We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sale e Pepe

Sale e Pepe
Avenida Tulum, entre Escorpion y avenida Coba | In front of San Francisco Supermarket, Tulum 77780, Mexico
984 8025598
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 250 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located close to the Tulum ruins, Sale&Pepe is an Italian restaurant that offers the best in Italian food. The menu ranges from a wide variety of pastas, pizzas, calzones, seafood and excellent desserts.
Mentor, Ohio
1 review
“Great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This restaurant was one of the best places I enjoyed dinner during my wonderful trip to Mexico. The food was fenominal. I tried the pizza and a pasta dish. The pizza was cooked with meat that was very fresh and juicy...the employees were very attentive and were always around to get my table anything we needed. The only complaint I have is that once my vacation ended so did the opportunity to go to sale e pepe and enjoy their food/service on a more consistent basis..

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    50
    20
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Just OK.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

Service is fast and the owner shares some very nice suggestions. Antipasto was good. Pizzas are ok, a bit dry if I must say so.
My advice would be to stick with pizzas, pastas are not the best. They need to work on sauces to avoid tasting like Barilla's.
Not even parmiggiano to add, nothing. Beef is acceptable. For pastas def try Posada Margherita.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Awesome!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Best food during our stay in Tulum and even better than in most places in Italy itself! Great service and great food! The pizza and the pasta dishes are equally good. Also the appetizers (we had the octopus carpaccio) are delicious. You have to try the "pasta arragosta", it tastes heavenly! We had to go back to eat it again. The italian owner is vey nice as well. Go for it, a must try while in Tulum!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Night Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

A group of 6 of us went here for an evening meal and couldn't have asked for more!!. The chef came out and suggested the best dishes for the group. He took time to explain everything for us and even went as far as helping to select the best wine to go with the dishes. Everything was wonderfully presented, and to be honest we all ate far too much!!. The service was great and the atmosphere was very good too. We will definately be going back there again and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a great night out with good food, wine and friendly service all at a sensible price too!!!..
Thanks to everyone there for such a great night.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Worth going!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We love this restaurant. Each of our three visits have been wonderful. The service is extremely attentive, the menu offerings extensive with a huge number of choices of pasta dishes, pizza, and seafood. Lots of vegetarian options too. Great cocktails, extensive wine list (though we have never ordered wine) inside and outside dining options. Never a lot of people there when we go which is too bad but probably because it is not in the center of the pueblo where most of the restaurants are. It is on the corner of 307 and the Coba Rd. right next to Itours. Worth the short walk or drive. GO!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sale e Pepe also viewed

 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Sale e Pepe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sale e Pepe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.