We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Vongola

La Vongola
Av. Tulum entre calle osiris y beta norte | Col. Centro, Tulum 77780, Mexico
+52 9841153801
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 203 restaurants in Tulum
Price range: $4 - $18
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Friendly and good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

we only actually ate here once (for breakfast) but also stopped by a couple of times for evening cocktails. Everything about the place seemed good - good quality food, friendly staff and great value

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    40
    7
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“So good i want to cry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Ok, this has to be the best new restaurant in Tulum and i heard its here to stay, ok, first of all its a family buisiness, Linda and Luca and their beautiful mexican- italian dougther Selvaggia are the owners, they are always there with the greatest attitude to give you recomendations and explain the menu. The menu is very basic yet very chic, a foodie can appreciate that. Luca, the chef makes his own pasta, the sea food cant be more fresh and beautiful, the lobster, mussles, calamari , OMG and Linda makes THE BEST cocktails in Tulum , hands down, i had many bloody maries and my HB had mojitos!! Im sure this family buisiness will quickly beat posada margerita, the long time number one restaurant in Tulum. I dont want to compare them since la vongola is in town and does not have a beach view, but is definately more affordable than posada margerita, and has a nice terrace that overlooks the main avenue. I just cant help to go back every time i can. You have to order taggliatele tudo mar, is goergous!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HULL
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Top quality Italian restaurant, the food is superb, I had fresh pasta with mussels and clams and my wife had the pasta with prawns. The food was well prepared nice pasta, great sauce making good use of herbs and olive oil; the shellfish were cooked just right. The service was friendly and efficient; reasonably priced for the quality. I would highly recommend if you like good quality Italian food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“friendly efficient and great food !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Last night we had a lovely evening with our friends Francesca and Roberto at the restaurant La Vongola that is run by Luca (amazing chef ) and our friend Francesca.
The place is very nice and cozy and the location is great.
The main dining room has a comfortable atmosphere, but even the upstairs space is also cosy and welcoming with a nice swimmingpool and a beautiful view of the main street in Tulum.
we had the best home made gnocchi and tagliatelle made by Luca and a squisit margherita pizza made by Gigi.
La Vongola strikes a perfect balance between tasty preparations and simply relying on quality ingredients. I particularly liked the grilled red tuna stake and shrimps.
We ended this delightful evening with the most incredible chocolate cake , also made by Luca,
We particulary enjoy the service by Bruno (a very nice and kind italian guy who was always around taking good care of us)
Great atmosphere and truly excellent food all at the same time. We highly remommend it and .........we can't wait to return!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulum, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“New address for La Vongola!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Just as an upgrade:
This magnificent Italian restaurant was closed for the last two months due to a change of location and now is open again!!, new location over the main Tulum Av. between Beta and Osiris North.
Same excellent service and delicious food in a way better atmosphere!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Vongola also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya

Been to La Vongola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Vongola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.