We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located but also very private feeling.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Piedra Escondida

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Piedra Escondida to your Saves list
Piedra Escondida
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 3.5 Carretera Tulum Ruinas a Boca Paila, Tulum 77780, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
RATES - SPECIAL OFFER
Ranked #18 of 75 Hotels in Tulum
San Luis Obispo, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Centrally located but also very private feeling.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Piedra Escondida for our honeymoon following our wedding in Playa del Carmen with 35 family members and friends. This hotel was exactly what we needed to reconnect, relax and refresh. The beach seemed like our private oasis, with rocky outcroppings providing a barrier on each side. The beach was very small (perfect for families with small children letting their kiddos run), and there were enough cushioned loungers for all of the guests in the personal-feeling eight-room hotel. The large rooms were spotless with fun, sweet towel animals everyday. The hotel is located close enough to other hotels, shops, taxis, and the larger expanse of beach to quickly get to the ruins, the pueblo, or other hotels down the beach. We were exhausted from sunning ourselves and relaxing at the end of the days, so we didn't notice the close proximity of the road to the hotel, although it was a little bit loud. Compared to other private cabanas further down the beach, this hotel was a little bit pricey, but we had an absolutely wonderful honeymoon there!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    107
    13
    8
    7
See reviews for
67
209
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

You can't beat the location it is right on a "private" portion of the beach. It is also very close to shopping, money exchange and other hotel/service establishments. On site restaurant serves good Italian food and they have a nice breakfast. Cool palapas on the beach to hang out under. In general Tulum is a wonderful place to go for a vacation and we will return.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

This small place (9 rooms) nestled on a small private beach ofered beautiful, large, very well kept rooms each with a balcony or porch overlooking the sea(complete with hammock!). The staff was very friendly, and the breakfasts on the deck overlooking the ocean were a treat. It is very well located, just a short bike ride to the Tulum ruins, and not far from the Sian Kaan biosphere, Tulum town, and much more. The beach was pristine and very relaxing, and falling asleep each night to the gentle crashing of the waves was the ultimate relaxation!

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

We love this place! We discovered Piedra Escondida in 2001 and just came back from our fourth visit. The service, upkeep, hospitality and ITALIAN FOOD have been consistently wonderful. This time we brought our 6-year old son who now loves the "Escondeet" as much as we do.

What's also nice is... as the Yucatan grows it seems the beach front hotels in Tulum have retained their off-the-beaten path charm.

We'll be back for a fifth visit soon.

Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

We spent three nights at Piedra Escondita in room 4, which has a balcony facing the beach, and the main porch on this room does also. This whole hotel has only 8 units,( not counting the room above the restaurant) any of which are great, although we preferred the second floor rooms to get a bit wider view of the area. Breakfast is included in the room cost. This hotel is in a group of small hotels in a "village" area along the beach just south of the Tulum ruins. The electricity now appears to be on 24/7 now, although it's still in limited amounts, so leave your hair dryer at home. This hotel, as well as most of them in this area, now have wi-fi internet access, but we didn't expect that so we didn't bring a computer. They do have a shared computer in the lobby for guests, however. Cellphones seem to work in this area now, too, but I'm not particularly happy to even have the opportunity to be connected when we're on vacation in such a beautiful spot. There are several other dining and shopping choices within a block of Piedra Escondita, and don't miss TreceLunas, run by Canadian Amanda, right across the street. Anyway, this area in general and Piedra Escondita isn't what you'd expect to find in Cancun or Miami Beach, but why would you want it to be?

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lb,il
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2010

This small hotel is situated on a beautiful beach which is groomed daily but seems to be used by more people than just those staying at the hotel. The rooms are cute if basic. The maids do a lovely job of fashioning towels and bath tissue into hearts and flowers. The included breakfast is beautifully presented, with several excellent choices and way above what one usually gets.The terrace overlooking the ocean at the facility next door, Luna Maya, is a terrific place to watch the moon rise while sipping sundowners. The big caveat here is the reservation process. We initially made reservations for four days, but then changed to just two. More than two weeks before our arrival we sent several emails in English to the hotel web site explaining this. These were followed up by two phone calls by a native Spanish speaker just to verify the change. He was told it was all settled. You can then imagine our amazement when we were" greeted " by icy stares from the woman in the office who then berated us. The following day when we were able to document our emails the situation was resolved but not until after being told that the Spanish speaker didn't actually speak to anyone in authority in the office but in reality talked to "the waiter" (which begs the question why is"the waiter" answering the office phone.). So a word to the wise have written documentation of your reservation and don't assume anything said in Spanish over the phone is binding.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoughton, WI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

We just spent 10 wonderful days at Piedra Escondida and can't say enough about it. First the pictures do not the beach or the facility justice. The sand in power and the view incredible. The beach was never crowed, some days it felt like we were all by ourselves. The room was very clean and the housekeeping was excellent. The posts regarding the water being slightly salty are true, however great water pressure and plenty of hot water. The restaurant and bar are very good. We ate every breakfast and most lunches at Piedra and went to other restaurants for dinner about 1/2 the time during our stay. The breakfasts are large enough to share and the eggs fixed "Mexicana" are excellent. It is very easy to catch a taxi to go anywhere- up/down the beach or into Tulum. Can't say enough good things- we have already booked for next year.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Piedra Escondida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piedra Escondida

Address: Km 3.5 Carretera Tulum Ruinas a Boca Paila, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#15 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#19 Family Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Piedra Escondida 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Piedra Escondida is a small enchanting hotel located on a stunningly secluded beach in Tulum that offers its guests charming simplicity and breathtaking views of the Caribbean Sea. There are 9 rooms decorated with local handicrafts and regional furniture all along with their private sitting area and hammock. Wi-Fi is available at no additional cost throughout the hotel. As we are dedicated to living in harmony with the surrounding area we use solar and wind energy.Air conditioning is now available during the night hours. Our cozy restaurant with a Caribbean familiar ambiance and a magnificent on-beach terrace brings to life the wonderful authentic flavors of Italy with traditional Mexican cuisine and fresh Caribbean seafood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Piedra Escondida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piedra Escondida Tulum
Piedra Escondida Hotel Tulum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piedra Escondida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.