We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food at the Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Piedra Escondida

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Piedra Escondida to your Saves list
Piedra Escondida
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 3.5 Carretera Tulum Ruinas a Boca Paila, Tulum 77780, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
RATES - SPECIAL OFFER
Ranked #18 of 77 Hotels in Tulum
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Food at the Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

If you like to splurge, try the restaurant here as well for a superb meal. The views from your table are also great. Theor are several choices on the menu including some in wine sauce.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    107
    13
    8
    7
See reviews for
69
211
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012 via mobile

After staying in 3 differents hotels in or near Tulum (Jashita and Esencia) Piedra Escondida definitely is our best souvenir. Very good location, friendly and professionnal staff, good and not too expensive food, and very nice room with sea view. Only - : a bit noisy roadside, if you can ask for a room closest to the sea and in any case 2nd floor.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We spent two of our four nights in Mexico in Tulum at Piedra Escondida and every minute of it was wonderful. The private little beach, the staff, the food/drinks, and just the overall atmosphere was perfect. We plan on coming back time and time again and NOT staying anywhere else! We felt homesick for Piedra Escondida when we left and went to Playa del Carmen - we wanted to go back! We would recommend this to anybody who loves to relax and feel welcome and at ease. Waking up to the sunrise over the ocean was breathtaking, and just hearing the sound of the waves and ocean breeze all night was an experience we'll make sure to have multiple times! Everything was clean and well taken care of - what a perfect place!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glovers Reef Atoll, Belize
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

We have been to Tulum many times over the years and part of what brings us back year after year is the wonderful setting of Piedra Escondida. With it's private beach cove with soft white sand, quaint rooms with amazing ocean views, delicious menu items at their restaurant and wonderful hospitality of the staff, we will continue to return year after year! Thanks Piedra Escondida for another relaxing holiday in paradise!

Room Tip: Usually we request number 2 upstairs with closest proximity to the ocean and best view. This time we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

The staff is uniformly friendly and professional--from Marco who settled us in (and down after a harrowing trip through an unseasonal torrential rain storm trip, at night, from the airport), to the charming wait staff, to the maids who are trained not only in good housekeeping but also in the esoteric art of towel and flower sculpture. As one of the guests remarked at breakfast, the web site does not do justice to the location, the rooms....nor to the food. I commandeered the laptop from my wife on this our fifth day here, within hours of the lunch which still vibrates in my mind if not my taste buds: a risotto--squid, delectable,more firm than rubbery, garlicked in a parmesan tuille, the rice black with the ink.....The cook we were told is from Milan, but I never ate better in all of Italy. (OK maybe Palermo was a hair better.) We've eaten most of our meals here, Other recommended places are good, but not as good as this place, and places like Posada Margharita are so cool and "in", that they are crowded and somewhat overpriced especially the wine at Posada Margharita, which is up to 10 times retail price in the wines I know, compared to the fair pricing and good selection here. I could go on about the food--breakfasts are freshly made to variations in taste, etc., but my aforementioned wife has just remarked that I'm writing a novel. Adios y Ciao

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

I spent a couple of nights during my honeymoon back in 1997 and again during Christmas 2011. It was the only hotel back then whereas now it must compete with excellent neighbours.
Everything has remained as great as it was and i would suggest this hotel to everyone willing to relax for a few days in a great area of the riviera maya. Hurry up, this area will not last long as it is now.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

This is a great little hotel located right in the middle of the hotel area on the beach in Tulum. The staff are awesome, the food is good, and the rooms and general feel of the place is really nice. We are here over the Christmas and New Year Holiday, so the room rates are way overpriced for what you get. I'm sure that's not the case year round.

I would have given this hotel 5 stars except for two issues:

- We booked the "C" room which is over the main restaurant. Unfortunately, it has no direct beach access, and no balcony so you are either "in" your room, or "out" of your room. That would usually be fine, except we have a 2.5 yr old who needs to nap during the day, and the room gets so incredibly hot it's impossible to be in there. If only they had a few fans (ceiling fan, or even a standing fan would help!!). Even overnight we sweltered because if we opened the windows, we were eaten alive. Fans please!!

- The hot water in our room was erratic at best. I had to shower under a heavy drip during our first couple of days. I was going to complain, but didn't want to come across as a high maintenance tourist in an area where all services are fairly basic. If I weren't paying such a high room rate, I probably wouldn't have dinged them for it...

If we come back, I think I would book the A or B rooms, and skip this room completely. But, that's really because of the lack of fans or air movement. Otherwise, it is a cute nice hotel and as I said before, the STAFF ARE AWESOME!!

Room Tip: Don't book C room....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Piedra Escondida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piedra Escondida

Address: Km 3.5 Carretera Tulum Ruinas a Boca Paila, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#15 Family Hotel in Tulum
#15 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Piedra Escondida 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Piedra Escondida is a small enchanting hotel located on a stunningly secluded beach in Tulum that offers its guests charming simplicity and breathtaking views of the Caribbean Sea. There are 9 rooms decorated with local handicrafts and regional furniture all along with their private sitting area and hammock. Wi-Fi is available at no additional cost throughout the hotel. As we are dedicated to living in harmony with the surrounding area we use solar and wind energy.Air conditioning is now available during the night hours. Our cozy restaurant with a Caribbean familiar ambiance and a magnificent on-beach terrace brings to life the wonderful authentic flavors of Italy with traditional Mexican cuisine and fresh Caribbean seafood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Piedra Escondida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piedra Escondida Tulum
Piedra Escondida Hotel Tulum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piedra Escondida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.