We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wait 1 minute!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cabanas Zazilkin

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tulum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabanas Zazilkin
Save
You added Cabanas Zazilkin to your Saves list
Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila | Km 0.47, Tulum, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 79 Hotels in Tulum
Strasburg, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wait 1 minute!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed here a couple of days during the week of Jaunuary 13, 2012. It is very basic and very rustic but for $50. a night it was all we needed. Community bathhouse and restrooms are workable. The people are friendly and the beach was fantasic! Little beach bar was great too! The only reason you would give this place a bad rating is that your expectations going in were too high. If you want cheap and basic it was more than adequate!

Room Tip: Check out your room in advance and make sure you have a fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    71
    28
    25
    28
See reviews for
26
74
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

DO NOT STAY HERE!! This place was quite disgusting and had a terrible/apathetic service. Very dirty from lack of cleaning. Bed bugs, ciggarete butts, and trash all over. The shared bathroom had fecal matter on the wall and was NOT clean at all. Because of these conditions the amount of insects attracted to our Cabana (Tulum) was unreal and we had to leave. Condessa cabana's, up the rode is a much better place that is small and wonderful. Still rustic and very cheap.

Room Tip: Stay away from the bathroom and food areas. Better yet do not stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oaxaca, Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

I stayed in Zazilkin in December 2010 with my boyfriend. It was our first trip together and we wanted to have a romantic time together. We booked the most expensive room in the hotel for 3 nights. When we got there, we were very disappointed. The room was basic and it was in a small building very far from the beach. Nothing fancy about the room. It was small. The floor was always sticky. The staff was unfriendly. The restaurant sold canteen type of food and it was not particularly clean. Basically, we were stuck there because to go to town it cost 45 pesos in taxi. To walk there, it took me an hour and a half. I really regret staying there and paying that much money. I've lived in Mexico for over 3 years and have been to Tulum 5 times. I would never recommend anyone to stay at Zazilkin. There are plenty of cheap hostels, or nice, good value hotels elsewhere in Tulum.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

If you're looking for a typical resort environment and amenities, Zazilkin is the wrong place. However, I love the laid back environment, simple accommodations, proximity to other resorts/restaurants, and fantastic beach -- and I will trek there for my 3rd time in January.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We decided to tack on a 2 day Tulum trip onto a trip to Cancun for a friend's wedding. We drove along the cabanas in the area and decided on Zazil-kin because they were the closest to the ruins. If you are looking for a Cancun all-inclusive style vacation, this is not for you. If you want beautiful, quiet beaches and more natural experience, this is up your alley.

We paid about USD35/night, which included coffee and toast for breakfast for two. The room was very basic but was clean with mosquito netting and fan which worked when the electricity was on at night. The showers were fine, took a while for the warm water but it was so hot outside that a cooler shower was perfect. There was also a little bar which had a 2 for 1 happy hour til 10pm. We went out on a snorkeling trip right off the beach for about USD15/person.

My husband speaks Spanish which helped but everyone was extremely friendly. They recommended El Camello in downtown Tulum to eat and that was a great local spot with great local seafood and much cheaper than the tourist locations.

We like the more rustic, natural and private settings so this was perfect for us.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

I paid $30 for 1 night in a Cabana. The accomodations could have been much better. The service was horrible. I don't think it was worth the money despite being on the beautiful beach.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

I had a really bad experience with them. The breakfast was awful, they tried to charge us for having the free breakfast that should be included in the sort of high price we paid for....

The cabinet was nice, but the cleaning service was made during the afternoons, when we wanted to take a shower after being outside all day long.
The bar at the night was nice, the only bad experience we had was with the manager that tried to scored with all my friends and even they were not interested he continued trying to work them out.
One day we went to the ruins and when we came back, the cleaning service was done but we noticed that money was missing. Now I heard that is not the first time it happens there.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabanas Zazilkin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas Zazilkin

Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila | Km 0.47, Tulum, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tulum
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 341
Also Known As:
Cabanas Zazilkin Tulum
Cabanas Zazilkin Hotel Tulum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabanas Zazilkin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.