We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, neat and affordable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chilam Balam

Hotel Chilam Balam
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tulum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Chilam Balam
Save
You added Hotel Chilam Balam to your Saves list
Av. Tulum between Calles Beta and Orion, Tulum, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 65 Tulum B&B and Inns
Cozumel, Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Well located, neat and affordable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

After a long trip and a frustrating search for clean and affordable accomodation the Chilam Balam Hotel was a real blessing. Small hotel,quiet, big and clean rooms furnished with two full beds (perfect mattresses), night table, boudoir, color tv, hot water and air conditioning! Very friendly and helpful staff. Located on the main avenue close to everything!! (walking distance to convenience store, drugstore, restaurants and of course many places to buy handcrafts. Chilam Balam was the lower price and (much) better look after 6 other places that by the way, looked not as clean or nice as this one. We were eight including 3 kids and in name of the whole family I thank to Antonio (night shift) and Jesús (morning shift) for their inexhaustible patience and their always friendly smile and help.
Rate was 45.00 Usd per room per night. It's not a five stars hotel but you'll have the most important: tranquility, hot water and a very good mattress and pilow to guarantee rest

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We booked the hotel locally for one night. We had the "coba suite". We had a look at the room before booking and everything seemed fine. We paid about 600 Mex for the room. During the night I woke up because of a very intense smell of foul eggs in the room. Then there was the noise of pump starting to work for a few minutes. We opened the window but it was hard to get the smell out of the room. I complained at the reception. The next morning I realized that there was a huge waste water reservoir behind the back wall of the bathroom. The reservoir seemed to be brick-built directly to the back wall. The floor of the room was more than one meter below the water level of the full reservoir. The smelling in the bathroom did not vanish, although it vanished outsideof the room. Maybe the reservoir was leakage.
The next morning we had to leave early. We complained again at the reception but the person was not able to make any decisions. And the boss was not contactable that early...

Room Tip: Be careful of coba suite or any rooms in the direct environment (south end of the building).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The place is not the most luxurious but has everything you could need: hot water, air conditioning (a bit slow cooling), comfortable beds, cable TV and ceiling fan (a bit noisy).

The location is perfect, has many things about: pharmacy, food, bars, bus terminal.

In high season cost me 650 pesos per night for 4 people, which was fully accessible.

The morning clerk is the one who knows everything, the other two are not very coordinated

Room Tip: Ask for room 11 which is near the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We spent a few nights here and found it to be a good hotel. It’s nothing flashy but a really good budget option. We had a large room upstairs, just by the stairs which cost M$300 per night for a double room. There was AC, good storage, clean bathroom with hot water, TV and a comfortable bed. We had WIFI in our room but it does not work in every room.

Location of this hotel is excellent. It’s on the main street in Tulum so there are no shortage of bars and restaurants. At times, it can be quite noisy due to the music from bars close by.

You can get a bus directly to the ruins from just outside the hotel and getting one back from the ruins is just as easy. The staff here are nice but you would need Spanish to communicate with them. I don’t think any of them had any English.

We checked out lots of hotels in Tulum but found this one to be the best value for money.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

We stayed for two nights - the first "night" was from 4.30 in the morning when we got off a nine hour nightmare ADO bus from Belize City (broken air conditioningp and a very chemically smelly toilet). We were so tired we slept instantly only noticing later in the day how odd the room smelt due to faulty plumbing. The owner moved us to another room immediately.
I'd say at 350 pesos it was reasonably priced although music blares away from nearby bars into the early hours whch won't suit everyone.
Mayan themed hotel. Clean rooms and linen, large beds, towels, TV, air con, hot (but sometimes a bit slow) running water. No meals on site but loads of eateries nearby including a fantastic fresh juice, homemade ice cream and real fruit lollies place a few doors down the street.
The beach is a couple of miles away and their are several scuba shops nearby.

Room Tip: Avoid room 18 just in case the problem we had hasn't been resolved!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012 via mobile

The room was decent at first glance, and cheap! ($350 pesos)
However, the room stank strongly of mold, and we found gum on an end table and an old razor cap on the floor in the bathroom and pools of water in the shower.
We are experienced travelers and can get over that, although the moldy smell was hard to get over so we bought incence. Voila!
the hardest part was the noise. The walls are so thin, I could hear the neighbors and the hallway echoes, but the discotech across the street and bike vendors constantly honking and loud late night guests kept us up all night and we were exhausted the next day.
For $50 pesos more we could have stayed at the lobo hostel in a private room with a kitchen (in itself would've saved more than the difference) and fridge. Oh well, maybe next time.
At least it was cheap. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

We stayed our first 2 nights in Tulum at the Weary Traveler for 350 pesos per night. The room was the size of a closet and did not have a mirror, a place to hang our clothes, or a chest. After 2 nights, we moved a few blocks down the street to the Chilam Balam and I thought we were in heaven. We had a large tiled room with 2 queen size beds, air conditioning, cable TV which even had a few English channels, a large tiled bathroom, and it was attractively furnished. All this for the same 350 pesos (appox $25 USD) a night! If you are looking for a nice but inexpensive room, this is it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chilam Balam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chilam Balam

Address: Av. Tulum between Calles Beta and Orion, Tulum, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chilam Balam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.