We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“~favorite in Tulum~” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tulum Trattoria Romana

Tulum Trattoria Romana
Av. Tulum s/n, Tulum 77760, Mexico
9841191414
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 257 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pasta
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
El Cerrito, California
1 review
“~favorite in Tulum~”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We came back again and again! Epic service and amazingly delicious every time. I love the family feeling of this place. Truly an "Italian" dining experience. They genuinely care that you are at maximum satisfaction. Their vodka sauce is out of this world!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    67
    14
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good Service - Food Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Slightly disappointed with the food, nothing wrong with it but quite bland. I had to spice my seafood pasta up with chilli sauce. The service was attentive and our waiter was friendly and spoke very good English. Maybe I just chose a wrong dish!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas / Fort Worth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Italy Is Not Well Served”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

How this place can be can be rated as one of the better restaurants, much less one of the better Italian restaurants, in Tulum is unbelieveable. Where to begin? The interior is sloppy and insect infested. The food was barely edible. My pasta tasted mostly of salt and my partners seafood entree was luke warm and disgusting. If this food was served in Italian prisons there would be riots. This so called Trattoria is a discredit to Italy and especially it's namesake , Roma. Stay clear.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
139 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“spicy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We were a little boring and just got sandwiches. Came with fries. Sangria was good. Watch the salsa, it was SPICY. Also they give you a whole appetizer bowl of vegetables, which is nice because they are fresh, but they were maybe pickled? Not exactly sure how to describe them. Not my favorite, but interesting if you want to try something different. The band was good the afternoon we were there.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Pasta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

They make their own pasta noodle in house. Best italian restaurant we've eaten at by far and the service is top-notch. A must try if you are in Tulum!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tulum Trattoria Romana also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Tulum Trattoria Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tulum Trattoria Romana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.