We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Aguachiles

Los Aguachiles
Venida Tulum Manzana 40 Lote 1, Tulum, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 223 Restaurants in Tulum
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

The menu, even the English version, is a bit cryptic, maybe because it tries to be too hip. But no complaints about the food. On the far south end of town, a bit of a hike if you are walking, but well worth the trek. Features a nice variety of creative and delicious seafood dishes. Prices are reasonable.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    29
    4
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Delicious!!! A must!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

If you want to eat more like a local then go to aguachiles!
I could eat here every day!
The menu has a lot of options, a bit confusing, but everything we ordered was out of this world!!
Love it!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great Shrimp!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We had been to one of the other restaurants in this small chain in Playa del Carmen and had loved that one, so we had pretty high expectations of this restaurant and went there for our first dinner in Tulum. We were not disappointed in any way. We both ordered shrimp dishes, both of which were delicious and neither of which was on the menu in Playa. Marco was our server and took great care of us, including good tips on things to do and places to go in and around Tulum. Only thing to be careful of is that they close here at 6:30 p.m., so definitely plan to go for lunch or an early dinner.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Overall a great little local gem in Tulum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

we stumbled upon this little place on the way back from snorkeling and decided to have a "snack". We aired red a few fish tacos and an amazing grilled octopus. yes, they have plastic bags tied over their plates, which was a little strange, but the food was delicious and it had a great local vibe. I would definitely return on my next trip. If you go, try the octopus!!!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“One of my top 10 places to eat in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Love this place - the food, drinks and atmosphere are great. Kind of an outdoorsy restaurant under a canopy and like a hundred staff for one guest makes you feel like yr in Brooklyn, NY, not Mexico. But then there's the food - lettuce tacos are inspired (and maybe a bit more manhattan than Mexico) but you taste them and they're so fresh and perfect for the Mexican climate.
Love this place and the branch in playa del carmen so much! I'd say the playa del carmen branch has a slightly hipper crowd - or did when I went - and had more of a Brooklyn cool vibe and the tulum branch is a bit more relaxed. The thing is , it is so badly located - so far from the centre that you really have to know about it to come here. I have to walk 18 blocks to come here but I do it's reliably good! Wish it opened later, I don't really understand why it shuts at 6.30 pm as this would be a great place to spend the evening but they must have their reasons!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Aguachiles also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Los Aguachiles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Aguachiles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.