We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so close to Paradise, we are getting married here.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ahau Tulum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ahau Tulum to your Saves list
Ahau Tulum
Carretera a Boca Paila Km 7.5 Tulum beach zone., Tulum, Mexico (Formerly Esmeralda-K)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 77 Hotels in Tulum
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“so close to Paradise, we are getting married here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

the last thing we expected to find in Tulum, was a place with an attitude so relaxed yet profesional, a beach so peaceful yet full of activities (if you can peel yourself out of the hammock), accomodations so romantic and Balinese yet comfortable with every amenity neeed and more.. We were so pleasantly surprised we are coming back to say our vows at this beautifully romantic paradise.
The upstairs master suite has to be one of the best hotel rooms I have stayed in. It is a very large and well built palapa, with turquoise water 50feet away.
The staff are there to please. Nothing is too big or small for this family run boutique hotel.
Dont miss the opportunity to have David proudly walk you aound the property showing you how no Flora was disturbed in the renovation, or the tallest water tank in the area, with an incredible view for sunset. Dont miss the opportunity to do yoga with Milana the goddess, or have Pepe and his staff meet your every need.
Do yourself a favor...please see what life should be all about and visit AHAU. You and yours will be so happy you did.

Room Tip: Upstairs Master Suite...Incredible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    41
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
60
174
45
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This place is absolutely amazing. The view, the place, the staff, the atmosphere, everything about it just paradise. Everyone there ensures that you have a wonderful, relaxing time, and its everything you could have wanted in a vacation, no matter what your travel plans were. Pepe and his staff are incredibly accommodating and kind, and made sure we were happy with our place. All the other visitors there were thrilled with this fantastic little eco spot. Can't wait to go back...! And the food is absolutely amazing. Just a fantastic place, all around.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Beyond would be the way to describe Ahau. In every way this place will elevate you to a higher state of consciousness and well-being. Friendly, helpful, lively and accommodating Staff ensure you feel part of the family immediately. The cabanas situated on white sands and turquoise waters of the Carribbean are beautifully designed, the entire space aesthetically pleasing as ecological materials create synergy with natural beauty. Ergonomically designed with a commitment to the environment, no detail is overlooked. The lounge is a wonderful space to infuse in the atmosphere, with an intimate gathering of interesting and friendly people passing through. The yoga palapa both stunning and fresh with sea breeze, a perfect space to lift into your day. Beneath is the restaurant serving divine menu. Goats cheese rolls of eggplant with zucchini, Avocado, strawberry, balsamic salad.. delectable. Not to mention the Ahau Pina colada made from fresh ingredients. The location is also spot on. It may take a few days to cross the road, and you certainly won't want to leave after your stay. Breath taking turquoise and whites in the day, moonlit star filled nights. Ahau is your own private Avatar.. the place dreams are made of.

Room Tip: The beach front cabanas are spectacular. Large open space with front deck your feet almost touch the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

This place is paradise. Gorgeous beach, warm clear water, gorgeously designed rooms, yummy food and some of the best people (both guests and especially staff)! Go there and thank me later:)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Ahau is the most magical place I’ve ever stayed. There is something so special about this resort and you feel it as soon as you step on the grounds. The staff are all upbeat and friendly, and really make you feel comfortable, at ease, and taken care of. By the end of my first stay at Ahau, I felt as though I had made a new group of friends.

There is a beautiful open air restaurant and bar at the entrance to the hotel. I probably ate everything on the menu at least once and it was all exquisite. As were the cocktails. Above the restaurant is a delightful yoga studio looking over the ocean. There are all types of yoga classes offered throughout the day and the instructors are incredible. If you get the chance, take a class with Couron. His classes are great. And he’s gorgeous.

We stayed in the Junior Suite. It overlooks the water, as most of the rooms do. It was the perfect combination of beach and chic. Soothing colors, beautiful artwork on the walls, big comfy beds and vents in the doors that allow you to feel the breeze and hear the waves throughout the night. I’ve never slept better. Oh and they leave chocolates on your pillow. I always appreciate that.

Each suite has a private deck, which was where I had my massage with Inez. That was when I thought I died and went to heaven. She is talented to say the least.

Ahau is a gem. If you like leisurely cups of coffee, white sand, naps in hammocks, fresh squeezed juices, watching the sunset and meeting interesting people, this is the place. I felt like a new person at the end of my first stay. And I went back 2 months later. Much love to everyone at Ahau. Especially Pepe.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PepeEscalante, General Manager at Ahau Tulum, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Hola Samantha,

We are please to know that both of your stays in Ahau were a good expierience, and we try to reach all of our guest to make sure everything is ok, we also want to thank you for recomending our hotel to your freinds who recently stay with us, Hopefully they had a good time too.
Remeber Mi casa es tu casa at Ahau Tulum!
Sincerely
Pepe Escalante
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

After you arrive, prepare to be transported away even farther. Ahau makes for a great vacation. We really appreciated their balance of service, beauty and environmental consciousness. There is something here for everyone.

The friendly staff made sure we felt like family at all times from concierge services to yoga instruction and joyous community events. The property, topography and beach is the best I've seen in Riviera Maya. Even more impressive is the architecture. This buildings are all new construction but feel like sacred Mayan structures. Even though accommodations are intended to be eco friendly and basic, the rooms I experienced were extremely comfortable and aesthetically pleasing. The interior designs and attention to detail throughout the hotel were impeccable.

My only complaints would be that there were some areas that were still under construction during our visit and the hot water was out a couple of times.

I will certainly be back, and plan to stay longer next time.

Room Tip: the upper level suites are the BEST!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PepeEscalante, Gerente at Ahau Tulum, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Hola JC,

We want to thank all the good comments about our property and the staff as a new hotel we are still improving some of the rooms mostly small detail but the heavy construction was finish months ago, next time you come to visit us you will see how much the property has change, specially the resturant, also all the rooms downstairs now have A/C since we have poeple requesting them for summer time.
Come back soon.
Sincerely

Pepe Escalante
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Beautiful palapa style designs huts with gorgeous interiors and big comfy beds.
Air conditioned sand which feels like clean white flour almost, at your feet and the beautiful beach steps away from your room.
Ahau is a little slice of heaven. Great staff and food at the restaurant and a beautiful Yoga studio overlooking the beach nestled up above.
Everyone i have sent there has been more than happy.
Ahau also offers multiple different options for rooms, catering to different budgets and demographics, creating a nice mix of energy.
Overall a great vibe

Room Tip: Main beachfront suites are amazing for couples and families having the beach on your doorstep. Bali...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ahau Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ahau Tulum

Address: Carretera a Boca Paila Km 7.5 Tulum beach zone., Tulum, Mexico (Formerly Esmeralda-K)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tulum
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#5 Best Value Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ecological luxury Hotel with a Guest House in Tulum Beach in Mexico ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ahau Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ahau Tulum Hotel Tulum
Esmeralda k Hotel Tulum
Esmeralda k Tulum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ahau Tulum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.