We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great space and good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Jaguar Tulum

Casa Jaguar Tulum
Carretera Tulum Boca Paila 7.5km, Tulum 77780, Mexico
+52 998 222 2749
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #125 of 250 Restaurants in Tulum
Price range: $2 - $50
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Casa Jaguar is located in the jungle of Tulum where its open spaces, dècor and atmosphere look to awaken all of you senses. The food, the place and concept are influenced by the travels, stories and memories from the family through all of Asia, Europe and Mexico, collecting each and every one of the little details in this house. The music is very important for us, it becomes an essential element from the moment you enter the place.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great space and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Cool space and the food was great! Ceviche was some of the best we've tasted. Can't remember the entree we had but I remember the dessert was good too. Also, great cocktails

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    44
    23
    25
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Chic & Cool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

As soon as you walk into this place you want to make out with your date. Super low key, awesome decor and a cool staff. Drinks were insanely good and so was the food. Italian and thai influences with the curries and risottos. Even though this might be considered a "trendy" place - it isn't annoying and is super serene and friendly. Loved it.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“perfect laid back cool atmosphere with quality food and cocktails..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We came for a cocktail one night just to check it out after a friend recommended this place to me.
I always test a place by their cocktails!

After enjoying my creative cocktail, we came back another night with friends for some food. The menu was unusual, a mix of cuisines. i went for a thai style pasta, which was a bit strange but i really enjoyed it. The ahi tuna - i tried my husbands was also delicious! The food was good quality produce and well cooked and presented. i recommend!

Check out the plates our food arrived on.. will upload pictures.

I love the atmosphere here, the decor was so cool, there are some stairs that lead you up to a secret table at the top for a romantic dinner. We wanted to be downstairs where they could serve us our drinks quicker ;)

Really decent music, obscure swedish dance and other stuff that you wouldn't think would get to Tulum!

Get down to Casa Jaguar - think its where the cool kids hang out

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“jaguaresque”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

unique assortment of drinks made with all fresh fruit and vegetables..great place to hang with friends for a light meal and good music

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Avoid!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I went to this place with my GF because of all the good reviews. We came across this along the alley, and thought that it would be a nice place to go b/c it was VERY LOW SCALE by appearances (it was lunch, and we didn't want to spend too much; listed prices were $2 - 9 on Trip Advisor). We sat at our table and were greeted by a 'server' carrying a chalk board with all their menu items (no prices listed).

After listening to her hastily presentation of the menu, and repeatedly unable to hear the prices over the loud music and mumbling, we gave up and decided to just order--it couldn't be that expensive, could it?

We received the food, and it was decent for the prices (again thinking $10 dollar range). We finished our meal and received the bill--over $90!!!, for two drinks and just two entrees. Were they serious!! This has to be the WORST VALUE in all of TULUM!!! Avoid at all costs!! They should be ashamed of themselves. 1 star service + 1 star value + 1 star food + 1 star location does not equal 4 STAR PRICES, ANYWHERE!!!

If they are to advertise for low prices and represent themselves as a 1 star cafe, then they should follow through with this on prices, and not act to deceive people. You would be better served going to Mezzanine or ANY of the restaurants in town. You will certainly find better Value, Service, and Food at any other place than here.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Jaguar Tulum also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Casa Jaguar Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Jaguar Tulum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.