We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach, nice rooms, nice service, but with overpriced food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mestizo Hotel Boutique

Save Saved
You added Mestizo Hotel Boutique to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mestizo Hotel Boutique
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Tulum Ruinas Boca Paila Lote 10 E, Tulum 77780, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 74 hotels in Tulum
Oslo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach, nice rooms, nice service, but with overpriced food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed 4 days in this hotel. The rooms are situated either in bungalows on the beach or in two story houses at the edge of the beach a bit retracted into the woods. We had a room on second floor which is recommended as there the wind will blow in through the door of the balcony and up through the roof serving as a substitute for air conditioning which is not available. I can only imagine the rooms below must be quite hot, so if you can ask for the second floor room. Rooms are simple, but with balconies or patios with hammock and chairs. On the beach there are few but sufficient sunbeds. The beach never gets crowded and the whole place is such a getaway compared to playa del Carmen. We had ambitions to go snorkeling, swimming in the caves and more, but ended up just hanging around on the beach and nearby hotels. It was beautiful, tranquil and no need to move really. As for food, the food at the hotel is ok, but would rather recommend walking a few hotels down the beach to ranitas. They have more reasonable prices and a lot better food. There are many other alternatives just a short stroll down the beach. All in all we loved the place and for the price compared to many of the other hotels in the vicinity they offer good value

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    44
    12
    5
    4
See reviews for
34
80
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We had one of the best hotel experiences at this hotel. Brenda, Eliza and Willie made us feel like we were guests in their own home and even planned a surprise for my birthday which made for a great day. The hotel is clean, serene, beautiful and with nice organic amenities. We were lucky enough to see turtles late at night and all of the staff made an extra big effort to share the magic. The food in the restaurant was delicious and the service was great. A really tranquil spot with a beautiful beach. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem great it depends on your taste. We wanted the beach, others want privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitzbuhel, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

The best location and hotel in Tulum. We stayed for almost a week and we loved everything. For those who want really beach, ocean, sun on your holiday, you are 100% right with this hotel. One of the best beaches in the world right infront of your house with private sunning places. Don´t expecpt 5star room service and accessories, but you get 100 % the greatest mexican hospitality and Location and your own private house with ocean sounds to get a good sleep. 100% what we needed for a great holiday. The location and the houses are much worth more what you pay for ! On our 4 week honeymoon trip, which included, St. Martin, Saint Barths, Turks & Caicos, Cancun, Riviera Maya, this was one of our favourits and we can really recommend you to go there. 2nd best was St. Barths.
Book yourself and check it out !

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We stayed here for one night in May, booking our room online beforehand. This was one of five hotels we stayed in during a two week visit to Mexico, and it was one of our favourite places.

It is located right on a very quiet section of Tulum beach, the grounds are really well kept and we enjoyed sitting in the hammocks.

When we arrived, we were greeted by someone offering to carry our bags for us - very appreciated after a long drive. When we arrived, the receptionist told us that she had upgraded us to a larger room, and then presented us with two Margheritas - wonderful service!

The room was gorgeous - huge, with a big comfy bed. The bathroom was light, clean and really well designed.

We ate in the restaurant in the evening - the food was very good and service from Wilbur was excellent.

This is a really lovely place and we would definitely consider staying again if we are in Tulum again in the future. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

My wife and unborn son (born in March) had the pleasure of spending some days around New Year at the Mestizo.

We had two weeks in Mexico, and the Mestizo was without comparison the best stay of the six different hotels we stayed at during our stay. Being Scandinavians we are used to beautiful design and interior – the Mestizo redeemed our wish for experience paradise in Mexico and in beautiful interior surroundings. We were lucky to get a room located with doorsteps right on the beach and when laying in the bed we were overlooking the beach and sea.
The service was in top and the hostess (Carmen as I remember) was always very helpful and made sure we enjoyed our stay. For travellers who are looking for a relaxing stay in the area of Tulum we can give The Mestizo our warmest recommendations.

N&N from Denmark

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mestizo Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mestizo Hotel Boutique

Address: Carretera Tulum Ruinas Boca Paila Lote 10 E, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 74 hotels in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mestizo Hotel Boutique 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mestizo Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mestizo Hotel Boutique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.