderful experience! Thank you for choosing Ahau, and please come back and see us again really soon.

Gracias!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Let me start by telling you that Ahau was the magical place that landed in front of us when the time came to pick for the place where we would get married....
Ahau Tulum gave us everything and so much more than we could even imagine! Ines is their event planner, her work was impeccable, committed and with a touch of perfectionism. I sent her pictures of "Ideas" and she re created everything with detail, beyond what I even cared it to be. The Mayan priest she put us in contact with was truly amazing, so full of love and so real.
Ahau gave us a home for almost 2 weeks, from the beginning my friends, my family and I all felt so comfortable there. The crew is fun, friendly and hard working... All with a smile taking care of us, serving us and having some fun with us as well.
The restaurant has, a part from a great crew of people, such good food! Healthy and delicious, just like I like it!!!
The vibe in Ahau is laid back but hard working. The hotel is rustic and elegant at the same time.
If you're looking for a place to have your wedding I really wouldn't hesitate... This is the place! they'll treat your friends an family like their own and they'll create a beautiful day all around for it to be your perfect, special day!

If you're wondering if you should stay there for your vacation... Well, I think you will find all you need at Ahau Tulum. A little extra... Mauricio, the guy with the paddle boards and kite surfing instructor is so sweet and so passionate about what he does! Don't miss renting a paddle board and going out with him...

Hope you find this helpful and if you stay there, I really think you will have as much fun and pleasure as I did.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PepeEscalante, General Manager at Ahau Tulum, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Hola Shawn!

Your words are as beautiful as your wedding was...well almost..it was a spectacular event. Thank you for choosing Ahau for your special day and taking the time to write about your experience. Your group brought a little extra magic to the hotel. We wish you the best in this next chapter of your life and look forward to your return. Many blessings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palm Springs,ca.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

someone told us we didn't need shoes, they were right, the hour- glass sand underfoot was like silk. the ease of the place was as lush as the surrounding jungle. You are swept away to a simpler, cozy, yet plush, setting, complete with ancient Mayan pyramids, mystery, turquoise, crystal-clear ,warm ocean,.. gentle, and alive with living coral reefs. we walked for hours at midnight, safely, on the dark beach,only lit by the full moon, the warm waters lapping at our ankles, ...the remoteness apparent.Silence,... No lights, tiki torches for illumination, no giant corporate hotels, fresh fish speared by the staff cooked on the fire... REALLY? I ascended during my moments spent here, ..yes,..it was that good.

Room Tip: its all good bottom floor might be cooler and less full sun, fans over beds should have a setting f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PepeEscalante, General Manager at Ahau Tulum, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Hola!

What a lovely review! Thank you so much for sharing your experience...it is a magical place, isn´t it? We have worked hard to maintain the natural beauty of Tulum while providing a comfortable stay. Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

A beautiful luxury and romantic spot with a great restaurant and lovely staff.. I will stay there again! The rooms on beach are stunning..I stayed and their suites and I recommend them for anyone looking for a balance of posh and rustic ....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PepeEscalante, General Manager at Ahau Tulum, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Hola!

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again really soon. Thank you for taking the time to comment on your positive experience here at Ahau.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Ahau is a magical place. David and his wife Milana have created one of the most welcoming and comfortable environments I have ever experienced. The beaches in Tulum speak for themselves but what really distinguishes this place from all the others are the beautiful details of the hotel and its staff.
When you walk up and down the beach on hotel row in Tulum, Ahau really stands out. The A framed suites are a combination of Bali Joglo's and Southern homes with large wrap around porches. Our first 5 nights my fiance and I stayed in room #8 which is a beach facing upper junior suit with a large porch. The bed was super comfortable, the bathroom was nice and the water was hot. Our last two nights we spent in room #1 which was a bottom floor beach facing suite with a large wrap around porch, a super comfortable king size bed and a great bathroom area. Each of our last two nights we hung out on that large porch with new and old friends, drinking Tequila, telling jokes and taking in the beautiful night ocean air.

The staff at Ahau is a bright international crew of people this so nice and cool that they make you feel like you are on vacation with a bunch of friends. Inside the main building where the restaurant is (very good food and great coffee btw), Ahau has a very large open area with three large deep set Balinese day beds set around a big square table. Each night before dinner we would find ourselves hanging out there for a couple hours having a drink or two and sharing stories with other guest or different members of the staff. This was my favorite area of the hotel. It's such a cozy hang out /meeting space.

I have been to Tulum 6 times over the past 14 years and have seen this little town really grow up. There are now several nice places to stay and eat. However, in my opinion, Ahau's quality of style, service and design is head and shoulders above all the rest.

Thank you so much David, Milana, Inez, Pepe, Victor and the rest of the Ahau family for making our vacation so special. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Since the beach front rooms face East, all those rooms fill with light at 8am. All rooms have ceili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PepeEscalante, General Manager at Ahau Tulum, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Hola Carlos!

On behalf of David, Milana Ines and the rest of the Ahau family I would like to thank you for choosing Ahau and taking the time to review your stay. You are always welcome here! We have tried to honor the beauty of this land in creating this space and are grateful to have guests that also respect and cherish the magic that is Tulum. Please, come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ahau Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ahau Tulum

Address: Carretera a Boca Paila Km 7.5 Tulum beach zone., Tulum, Mexico (Formerly Esmeralda-K)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tulum
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#2 Family Hotel in Tulum
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ahau Tulum 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ecological luxury Hotel with a Guest House in Tulum Beach in Mexico ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ahau Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ahau Tulum Hotel Tulum
Esmeralda k Hotel Tulum
Esmeralda k Tulum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ahau Tulum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.