We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT cocktails, "ok" food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Jaguar Tulum

Casa Jaguar Tulum
Carretera Tulum Boca Paila 7.5km, Tulum 77780, Mexico
+52 998 222 2749
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #117 of 202 restaurants in Tulum
Price range: $2 - $50
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Casa Jaguar is located in the jungle of Tulum where its open spaces, dècor and atmosphere look to awaken all of you senses. The food, the place and concept are influenced by the travels, stories and memories from the family through all of Asia, Europe and Mexico, collecting each and every one of the little details in this house. The music is very important for us, it becomes an essential element from the moment you enter the place.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“GREAT cocktails, "ok" food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Cocktails are amazing! Especially the Tikal.
I've had two disappointing main dishes - one insanely spicey which was not mentioned on the menu or by waiter, the other bland. But delicious ceviche which is the best thing to get in our opinion.

Cute atmosphere, beautifiul surrounding but with boring indie rock soundtrack that needs updating (same six months later on repeat)

very nice staff

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    62
    28
    16
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Everything was excellent, the fish is espectacular, very fresh, we asked the one with achiote and the one with ginger, we couldn't decide which one was better. For dessert we ate the panacota with honey, also was delicious. Very good service. We hope we can return in a few months.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yummy fresh food and delicious cocktails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

This has to be one of the prettiest restaurants i have eaten at. It feels like you are in some bohemian backyard with laterns, candles and lovely music.

Food was fresh and tasty. Most of the cocktails on the menu are made with Mezcal which is absolutely delicious.

Hostess was very friendly and chatty, waiter was really kind as well.

HIghly recommend along with Hartwood just up the road. Both are essential on your visit to Tulum!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“My favorite spot in Tulum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

This place has incredible decoration, delicious food, great service, ambience, can you wish more? I was surprised also with a good wine! Great, great, great! Also its not cheap but costs it till last peso!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syndey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

My friend and i ate here after a friends recommendation and it was great. They have done it out very well, food and cocktails were great. It was one of our top 3 meals of our time in Mexico over 2 weeks. Ceviche and the grouper with goats cheese and pomegranate were amazing.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Jaguar Tulum also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Casa Jaguar Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Jaguar Tulum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.